Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoia Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 492 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Our school has been around for awhile now and needs some work..We could use new computers for our kids, and the list goes on. We have the nicest staff ever and our PTA does a lot to raise money for our school, but the money we raise has to go for things like our crossing guard, school supplies ,assemblies, buses for field trips ect.. It would be nice to get a make over for some of our classes or even new sports equipment for the playground. Our teachers are wonderful also and I have seen them supply the kids even with some items they have bought out of there own pockets just because they care.. Please help we are in need..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I have had three daughters attend this school over the course of 10 years. During that time, there have been three different principals, yet the teachers, for the most part, have remained the same. The staff and my girls' teachers have been great, and truly care about the children. The current PTA is awesome and is really active, making the overall school experience seem like a family. My only complaint is the parking lot, pick up and drop off is a mess. Parents drive on the shoulder, double park, and some tell their kids to go ahead and cross while they are double parked. Safety should be taught at home as well as enforced at school, even when school is not in session.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My daughter is in the first grade at Sequoia, she loves her teacher and is showing so much improvement . I am so grateful for one of the other first grade teachers volunteering to work with kids that are a little behind with reading and writing. My daughter needs the extra help. This teacher stays after school three days per week to tutor a small group that signed up. It has helped my daughter so much. The kindergarten teacher that my daughter had last year at sequoia was new to the school. My daughter seemed very intimidated by her and apparently other parents complained about her to the principal. She is no longer teaching at sequoia. It seems that parents and students voices are heard. There are lots of activities throughout the year at the school, all are super affordable and lots of fun. It's great to have an awesome PTA to get it all together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

I really like Sequoia Elementary but my two little sisters had a bad experience with the same teacher. ( Miss Dhillon)She repeatedly didn't let one of my sisters go to the bathroom, knowing she had a blatter problem, my sister came home with peed pants almost every day. Now my youngest sister is in kindergarden and Miss Dhillon is rude to her and a week ago she hit her on the head because she was on the wrong page. I don't apreaciate that at all.


Posted April 7, 2011

We have enjoyed being at Sequoia! All of my children's teachers have been great! And I appreciate that they also make time for art and PE! They have even had track offered recently. And I am so happy that a garden is in the process of being added. Also, the events held are well planned and executed. My only complaint is that I wish there were more involved parents and even more enrichment groups that the kids could participate in, such as chorus, drama, science, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

We have excellent teachers, super-involved parents, and I couldn't be happier with Sequoia. I originally thought we were i Golden Empire's area, but have never heard a single thing that has made me regret not being part of the Sequoia family. My daughter is going into 3rd grade next year, and doing fabulous! Go Sequoia!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2009

Our daughter was only able to attend this school for one year (first grade with Miss Dhillon), and we wish we could have kept her there. Her teacher is fanstastic and I feel my daughter has been so blessed to be able to attend this school. She had reading issues that her teacher has worked with her (and us) on and now she is in the top of her class. She loves going to school and loves doing her homework with me every night. She is excelling far more than I ever imagined and I am so happy that she enjoys school so much. We love this school and I really wish we didn't have to move out of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

This school has by far exceeded my expectations. The Kindergarten teachers are great and every staff member I have encountered are friendly and very concerned about the children's well-being. I would recommend this school to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

I have to wonder about the comment made about Mr. Aydlett not giving that other parent more than a moment of his time. Did this parent try and introduce them self immediately after school one day, or during a 'back to school' night when Mr. Aydlett is busy? He's a very involved principal, and is gracious to all the parents as far as I've seen. He has always been pleasant whenever my husband and I have had occasion to speak with him. This is his 3rd year with Sequoia, and I can honestly say he gets better every year. I'd also like to comment on the parent who said you'd have to basicaly teach your child yourself, as the 3rd grade teacher her son had was more worried about discipline??? Hum, my child had a wonderful 3rd grade at Sequoia. She's had exceptional teachers every year..she's in 6th now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

First and second grade performance went well. Third grade performance was a bust. I have a child going into the 4th grade. Our third grade teacher was consumed more with disciplinary issues and did not focus well on academics. For this reason, I child suffered academically. As a parent, if you decide to go to this school, you will need to spend a lot of time with your child reviewing homework and answering questions on the various subjects because of the lack of the teachers academic performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

This is definitely one of the best Elementary school out there. The teachers are well trained and very helpful to each and every student. The new principal they have is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

My Child is in first graid I love her teacher she is great.. the teacher gives my chiled extra homework all the time since she is very sdvanced for her age... no music classis available would like to see more of that offered in the school.. we as a family are very involved in our chiled's school and have good relations with both teach and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Academically the staff at Sequoia seems to be doing their job. I have met the new principal, Mr. Idlett, and he was quiet, solemn and barely spoke two words to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I had 6 children go through Sequoia and each one of them were unique in their own way. What I liked the most was that each teacher not only met their needs but were able to challenge them to excel without comparing them to their siblings. I was on the board and served as a volunteer for the 20 yrs that I was involved, thereby implementing many of the fine programs that are sponsored by the PTA. Sequoia has had great parent involvement as well as actively involved staff in the many school functions. They offer band, and other activities throughout the year. Of course you can't forget the all time favorite, their P.E. classes with funny and informative lessons as well as fitness.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

792

Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

792

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females53%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females60%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females39%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented73%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

Math

All Students71%
Females61%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females63%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students64%
Females66%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females57%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females54%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students43%
Females36%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females55%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females65%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 27%
Hispanic 28% 51%
Black 12% 7%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian 7% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title 1 Academic Achievement Award (2007)
  • Qualified for CA Distinguished School (2006)
  • Exemplary School Status, SCUSD (2006)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Cindy Hollander
Fax number
  • (916) 228-5853
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 Rosemont Drive
Sacramento, CA 95826
Phone: (916) 228-5850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






ABC School
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT