Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edward Kemble Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 512 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

I AM A FIRST TIME HELPER FOR KINDER AT THIS SCHOOL AFTER 10 YEARS AT ANOTHER SCHOOL. SO FAR SO GOOD, THIS SCHOOL IS A TOTAL LOCK DOWN SCHOOL.


Posted September 7, 2012

This school has gone down hill. As a previous student and now parent I am saddened that the school has lost good teachers due to the horrible scrutiny and dictator-like leadership of the principal. The kids are miserable and the parents are treated like immigrants. The spanish parents think it's the best thing since sliced-bread because where they come from their children would have had it worse off. Seeing the way the office staff has little patience with children and parents is disheartening. I've walked in the office to see them making a little boy sit on the ground like a dog by the office secretary's chair. They told him he could not get up and when he asked to call his mother they denied him. Just plain sad. Not the school I used to know as a child. I hope the district does better and gets new leadership in there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Does that child still have head lice ? Have you posted notices all around the school to notify other parents ? Head lice is a very serious epidemic (Ignore my rating I had to put one I don't know about this school Contemplating not putting my children there if there is head lice running rampid)


Posted June 14, 2011

They may seem friendly and welcoming but my last experience there was not like that. Few years ago my child came home with his ears injured and blood on his shirt and no one or the teacher took notice of it until I picked after work. By that time the school was already closed and I went in the next day to talk to the principle and explained to her and told her what happened. She said she'll call me back once she gets the other side of story from the teacher and staffs. But she never called and I called back and left messages. Few weeks passed and finally got hold of her and she almost didn't remember anything. And the last time I called was to report someone in their school that has head lice, and they probably didn't take that serious also because that child still goes to school with head lice everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

I went to Edward kembal in1995-96 in pre-kinder and 1st grade I live in rockwall Texas and graduated in 2010 I need help looking for my friend I haven't seen her in 12-13 years I dont know what she looks like, I think she came here too, please help me reach her?


Posted December 7, 2009

This is a great school, small but family like.The teachers and staff are very welcoming and all seem to love their job.My child enjoyed her time there.The only problem is that there seemed to be not enough teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I like the school and teachers are great,my daugther goes in this school and she is happy.Bilingual school where??? Edward kemble is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I feel the school admin. is trying very hard for the school to have a good out look and that's good, but I think with a little more work they can succeed. In that the moral of the school and staff is not great. I think children should have fun in learning. They are children not robots, and they are not adults. So I feel as adults we need and must remember that children should have fun in learning. That's how you can have success with your students, teachers,staff. Thank you for caring what us parents are parent are thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females69%
Males52%
African American33%
Asian48%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

Math

All Students71%
Females66%
Males75%
African American52%
Asian68%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate74%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females53%
Males61%
African American46%
Asian56%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students85%
Females81%
Males87%
African American74%
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner86%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate89%
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
Black 20%
Asian 16%
Two or more races 4%
White 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
English language learners 48%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Alvarez-Jett
Fax number
  • (916) 433-5579

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7495 29th Street
Sacramento, CA 95822
Phone: (916) 433-5025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Anne School
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT