Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. It is lacking in academics as well as the staff tolerates bullying. There is more concern or their fundraising functions than on the quality of education they are providing.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school! Fantastic Teacher's, Awesome campus and nice family's. The principle is outrageous kind,she greets you really good if you are new at Sacred Heart. Inside the school is beautiful!!!! also the gym is huge and pretty! that is why we will always stay at Sacred Heart!


Sacred Heart Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school K-8 so i have been through many of the changes. When i was younger I loved going to school but as I grew older it got worse and worse. Whenever i talk to people they say that is natural but i dis agree. Sacred Hearts principle does not care about the students she doesnt listen to what they have to say. The teachers are puppets to the princple and are in the middle of conflict and when confronted they say not to talk to them. The school makes it really difficult ofr students to voice there opinions. The school also has a severe bullying probelm and does not know how to handle it my class personally bullied out around 10 students! I myself felt bullied but i kept it to myslef. I do not recommed this school.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2013
- a teacher
Sacred Heart on the surface looks like a wonderful school nice location, new facilities. However, the leadership at the school is weak compared to other Catholic Schools in the area. The school offers no foreign language, no art lab, PE. curriculum is weak, math and English are ok but depends on who the teacher is. The parents are cliquely and the teachers seem tired and frustrated by the weak leadership. Ten years ago, Sacred Heart was a great school, not anymore. So sad!

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
My family was new to this school last year. We have been welcomed with open arms by everyone who works there, families, students and especially the administration. The kids are kind, the academics are excellent and the teachers know and love the students.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 1

Posted December 18, 2011
- a community member
Substandard teaching combined with a false sense of elitism. Catholic schools should be kind and christian not militaristic.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 3

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
I think this is a good school for the average child. Good community (though parents are a bit clique-ish and they tend to "select" who their children play with. Parents also seem to run the school. That's not necessarily bad, but it reflects some of the substandard teaching that is seen. Catholic education overall is very good, but Sacred Heart's CCD program is just as good. If you have kids who are bright and intelligent or if you have kids who have special education needs, they wil have a difficult time at this school. I would suggest going to either Phoebe Hearst (best academic elementary school in all of Sacramento county) or David Lubin (they have a good overall school; good special education program as well)

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2010
- a parent
Great schools are a reflection of their core components. It takes effort and sacrifice from parents, teachers, administrators, and students to achieve excellence. My son has grown into a fine young man because of his school experiences, life experiences, friendships, strong academic challenges, and solid religious values. The principal is outstanding and has made great improvements over the last two years in hiring staff/teachers, a transition to a brand new school, implementing advanced classes in math, and dealing with the demands of 300+ families. I have found the teachers to be caring and responsive to parent concerns. They do set high expectations for all students and families, so if you are interested in collaborating to ensure the success of your child....this is the school for you.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 1

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
The teachers in the primary grade are not very christian. You will find more nurturing and help for your child in a public school.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
I am in the process of using this site to review other schools. I wanted to first see how reliable the reviews were for his existing school. I agree the families are excellent, the teachers in the primary years are far from nurturing and overall it doesn't match my recollection of catholic schools that I attended. in essence, the school has an infallible methodology one must follow. If your main complaint is lack of respect and nurture for your child, they really have no response.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Elementary School
856 39th Street, Sacramento, CA  95816
(916) 456-1576
Last modified Sacred Heart Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Sacred Heart Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top