Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whitney Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went to second and third grade in Whitney and it was a great experience. All the staff are caring and helpful. You're in good hands here at Whitney.

Whitney Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. The staff is burnt out and constantly give rewards to condition the students to behave, There are so many behaviors that are unreal. The principal pretends to care, but doesn't follow through at all with consequences. I'm taking my 3 kids and putting them into another local school that cares and where they can learn in a positive environment. Don't settle!!


Whitney Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted July 06, 2014
- a parent
If you live around the school look into DPM, Cowan, or Merrimont they're such great schools with minimum behaviors. My girls have attended Whitney for 3 years. It's been nothing, but a nightmare finally we got into DPM and couldn't be happier. Other families are leaving too in flocks way too many behaviors and the principal doesn't give support or hold the students accountable. It is unfortunate just because it's title 1 doesn't mean the students should be able to hurt others and be so disrespectful without consequences. Such a mess!

Whitney Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
My son started school at Whitney in 2010, as a Kindergartner with Ms. Rudd and he was so happy! We absolutely loved her and all of the staff! They are so kind and caring. (Especially Miss Didi in the front office!) They work with our Religious views, and anything that we ask of them. The teachers keep each other very informed and everyone puts the children first. This is my son's 3rd year at Whitney, he is starting 2nd grade, and we love that he is still in this school.

Whitney Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
I think Whitney is great school my daughter has been there for 5 years and she loves Whitney


Whitney Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
I love this school for my 5 year old in kindergarten. If you notice the bad reviews are old. They have made a lot changes recently. From what I understand they were not a very good school a while back. The teachers are great and do a wonderful job of catering to each child. The principal is EXTREMELY involved in everything everyday, and pays attention to the kinds as well as his duties. The office staff is awesome and personally I love them! Very friendly and helpful as well.

Whitney Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has just entered 1st grade. She attended Whitney last year for kindergarten and I can't express how great their teachers are. This school has the children's best interest at heart. Recently, with school just starting last week (August 23, 2010) Whitney has a new principal. So far he exeeds my expectation and the children "adore" him! He interacts with the kids on the playground, participates in the classrooms, is very personable and "listens". I'm so excited for the school this year with a wonderful new leader. I will say the principal before the current one was also fabulous! So this school will continue to excel. The one area of improvement we need at this school is more parent involvement in the PTA! I encourage the parents to please attend meetings and help out as often as you can.

Whitney Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
I think this is a lot better then where my children came from even though i loved there other school better but this has more for my children to do, exercise wise.


Whitney Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My son just started kindergarden 3 weeks ago and I cant say how much I love the school! The teachers/staff have been nothing but helpful and nice :) The only down side is the parking/pick up situation. But I heard that will be fixed before the start of next year.

Whitney Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
Great school.Keep up the good work for our future generation

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitney Avenue Elementary School
4248 Whitney Avenue, Sacramento, CA  95821-3253
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (916) 575-2407
Last modified Whitney Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top