Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
Gloria Dei Closed several years ago. It is unfortunate to see this happen to the schools I attended in my youth.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 4

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
We have a son who has attended the school for the last 5 years, and we have been extremely happy. The new principal has been here only two years, and has brought back the science and math focus to our school. Great parents and teachers play a very big part. This school is a school with a heart. We are looking forward to another good year here.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 2

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
A struggling school lost somewhere between the church and the academics. High teacher turnover the past few years, principal position held by a financial leader of their chuch with no academic backround. Science program only introduced in 2006, music introduction is a private program with an additional cost, no art. Great parent participation keeps the school alive.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
What an awsome school! 8th grade students graduate with an average of 4 years above grade level! There is a new science lab, band, choir, after school sports, computer lab, Spanish class, field trips, a fun Sutter's Fort overnighter for 4th grade, Washington D.C. trip for 8th grade, and much more. They also take the SAT-10 test and do very well which is thanks to the wonderful teachers, and the parents involvement with their child. The classes seem to average about 20 students and they won't go over 24 for all grades. Our son is very happy here, the staff is very nuturing, and the costs are lower than other private schools.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 2

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
I have preschooler and feel that at this current time she will be given the skills she will need to be successful in kindergarten. It appears to be a rather high turn-over rate which may not seem like a big deal but it effects the children's learning advancement. I wish they would also be a litle more high tech with more computers and more hands on learning.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 5

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I have five children who attend Gloria Dei and it is a wonderful school. The cost is very low compared to other private schools! This year they have new Saxon Math text books and they have are going to have a science Lab. They have excellent teachers and strong Chrisitan values.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 2

Posted May 24, 2006
- a parent
My child attended this school for two years. I found the staff to be very nurturing and the students interacted like siblings and/or family members. However I was concerned about my childs academics because this school seems to be weak in science and math. Additionally, for the tuition amount, I was hoping that they would provide foreign language instruction.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 3

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
Academic quality is excellent. However, there is no science program in grades K-3. Music and instrument instruction is not available to student until grade 4. Parent level is probably higher than most schools, due to a requirement of an annual amount of parent hours from each family.


Gloria Dei Lutheran School 4

Posted May 13, 2005
- a parent
They encourage alot of parent participation. Their costs are a bit much. They are very church oriented.

Gloria Dei Lutheran School 4

Posted May 05, 2005
- a parent
My son is currently enrolled here in the pre k program, so far I am very pleased with the caring approach that the teachers have taken with my son. I am also pleased witht the advancements he has made since being enrolled.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gloria Dei Lutheran School
P.O. Box 246094, Sacramento, CA  95824
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (916) 428-1127
Last modified Gloria Dei Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top