Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rio Americano High School 2

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
Inflexible Scheduling for Band Students If your student plans to take advantage of Rio s fantastic nationally recognized band program be prepared to curtail your summer vacation plans. Because of the San Juan Unified School District s current refusal to allow for a physical education exemption policy, as allowed by the California Education Code, many band students will have to take PE during the summer. This is because some band practices and PE overlap in the students packed schedules. Athlete students who are in band cannot get PE credit for after school sports. Strangely, another SJUSD high school, Mira Loma, allows an exemption process for International Baccalaureate students participating in school-sponsored interscholastic athletic programs due to their curriculum demands. Other high schools in California provide PE exemptions to students even when they participate in organized after school club sports. The SJUSD just does not seem interested in putting their students best interests first.

Rio Americano High School 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a community member
Great choice... Love it here, was apprehensive about moving but I'm glad I came xxx


Rio Americano High School 4

Posted May 11, 2012
- a community member
I grew up here went to Mariemont, Star King and had friends at both EC and Rio. I lived in Rio's district but made the choice freshman year to go to EC. Worst choice I ever made. I transfered to Rio my sophomore year and graduated from Rio best choice I ever made. Rio is like any high school it has its issues but overall it is a good school. I had caring teachers and staff and they got involved. I'd say the AP classes are average when compaired to FHS or Jesuits. The sports are the same average. This isn't a hard school but its not a waste of time either for me that is. EC was so bad I was willing to leave my friends I wrote a review on it. To the students the social seen is big at Rio as are the drugs and your status. As for the staff they don't care about your status and do care about your grades and you graduating. So it kind of all works out. All my Rio friends have gone on to successful and professional careers as have all my friends who went to surounding private schools. My friends from EC many aren't with us anymore, several have real drug problems, some are in prison, most arrested at least once and only a handful made something of themselves. Just keeping it real.

Rio Americano High School 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a student
I really love this school it has been fun going here, i am a junior and i cant wait till senior year! everyone participates in the school activites. i would say the only downfall is all of our sports fields r crowded into one small space and sometimes soccer gets in the way of softball or baseball in the way of soccer.

Rio Americano High School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a student
I am a in 10th grade and I seriously think that the best choice I have done is to go to Rio. I was thinking of going to El Camino high which I live just down the street from, but I made the hard choice of leaving most of my friends and doing whats right. I knew that Rio was much better than E.C, now attending Rio I can be confident to tell You that Rio is the best choice to enrole your kid. First were really strong on Athletics and Our band program is unbelivable. One of my senior friend just got a all paid scholor ship to go to N.Y university. Its also great for the over acheviers we have plenty of honer and AP classes which are excelent. There's also plenty of help after school like free tutoring.


Rio Americano High School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My son is a Junior this year and actually looks forward to going back. The teachers are very involved and I couldn't ask for more from a Public High School.

Rio Americano High School 1

Posted June 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Rio Americano High School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Rio Americano High School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a student
As a former student at Rio i can honestly say that it is one of the best schools in the are. Most of the teachers are amazing and the over all school atmosphere is one of a kind. I'm glad i went to Rio and looking back on it now, i learned so much there that prepared for the real world.

Rio Americano High School 3

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Americano High School
4540 American River Drive, Sacramento, CA  95864
(916) 971-7494
Last modified Rio Americano High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rio Americano High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top