Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Sacramento, CA
 

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


John Paul II School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
A true sense of family and community exists at this school and you can't put a price on that. I'm confident that the education my son has gotten at John Paul II will prepare him to be successful in any of his pursuits.

John Paul II School 5

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
We are so pleased with this school! It is a wonderful community. The kindergarten teacher is phenomenal. The principal is an experienced educator who is very committed to all the families. Our daughter is thriving academically and spiritually!


John Paul II School 5

Posted February 07, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school who offers great programs and great teachers who care about their students.

John Paul II School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2008
- a community member
Great arts program; feeder school for Cristo Rey, St. Francis, Christian Brothers and Jesuit; usually full to nearly full in upper grades.

John Paul II School 5

Posted July 09, 2007
- a teacher
I disagree with a parent comment to 'drive by and observe the curriculum'...How can someone simply drive by, observe the curriculum, or know the curriculum? Until I became a teacher myself and taught at different schools did I realize the curriculum and standards of JP II!!! With the partnership of involved parents, JP faculty and administration alike work very hard together to keep up and exceed the State curriculum standards.


John Paul II School 1

Posted July 03, 2007
- a parent
The best thing is to drive by and observe the school yourself. I do agree with a comment that the curriculum could be improved especially when you fork-out thousands of dollars.

John Paul II School
no rating

Posted June 29, 2007
- a teacher
Teachers at JP II are qualified and dedicated. They have the credentials, years of experience, and dedication to children. Some parents are dissatisfied due to their fundraising duties. Add to that their own supervision required for their child to succeed. Sad to know that some parents send their kids to public schools due to the contract-required fundraising. However, the education & values taking place at JPII is immeasurable. I've had my own share of the public school system.

John Paul II School 5

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
There was a lot of animosity regarding the merging of the two schools, All Hallows and St. Peter s, which resulted in a lot of disorganization due to lack of communication between parents, students, and faculty. The result was parents withdrawing their children from the school after the first year. This was not the case the second year of John Paul II School. The faculty and students that are there want to be there, and want the school to succeed. The principal, Sr. Maryanne, has an open door policy and the academic and religion curriculum is great. There were improvements to the school campus (i.e, new windows, air conditioning, and fresh paint) with the help of the fundraising. Most importantly my children have their Catholic faith, which is practiced at home, being reinforced at school. John Paul II School is on its way to being one of the best schools around!


John Paul II School 4

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
At John Paul II, input from parents is strongly encouraged by the Principal. She understands that it not only takes faculty and students, but parents to make the school a great one. It saddens me to read the bad reviews and makes me wonder how much involvement these parents had beyond the required participation. This is a non-profit school and fundraising is vital to school improvements. John Paul II has a computer lab, art class, and library, which most public schools have cut out due to budget reasons. There is even a music program being added in the coming school year! The curriculum is great (my daughter was reading by the end of Kindergarten) and the religious education helped my daughter through the death of a friend/classmate. Also, this school has a family atmosphere that you will not find in any public school! -'It takes a village to raise a child'

John Paul II School 5

Posted June 16, 2007
- a student
After reading all of the reviews, I am surprised with other parents' responses, and very appalled. I have just graduated with the class of 2007 here at John Paul II. I have attended this school since I was in sixth grade when it was All Hallows. The teachers (both at All Hallows and JPII) worked hard to prepare us for high school. This past school year, we were working very vigorously. I was always complaining, but now, I am proud to say that I am well-prepared for high school, and I am ready. At this school, we have excellent teachers, and very involved principal and pastors. In addition, a child could easily fit in, for there are absolutely no cliques, and is a very diverse school. It just depends on the child to try. I highly recommend this school to all families. -Walter Prado, Class of 2007

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Paul II School
5700 13th Ave, Sacramento, CA  95820
(916) 457-5621
Last modified John Paul II School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
John Paul II School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top