Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sutter Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

I loved this school always nice and a special kind of way that would feel like a home in sutter middle I'm a proud miner and always recommend Sutter. The teachers were always helpful, and kind to help you with the homework what you don't understand or help with some of the notes you missed in class, help with your problems that your having with your friend,anything their always their for you. " Once A Miner, Always A Miner" and a proud one.


Posted November 10, 2013

Hello... My daughter loves this school... And the kids are great... The teacher are great (Ms.Thomas) science she's awesome my daughter loves her... And her gym teacher mr.faith .. And of course the principals ms.martin and mr.rodriguez everyones great.. And also the front office personnel very polite.... I love this school..great education and great people...keep it up sutter.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Sutter Middle School located in Sacramento is a great school for kids with big brains. Socially the school is good and my son enjoyed it completely. My daughter is currently attending and she loves it too. I just wish they could have kept the Spanish teacher... from what I hear he was good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

I am a seventh grader too and I do think many of the students aren't too nice. But the teachers there are so helpful and dedicated to their job. I truly believe they want their students to succeed. I am in the SAS honor classes which has great teachers and some awesome students. There are bullies in every school, and Sutter is no exception to that. But I've found some genuine people there who want me to do my best all year long at Sutter.


Posted February 4, 2013

This school isn't any better or worse than Mitchell Middle School. We put our daughter in this school after a rough sixth grade at Mitchell, she did worse than at Mitchell for 7th grade. We then switched back to Mitchell. I believe that the school isn't the problem, it's the student. If the student wants to succeed, it will happen anywhere. There isn't anything special about Sutter that doesn't happen at Mitchell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

I am a seventh grader and I just started here at Sutter. I love that it so BIG. That doesn't necessarily mean everyone on is nice, but if someone is mean you report it and find some new friends. I came from a small elementary school where there was BULLYING. All of the kids from there went to Sutter but I have no classes with them and found so many other great friends. Everyday i recognize someone that I hadn't seen for a really long time. (from soccer, volleyball, baseball, swimming, ect.) Now for academics. I love all of my teachers. I am in G.A.T.E. and I am challenged a majority of the time. I have woodshop for my elective and it is so much FUN! I am also excited to TA (teacher assistant) next year. My class teachers asked for supply donations that ranged from $3-$20 but understood if you couldn't afford it. Also Mr. Rodriguez and Mrs. Tahara-Martin are a little intimidating, but I have become great friends with both of them. My mom, dad, and I are in PTSO (parent teacher student association.) My brother, who is an eight grader goes here, too and he loves it. Sutter has lot of SPIRIT and SMARTS. Also at lunch there is music and it's a nice break after four periods. GO MINERS!


Posted February 26, 2012

I am a parent of a current 7th grader and my older daughter was at Sutter last year for 8th grade. They both are having and had wonderful experiences at Sutter. I can't say enough about the fantastic teachers at this school. The teachers take extra time to offer tutoring during their lunch time or after school. They are caring and keep the parents updated on Zangle. The find the teachers at Sutter to be really exceptional. I know that now since my older daughter has moved on to high school, & I don't get the same kind of current feedback like I did from the Sutter teachers, especially with posting their grades on Zangle or on their class website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

My son is in 7th grade at this school. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it is! There is a lot of school spirit, and PTSO is outstanding. Mr. Rodriguez and the office staff are fantastic. I'm not certain why any parent cannot contact the teachers, the emails are on Zangle, the school website, and maybe classjump.I really love using Zangle to keep up with my son's progress. I saw a B go down to a D one day and IMMEDIATELY emailed the teacher. I received a response right away, and always have!! The teachers are always wonderful about helping if my son or I ask. I hope all parents are using Zangle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I've never encountered racism and the school is absolutely wonderful. You would be doing your child a favor by sending then to Sutter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

this school is terrible. racism still exsists , and u find that there is so many snobby kids. It is a big popularity contest and youll be better off sending them some where else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

Great school. Best teacher in the state (Jody Cooperman). I came form a catholic school and found compassion, love, learning and direction. I will always remember the welcoming Sutter community as a safe place in a hostile world. From the office people to the classroom it is a total atmosphere of unconditional love. It is a shame I had to leave my church to find it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Excellent teachers! Great Gate Program!Challenging. Teachers really want the children to suceed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

This is an excellent school!! My daughter will enter her second year at Sutter. As for the remark below..it is not the school's job to raise your child-you need to do that at home. I am glad that they are strict with discipline at this school. Excellent learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

easy to suspend for punishment-appears they want kids out of the way instead of figuring problem - "OUT OF SIGHT - OUT OF MIND" theory!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

My son went to this school two years ago and want my daughter to go here next year....great great school for our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

best school ever!!!! i will hate to leave next year... :-[ but i am really enjoying it you make a ton of new freinds and get a great education... :-]
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

i am currently attending this school. it has a great academic program but the students should focus more on academics than social status and popularity. overall, the school is great and im so sad that next year i have to go to high school. ;(
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

This school...I graduated from this school last year and I can't say enough about it. It's a great school with great teachers and great students. This school has a wonderful principal and vice principal [though I heard they got a new v.p.]. The staff is very warm and welcoming. I know anyone who attends this school will leave with graditude in their hearts - I promise that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

i love sutter middle school it is the best school ever and i cant even tell you how fun it is! i go there know and i love it mucho!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2009

a review is definitley not enough to complete this school. words cant describe it. i am already crying because i have to leave next year. there are no words in the dictionary to evaluate Sutter. words cannot describe the spirit and passion of a Sutter Miner.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

862

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

862

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

516 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

641 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
24%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

665 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

646 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students96%
Femalesn/a
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females76%
Males74%
African American55%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state79%

Math

All Students73%
Females71%
Males74%
African American41%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students56%
Females53%
Males59%
African American52%
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state52%

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females71%
Males64%
African American52%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state51%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students5%
Females6%
Males4%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino2%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)13%
Economically disadvantaged1%
Non-economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability7%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only5%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate4%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)8%
Parent education - college graduate7%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate0%
Parent education - declined to state8%

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students61%
Females59%
Males64%
African American41%
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state40%

Science

All Students72%
Females68%
Males76%
African American54%
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate66%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 27%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Asian 21% 11%
Black 9% 7%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eric Swanson
Fax number
  • (916) 264-3436

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3150 I Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 264-4150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart School
Sacramento, CA



Courtyard School
Sacramento, CA


Wayne Geri Academy
Sacramento, CA


Merryhill School
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT