Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Presentation Of The Blessed Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 234 students

We are best known for academic excellence and faith.

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $144,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 27, 2010

Presentation School is a vibrant, responsive community and school. Teachers are supportive, dedicated, and available. Students are successful both in and out of the classroom as evidenced by standardized tests, community involvement, and expression of faith. We have had a couple of changes in faculty--as all schools do--and the addition of a vibrant Pastor, which have resulted in an even stronger collective commitment to our school. The beauty of the system is that our school, and our sister Catholic schools, are academically and spiritually committed to our students. This is a job, a career, and a ministry for us. If you are a prospective parent, I pray for you to find the right school for your family; if you are already a Presentation family, I thank you on behalf of our faculty and staff for your trust and support.

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

I absolutely loved this school for my son. He attended K-8 there and the teachers, the parents and the students were all very good people. Father Leatherby is great! and the Dominican Sisters are phenomenal! My son is now in Jesuit High School and he is a great person! I owe it all to Presentation and the great morals, values, ethics, and great role models he had there. Thank you Presentation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

I love the character education the student's are taught and it's unfortunate that it's lacking in most schools. Academics and high expectations in a positive environment is also a priority at this school and we are so lucky we found this gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

I have one child who is currently enrolled in K at Presentation. I couldn't be happier. I had an opportunity to move, and the idea of pulling my child out if Presentation brought me to tears. My son is very happy there. The kids are taught in academics and virtues, which I like a lot. My child has Art, PE, Spanish, Religion, and Catechesis as well as their normal curriculum. The principal as well as the priest at the parish know every child by name, and the kids are very close knit and look out for one another. I am so happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I am a parent of 2 children that have had the great benefit of the high quality curriculum, teaching and character-building found in the halls of Presentation. Having "shopped" for the best environment for learning, I found it came down to great teachers, a supportive parent/family community and clear communication--especially when things aren't on track. The Principal is especially extraordinary--you don't easily find someone who is willing to talk through difficult issues that come up., and who remains a smart, loving spirit. Look no further---Presentation is your destination!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

I am a parent of two children at Presentation. I am also a CA credentialed teacher for grades K-8. I have taught several years for a local public school but have never worked at Presentation as a teacher. Beyond looking for the obvious atributes of a good school, I looked for one where my children would grow spiritually. It is my opinion that there is no better place in Sacramento where children can learn their Catholic faith better. Virtues and theology are integrated throughout much of what learn do each day. My oldest child's favorite class is Religion. The core curricular areas are also very good. Several parents volunteer to give the students more one-on-one instruction and small group break-outs. I understand attendance was very low in all grade levels prior to the Sisters arriving in 2011. Since their integration into the school, many of the classes are filled to capacity and some with waiting lists for the 2013 academic year. There are typically 4 to 6 sisters on campus each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

Hi all - I am the father of multiple kids in the school. My wife and I have had our kids in 3 schools and Presentation is easily the best. Presentation is without a doubt a vibrant school; vibrant with the Holy Spirit that teaches us AND challenges us to be truly joyful in following His promptings. My advice to prospective families would be to take your kids for a visit and meet all the teachers and ask students in the classrooms and find parents to talk to and see for yourself. A families' opinion of a school can depend on a lot of subjective and even temporary factors. Their is irrefutable evidence that the Principal is not only academically committed, but committed to a rigorous formation that would impress any prep school admissions committee. Namely, Presentation is committed to Character Education using the Virtues - for students and teachers - and to integrating this educational approach across disciples. This is cutting-edge and will make Presentation stand out among other schools. Many new families, including my own, have joined Presentation in the last two years and have enriched the environment a great deal. We hope you will come visit and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Presentation school is not responsive or vibrant. Seven families have gone to the Priest to complain that I know about and nothing is being done. Students who get kicked out of other schools are allowed here. The Sister principal is not academically committed to her students. She is always right. Her staff does no wrong even if it is to the determnet of the child. They do not address learning disabilities even though they have a team in place. It is a hit and miss with teachers. If you are a prospective family, I pray you look elsewhere. Looks pretty on the outside but not too good on the inside- fundraisers constantly, no assistants for large classrooms, Priest's friends and family on staff and in classrooms. The staff does not have a solid reputation. The school almost closed several years ago. If the staff was good, families would have stayed. Same families volunteer over and over again and get burned out. There are better Catholic schools in the area. Several families leaving becasue they lost trust in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

Loving and caring community, but this was not a good fit for my son. He was a 4 year old boy when I enrolled him. The class size was just too large to meet his needs. (When I visited the year before, class sizes were smaller!) I felt that the teacher expected kindergarten behavior from a just turned 4 year old boy. In addition, limited outdoor activities. His behavior problems were a mix of the methods and immaturity. When I placed him in a smaller preschool that uses the nurtured child approach he flourished and is well above his peers in reading/writing/math. I think that if your child does well in large groups, can sit quietly for long periods of time, and his/her eagerness does not prevent them from sitting in large circle time waiting, it will be a good fit. I do know other parents who love the teacher and preschool program. I was impressed with the caring enviroment created by the religeous community. It was heart breaking to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I had my child in this scool for 4 years and at the begining I found that it was really good. Each year it got worse and worse. My child was getting picked on, bullied and I felt that nothing was being done to solve the problem. My childs grades were being affected and it got to the point that my child would get up to school and beg not to go. I think most of the teachers there were great and the best one is the 2nd grade teacher. She gives so much of her self. She was always staying after school on her own time to help the kids that were strugling. I wish I could take her with me to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

The love in this school from child to child is so very very sweet. It is the same felt sweet spirit of the leadership and is contagious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I have never worked with a more congenial and professional faculty than at this school. All the teachers listen and respond positively to one another. Teachers endeavor to assist each other in helping students attain their highest potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2010

This is my first year that I have been involved with Presentation School and I have seen nothing but a close knit community. The staff is very helpful and you can tell that they truly care about the students. The staff and teachers call Presentation their 'second home' because they are always at Presentation including weekends, watching the students games and attending mass. The students are very kind towards one another. The older students are role models for the younger students and often take time out of their day to make the younger students feel special. Students are academically challenged and encouraged to grow in their faith. Students are also involved with sports, starting in first grade. In my opinion this is an outstanding catholic school.


Posted January 5, 2010

The academic program is good however, there is major conflicts between teachers. High turnover rate. There is favoritism when it comes to children-teacher interaction. Lots of politics on campus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2009

Presentation is all about the academics. It is the only option in the area where kids can work above grade level and 'move up' a grade or two in math, depending on their ability. Most of the teachers are fantastics. The upper grades are particularly strong. The new principal is energetic, approachable and working hard to fix some of the issues that every school faces. It is a really beautiful campus with surprisingly good sports programs considering its size. It is faith based, but a comfortable place for the non-religious. Parents are nice and the kids are very welcoming to new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Our lady of the presentation is a great community and parent involved school. The staff are very involved the teachers are great some even stay after school and tutor students because they care if the children succeed. All schools have there ups and downs but this school strives to have way more ups. We only have a few more years so why would I even want to break the constant security my child has just to not pay for a good education and a loving atmosphere that always continues and grows more with each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I am fun friendly kid who goes to presentation. I love my school the teaching staff is wonderful and I always feel like the teachers really care about us and are teaching us with the all the best resources that any private school would give me . I also do not want to ever leave my wonderful classmates. Some kids had to leave because of their parents problems but they are very sad because know they have to go make new friends just because of their parents which is unfair to the kids. There is always going to be changes in a school that is life so I decided that I will stay here through thick and thin I only have one more year here and I love my school!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

We love Presentation School! The principal is a strong leader who puts students first. The teachers have been amazing also. They have been creative, faith-filled educators who inspire our son every day. It has been wonderful to see the love of learning and love of his Catholic Faith grow deeper each year. We have the teachers, principal, staff, priests and coaches to thank for this. The community life has also been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

The principal at this school does not make academics a priority. Additionally, some of the teaching staff are seriously lacking in their abilities to teach and properly interact w/ the students. The science, computer and music programs are basically non-existent and paying tuition when receiving less than local public schools seems lopsided at best. The family atmosphere is nice, but does not outweigh the importance of academics. It's a shame to see the downward spiral of this community and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

This school is very disappointing. The teaching is below standard. The kids don't learn anything during the school day and must be retaught at home, which takes hours and hours. It is a waste of money. Many parents are disenrolling their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

This is a faboulous school with few recorces. It's potential is endless, however the Parish community is no longer supporting the school. I'm sure if the Diocese looked at making education a priority they could attract more new students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Placed 3rd in Religious Decathlon (2011)
  • Placed 1st in Breaking Barriers Essay (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Maximilian Marie, O.P Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (916) 482-0377

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Volleyball
  • flag football

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • A personal invitation from our Principal, Sister Maximilian Marie, O.P., Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist Hello, I am Sister Maximilian Marie, Principal of Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic School in Sacramento, California. Have you ever considered giving the beautiful gift of a Catholic Education to your child, grandchild, niece or nephew? A Catholic Education not only forms youth in the intellectual, social, emotional, and physical life, but also in the spiritual and moral life. Here at Presentation, academic excellence is the fruit of education in virtue. By learning to live a virtuous life, the child develops habits to choose what is good, true, and beautiful. In this lies an authentic freedom and long lasting happiness. Come and see the tangible sign of this truth – the joy and smiles of our students. I invite you to invest in the future of your child, the future of your family, and of the Universal Church - consider a Catholic Education at Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic School. Registration for the 2011-12 Academic Year is approaching. Call or email me today to schedule an appointment for me to share with you the joy and excellence of Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic School. Warm smiles and contagious joy awaits you! Sincerely in Christ, Sr. Maximilian Marie, O.P. www.sistersofmary.org
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jesuit / St. Francis
Christian Brothers
El Camino
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Norris Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95821
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 482-0351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT