Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
My kids all went to Sierra Oaks. This a wonderful school and community. Teachers are caring and parents all get involved.

Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
We have been parents at this school for 5 years. We have seen many changes over the past few years and last year was by far the best one ever. We are now a California Distinguished School, we have a great Principal and the school is fabulous. We could not be happier. We are so happy we stayed at Sierra Oaks and we know that our daughter will be well prepared for High School! There is strong parent support here as well. The PTA is very active and raises much needed money for the school. Many parents volunteer in the classrooms and at events.


Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
The value of a K-8 school cannot be undervalued. The teachers, staff and administration at this school are the best. And the PTA does a fabulous job planning events and making everyone feel welcome.

Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
The best combination of teachers and staff who strive for top academic instruction and social atmosphere, with a diverse student body and involved parents. Could not be happier with this school and how it is progressing under new leadership.

Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
Sierra Oaks is a wonderful school. The principal and teachers are very qualified and very dedicated to the students. As parents, my husband and I feel very lucky to have such good teachers, classes with high parent involvement, an active PTA and supportive administration at our daughter's school. However, I must agree with the poster who stated that there some costs associated with instruction at this school. There are (small) fees for field trips and there is no free childcare (Discover Club costs about $5.00 per hour with a 10 hour minimum per week). Contrarily, I have not noticed an issue with "spoiled bullies" picking on kids. My daughter did have a problem with one classmate in 2nd grade and that problem disappeared immediately after I reported it her teacher. I have also witnessed teachers and yard duties dealing promptly with misbehavior many times. Most importantly, my daughter loves her school.


Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Awesome K-8 school! Amazing teachers, staff and Principal. Outstanding parental involvement. Exciting programs and extracurricular activities. Sierra Oaks has such a welcoming community feel about it ... just like sending my kids to a private school, but without the expense.

Sierra Oaks K-8 3

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
Got a new principal this year "Mrs B" and she is totally awesome. There for the teachers and the kids. Doesn't sit in her office; is out there knowing wht is going on. Even directs traffic when needed.....great school, fantastic principal!

Sierra Oaks K-8 2

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
NOT A SCHOOL FOR LOWER INCOME FAMILIES.... My 3 children attend this school, for one there are no free or affordable after school programs like at other schools ($300 per child) Every activity has a cost...even field trips! The las two schools my children attended were not so expensive. I feel that they don't consider the lower income families, at it upsets me because my children feel left out. I am a single mom and student full time and trying to make a better life for my kids so I hope this is all temporary for us....Also my children come home all the time talking about spoiled bullies being mean to them, we had none of that at the more diverse schools.


Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in Sacramento, especially considering it's K-8. It's very nurturing and combines a little bit of everything. Strong academics, art, music, PE, band, choir, lots of after school programs, involved parents, great teachers, amazing staff, beautiful playgrounds, safe neighborhood... I can go on and on...

Sierra Oaks K-8 5

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This is one school that takes responsibility of teaching strong academics actually at school. My child comes home with enough homework, but not so much that he does not have time for anything else. I see work that they do at school, and it's amazing!

Nearby schools

Sierra Oaks K-8
171 Mills Road, Sacramento, CA  95864-5647
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (916) 575-2390
Last modified Sierra Oaks K-8 is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top