Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gloria Dei Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $71,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

Gloria Dei Closed several years ago. It is unfortunate to see this happen to the schools I attended in my youth.


Posted August 14, 2008

We have a son who has attended the school for the last 5 years, and we have been extremely happy. The new principal has been here only two years, and has brought back the science and math focus to our school. Great parents and teachers play a very big part. This school is a school with a heart. We are looking forward to another good year here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

A struggling school lost somewhere between the church and the academics. High teacher turnover the past few years, principal position held by a financial leader of their chuch with no academic backround. Science program only introduced in 2006, music introduction is a private program with an additional cost, no art. Great parent participation keeps the school alive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

What an awsome school! 8th grade students graduate with an average of 4 years above grade level! There is a new science lab, band, choir, after school sports, computer lab, Spanish class, field trips, a fun Sutter's Fort overnighter for 4th grade, Washington D.C. trip for 8th grade, and much more. They also take the SAT-10 test and do very well which is thanks to the wonderful teachers, and the parents involvement with their child. The classes seem to average about 20 students and they won't go over 24 for all grades. Our son is very happy here, the staff is very nuturing, and the costs are lower than other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

I have preschooler and feel that at this current time she will be given the skills she will need to be successful in kindergarten. It appears to be a rather high turn-over rate which may not seem like a big deal but it effects the children's learning advancement. I wish they would also be a litle more high tech with more computers and more hands on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

I have five children who attend Gloria Dei and it is a wonderful school. The cost is very low compared to other private schools! This year they have new Saxon Math text books and they have are going to have a science Lab. They have excellent teachers and strong Chrisitan values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

My child attended this school for two years. I found the staff to be very nurturing and the students interacted like siblings and/or family members. However I was concerned about my childs academics because this school seems to be weak in science and math. Additionally, for the tuition amount, I was hoping that they would provide foreign language instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Academic quality is excellent. However, there is no science program in grades K-3. Music and instrument instruction is not available to student until grade 4. Parent level is probably higher than most schools, due to a requirement of an annual amount of parent hours from each family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

They encourage alot of parent participation. Their costs are a bit much. They are very church oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

My son is currently enrolled here in the pre k program, so far I am very pleased with the caring approach that the teachers have taken with my son. I am also pleased witht the advancements he has made since being enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Black 35%
Asian 15%
Hispanic 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 246094
Sacramento, CA 95824
Phone: (916) 428-1127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Calvary Christian
Sacramento, CA



St. Stephen Academy
Sacramento, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT