Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacramento Country Day School

Private | K-12 | 464 students

We are best known for fostering of critical thinking.

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2010

Although our children only attended the middle school, we found that we were not getting our money's worth. The children are out of control, and the school does nothing about it because then they would lose their tutition. The 7th Grade went through 3 English teachers, because the students were so out of control. The academic program was nothing specia,, the administration was on a power trip. My child was totally left out, bullied by the other children, and the admistration did absolutely nothing! Taking them out of Sacramento Country Day was the best thing that we could have done for our children's personal development and academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

Outstanding program, worth every penny. We've looked at many schools in the Sacramento area, and Country Day offers the most in-depth, well-rounded program. My child is consistently engaged and has developed a true love of learning. Outstanding teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

We've been at this school for three years and love it. My kids are not being taught to memorize worksheets, but to think and analyze. Not only are my kids performing above grade-level by any measure, they love going to school. The community of parents is tight-knit and the variety of experiences for my kids is wonderful. If you want a school to foster a true love of learning, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

As a parent of an 8th grader, I can tell you this school has been wonderful for the 4 years my child has attended. The staff is attentive, respectful, and responsive. The teachers are devoted and work together as a cohesive unit. I disagree with a previous writer... the Middle School is exactly what I had hoped for my child with challenging academics and personal accountability of small classes. A high achiever will succeed anywhere, but this school wants everyone to succeed and approaches teaching with the attititude, motivation and perseverance to acvhieve that goal. The only negative at this school is the price!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

After two years of what we feel is unsatisfactory education, we are leaving. We have found the specialty teachers to be very caring, committed and interested in knowing each individual child. However, the academics are not up to par for a college prep school. Our child has not been academically challenged for an entire year, despite several meetings with staff. The curriculum doesn't seem to meet state standards. This is a great school for a perfectly average child but they have been unable to address the needs of our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Sacramento Country Day School is a great independent college-preparatory school. The teaching prepares students to do well at the highest caliber colleges and universities nationally and internationally. Because the student-to-teacher ratio (7-to-1)is the lowest in town, the teachers and college counselors know their students better than at other schools in Sacramento. Thus classroom instruction is very personal and focused. Students spend more time talking directly to their teachers, and this leads to better acquisition of critical reasoning skills that are crucial in college and later life. Most students are very intelligent and kind. The atmosphere at Country Day is supportive and not overly competitive. If you understand that having the lowest student-to-teacher ratio results in the most powerful learning experience, you will find that the extraordinary value of this school is well worth the cost of tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Up through 5th grade, amazingly excellent. Fantastic teachers, every one. Then in 6th grade, the teachers are just mediocre, 7th grade teachers are just so-so. So, bottom line for me is that preK - 5th is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Excellent school; supportive teachers; small class size; college preparation both in the classes and by the college counselor superb; both student and parents are very satisifed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

Great school all around. it's very strong in college preparation and paying special attention in individual student development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

This school is wonderful. When I drop my kids off in the morning I wish I could stay. The learning is made fun and the teachers my kids have ( Pre - K and 1st grade ) are truly amazing. I just can't say enough good things about this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

Our son has attended for 4 years, and we have nothing but praise for his educational experience. The teachers are motivated and approachable, the curriculum contemporary, and the opportunities to participate are excellent. Teachers and administration encourage every student to excel. As a result our son has participated in sports, music, other extracurricular activities and has done well in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

The HS math department is academical challenged and the science department is also very week. The school is unable to maintain teachers with high standards. While a few students do end up in some of the most highly respected universities in the country the majority end up at very mediocre unversities. Very poor environment for values and especially learning. I'm actually amazed that they are able to maintain their accredidation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

This school is very wonderful and both my children love going here. They are both lifers and have great relationships with their teachers and their friends, and the people there are always kind and helpful.


Posted October 2, 2003

I have a daughter who attended Country Day K-12, graduated with honors, and is attending UCLA. I cannot say enough good about the quality of the teachers who instill a love for their subject- matter, self-discipline for study habits, leadership with integrity, and humanitarian values in each and every child. This school produces achievers and leaders for the future. I would recommend this school to any parent who has a child who is bright and wants to place him or her in a school that will continue to engender that innate interest in subject-matter. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is absolutely phenomenal! The parents are required to be involved in the students activities. I believe 100% of the graduating seniors attend college, and I know that the staff is great. I was a student teacher at this school and now I am a parent. I currently live in the Roseville area and am trying to figure out how I'm going to get my daughter down there. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants their children to excel. I hope this helps.......Good Luck to everyone!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hispanic 7% 52%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Stanford
The Univ. of California system
Eastern Liberal Arts Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Stephen Repsher
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (916) 481-6016

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
  • ski/snowboard
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • ski/snowboard

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Stanford
The Univ. of California system
Eastern Liberal Arts Colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2636 Latham Drive
Sacramento, CA 95864
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 481-8811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sierra Oaks K-8
Sacramento, CA


Shalom School
Sacramento, CA


Gateway International
Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT