Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brookfield School

Private | PK-8 | 145 students

We are best known for our accelerated academic program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $299,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 20, 2012

Brookfield school has enjoyed a long standing reputation as the finest academic program in the region. It is a rigorous, accelerated program, that is not suitable for all students and all learning styles. However, we have a clear mission, that is to serve a population of students who are sadly underserved by a educational culture of low expectations. Brookfield School provides a culture where it is "cool to be smart," and students are encouraged to excell and take on leadership roles. They are expected to treat each other and the adults around them with respect and kindness. Parents are expected to monitor homework and study, and to support their child's teachers. This partnership results in happy, high acheiving kids who love school, and love to learn. That's why Brookfield graduates are highly sought after by the most prestigious and selective high schools. Check our website: www.brookfieldschool.org to view our students' outstanding annual SAT 10 scores and to learn more about our school's academic program, admissions process, and school culture.

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2011

Dr. Jo Gonsalves has made this school the best school in Sacramento again. Period. Her exemplary administrative skills and dedication to the student body, as well as her experience as a teacher for many years makes this school such a wonderful experience for the children. The teachers are extraordinary, all donning some advanced graduate degree and an attitude about learning that makes me want to be a better parent/teacher at home. This school is amazing and I am so thrilled to have my children there. I didn't quite realize how much better it was until I had had conversations with friends whose children were attending other private schools. The level of academic achievement is astounding in comparison and like someone said before, the students at Brookfield don't even realize it. It's all just part of their "norm," which is so unbelievable. They make it fun, interesting and yet get down to business. This school, hands down, is the BEST school in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Brookfield is not what it once was. My daughter started there before the change in ownership and we loved the school. She learned to read within the first month of school. 4 years later was completely different with my son. Myself and other familes had to pay for private tutoring on top of private tuition because the great teacher had been replaced so that the owners could save money. Very disappointing. There is no hot lunch, hardly any recess and the sports programs are sorely lacking. One can do a whole lot better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I have a child who attends this school and as I know there is nothing that is perfect... but I have found the PERFECT school for my child. Which by the was was not an easy feat. She is finally challanged and what's scarey is she is so very happy and is actually saying she is having fun. I was sort of concerned that she wasn't retaining anything because of the vast amount of information she was learning. But when quizzed weeks later, not only was I given the answers but they were followed up with all sorts of examples. I am so happy I have finally found the type of education I've been searching for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

We have been extremely pleased with the education our children receive at Brookfield. They both love learning and are excited by new challenges. More importantly, they are developing excellent study and research skills that will benefit them for the rest of their lives. Our children also participate in several of the extracurricular activities, which really add to their experience and help develop a strong sense of school spirit. I would recommend Brookfield to any parent with a child who enjoys being challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Each year we are amazed how much our son learns, and how much he loves it. Brookfield sets the bar high and the students work hard to meet the expectations. The kind, caring environment is wonderful. The older students are very caring toward the 'little kids'. All the teachers/staff know every student's name. A wonderful and involved group of parents. This student body is very diverse. I can't imagine sending my child to any other private elementary school in Sacramento.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Brookfield is a wonderful school. We have three children attending Brookfield and find it to have an excellent academic cirriculum, great teachers and a diverse group of children. The parents are involved and care about the children. The owners are committed to providing quality education for their students and helping them achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Brookfield is a refreshing breath of East Coast Prep School in the Northern California area. This school is similar to the schools I left in Connecticut. It is a simple, no nonsense school with a devoted group of parents and teachers who prefer a strong and steady approach to learning. It has a wonderful traditional quality matched with a challenging curriculum. The kids are gently led through an enormous amount of work and they hardly realize it! Great staff, great kids and a very nice group of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Brookfield is still a decent academic school but it has lost much of what made it one of the best schools in the area. Teacher retention is a major problem. They have turned over several teachers each of the last three years which is significant when there is only one teacher per grade. Class sizes now exceed 20 students making them larger than public school classes for the early grades. It used to be limited to 18. Facilities remain subpar even compared to public schools. These problems are due to the new ownership from a few years ago and the three different principals over the same time. Whatever the cause, when you pay for private school, you should expect more than you get from public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

We have been very pleased with Brookfield. It is amazing the pace at which our children learn. They also are acquiring strong study skills and a passion for learning. I love that they are continually challenged. Our children have had three of the new teachers and we have been thrilled with all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

I chose Brookfield because I wanted a top-notch education for my son, and I have not been disappointed. The program is tough, but I truly believe it is helping him reach his potential. The teachers are great, classes are small, and my son gets the attention and guidance I would expect from a private school. The school has taken some knocks over the last few years, mostly due to a change in ownership and the fallout from that. The current principal is terrific and has really improved the environment. She has brought in really superb teachers and she is very approachable. If you are looking for the best available education for your child and are willing to pay for it, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

Brookfield is a mid-tier private school (K-8) with relatively low tuition (~$8k/year) and modest facilities. Under previous ownership it had one of the premier academic programs in the area. Recently, there has been significant turnover degrading the program s quality. The faculty has diminished as principals and teachers have moved on or retired. There have been three principals in three years. Good teachers have been lost including arguably the best kindergarten teacher in the Sacramento region. Some new teachers are good but they aren t the ones that build Brookfield s reputation. The student population has been similarly affected. One entire grade is down to only four students. Students are moving to schools offering the same level of academic excellence along with sports, band, and a more modern facility. Brookfield is still a good option for some, but it is no longer one of the top private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Do you have a bright child? Value a stimulating academic environment? Desire a small campus where older children model good behavior and young children are nurtured? Desire an environment where values such as kindness, safety, productivity, compassion and self discipline stressed? If the answer is yes, I strongly urge you to consider Brookfield. Our 2 children attend the lower grades. The academics are rigorous, which is why admission testing is taken seriously. We have experienced new teachers that are fabulous. The principal is exceptionally well qualified. Sacramento offers many choices, but in our opinion, the 'Brookfield Way' is indeed special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

Brookfield is the most elite learning center in the greater Sacramento area, a distinction confirmed every year via the students' results on standardized tests. Typically a grade or more ahead than their counterparts in the public schools, this accellerated and rigorous academic culture is nurtured by teachers with a passion of developing young minds. Very competitive to be accepted into and even harder to 'make the grade' while enrolled, beware that Brookfield moves at a much faster clip than other schools and may or may not be the best match. However, for us, we are exceedingly pleased with the instruction and love for learning our child is receiving at Brookfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

Costly? yes; however, not a group of 'rich kids' not a group of 'nerds' but most definitely smart kids! Intelligence is respected among peers, not ridiculed. My daughter leaves home with a smile and returns with a smile (and straight A's).Accelerated academics not for everyone, but worth every cent so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Brookfield has always been known to be one of the best private schools in Sacramento. However, within the past 3 years, I have seen many changes. The teachers are forced to accelerate the curriculum faster than they kids are prepared to do. It is costly to attend. I have two kids attending, and can say that Kindergarten - 4th grade, is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2007

Brookfield was a really good school when I entered in kindergarden. all the teachers were very supportive and fun. However, the quality of schooling has gone down substantially. Brookfield is a good school overall, but prepare to pay alot for tuition. if I were to choose a school for academia, I wold definately choose brookfield. The teachers, for the most part are very caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2006

The staff is of the highest quality. They teach for the love of teaching and have set a standard of high expectations for academics and behavior. The students are their number one priority. The quality of the teaching staff was what brought us to Brookfield and that is what keeps us there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2006

Great academics - prepared me for all of my education. However I think the school has changed a lot under new ownership.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 13, 2006

Good private school,great teachers,new ownership, curriculum in transition.Lease is up soon & the school might be relocated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

Brookfield has been an excellent school for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 26%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Hispanic 4% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Swedish, Korean
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Brothers Math Invitational (2013)
  • Middle School Debate League (2014)
  • National French Contest (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballroom Dance
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish, Korean
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jo Gonsalves, Ed.D. "Dr. Jo"
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (916) 443-5477

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish, Korean
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Fencing, Ballroom Dance, Yoga
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Fencing, Ballroom Dance, Yoga
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Ballroom Dance
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Guest speakers
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Brookfield has earned the reputation as the top academic program in the greater Sacramento region, but we are so much more! Our diverse community of learners gain strong leadership skills, public speaking skills, and collaborative skills in a friendly, nuturing environment where "it's cool to be smart." Our program infuses the Arts and an impressive array of sports and other fun activities to give our students a balanced education. Come visit us and see what "Brookfield Way" is all about!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Little Blossom Montessori
McKinley Montessori
Merryhill Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$11000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Francis/Jesuit High School
Christian Brothers High School Scholars Program
Mira Loma High School I.B. Program
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6115 Riverside Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95818
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 442-1255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stonegate Elementary School
West Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT