Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Sacramento, CA
Students enrolled: 1,595
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mira Loma High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
Once again, check the results of this magnet high school against state and national rank. Look at the demographics of the students. For the most part, it's obvious that these Mira Loma teachers are a great credit to their profession!

Mira Loma High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
The right blend of school homework, household chores, community service, and extra curricular is recognized at Mira Loma.


Mira Loma High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
Yes. Frankly, it takes persistence, grit and determination to achieve Mira Loma's success in International Baccalaureate course work, national awards, College Readiness Index and beyond with a very diverse student body and an economically disadvantaged rate of nearly 40%.

Mira Loma High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
The old adage of "firm and fair" applies. To have superior teaching results, educators must have the proper level of discipline and decorum in the classroom. Mira Loma has that. Respect is gained through "leadership by example."

Mira Loma High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
With total minority enrollment over 50% and an envious national ranking, it's apparent that the Mira Loma educational missions of academic achievement, compassion, caring, and empathy are being met.


Mira Loma High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
Good leadership starts at the top. Mr Nichols strongly believes in honesty, integrity, and fairness across the board.

Mira Loma High School 5

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
Mira Loma is one of the best high schools in the San Juan Unified School District, and in the state. Outstanding staff, faculty, support personnel, students and parents. Look at the total scope of their mission, their programs, and most of all . . . . their results.

Mira Loma High School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
My mother and I graduated from Mir Loma, her 1984 and me 2005, and I loved this school. Sure the football team was terrible but academically, which is what truly matters, was fantastic. I am still friends with some of my teachers and enjoy visiting whenever I can. I hope that my son will also be able to attend Mira Loma and graduate.


Mira Loma High School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a student
As a recent graduate of c/o 2014, I can say my Mira Loma experience was marvelous. Coming from a non-competitive middle school, freshman year required me to adjust quickly. Some (IB) students may complain about the HW load; however, I've never had more than three hours of homework a night, and even then, most of my homework centered on Math, which has been scientifically proven to require daily HW for improvement. MLIB has a group of extremely bright and ambitious students; yet, because ML has so many group projects, ML has less neck-to-neck competition and more camaraderie and collaboration. Like any school, there is a variety of teachers. However, teachers for the core subjects, math, science, history, and english, are both passionate and attentive. They regularly call on students to analyze how the class is doing. If a student provides a less than adequate answer, the teacher will ask something like, "Why don't you be more specific?". If that response proves wanting, the teacher will ask another student. ML sports is not amazing, although water polo and tennis are doing very well. Yet, my belief is that education is the greatest investment one can make, not sports.

Mira Loma High School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
I do not know how Greatshools ranks a school. I am however certain that it is completely wrong in not giving Mira Loma High School a perfect 10. If there is any school in the Sacramento Region that should be given a rank higher than 9, the first one should Mira Loma. Simply put, do not be fooled by a 8 out of 10 rank given to Mira Loma by Greatschools. Call a Mira Loma parent or a student who puts academic success the No. 1 goal. Yes, if your or your student considers academic success not important, or does not want to work hard, or thinks schools is only for fun, then it is not a good fit for your. For the rest, can have better choice if live around. I have the parent of a Mira Loma alumnus and a current student. I had endure very hardship to be able to send my kids to Mira Loma due to distance, but it worth every bit of it. Can't think of sending my kids any place else. The other kids, the teachers and the administration all are super.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mira Loma High School
4000 Edison Avenue, Sacramento, CA  95821
(916) 971-7465
Last modified Mira Loma High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mira Loma High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. Top