Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brookfield School

Private | PK-8 | 145 students

We are best known for our accelerated academic program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $299,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 20, 2012

Brookfield school has enjoyed a long standing reputation as the finest academic program in the region. It is a rigorous, accelerated program, that is not suitable for all students and all learning styles. However, we have a clear mission, that is to serve a population of students who are sadly underserved by a educational culture of low expectations. Brookfield School provides a culture where it is "cool to be smart," and students are encouraged to excell and take on leadership roles. They are expected to treat each other and the adults around them with respect and kindness. Parents are expected to monitor homework and study, and to support their child's teachers. This partnership results in happy, high acheiving kids who love school, and love to learn. That's why Brookfield graduates are highly sought after by the most prestigious and selective high schools. Check our website: www.brookfieldschool.org to view our students' outstanding annual SAT 10 scores and to learn more about our school's academic program, admissions process, and school culture.

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2005

Despite a good reputation over the past 35 years, I have been a disapointed Brookfield parent. While the curriculum is accelerated, the students seem to lack a passion for learning. There are a few teachers that have been at the school for a very long time... they are great. Yet, the majority are new teachers who lack a true connection with their students. I think the contributing factor to the slide of Brookfield's quality is that ownership has changed hands twice in the last 5 years. The woman who started the school back in the 1960's built the reputation. When she sold it in 1999, the new owner experienced some problems. Now she just sold it to people who live out of state. I think that it is important for owners/administrators to be locally based. A school can only live on an old reputation for so long...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

Academics are excellent - at least one year ahead of grade level, although main emphasis seems to be on memorization, not necessarily comprehension. Music, art etc are all outside of normal classroom. Parent involvement in classroom is near none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Brookfield is a good school however it is not for everyone. We had to pull our child out of this school because he just could not keep up and could not excel. We also found that the homework was just too much...no time for other activities. I believe they are also over priced, do not provide lunches or buses for field trips, limited facilities for outdoor activities, weak PE. Check out other schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2004

Brookfield is a challenging, accelerated, and nurturing school. Teachers are committed to students and give individual attention. It is amazing to see how much my child has accomplished and grown in her academics each year. The requirements at the school are rigorous, stimulating, and allow my child to stretch to her potential. My daughter thrives with the monthly poetry, book report, and speech. She amazes everyone with the computer skills she has learned. The French teacher really puts a love of the language into the students. Students are going to France for two weeks with Madame. The principal takes a great interest in the students and she has made a lot of great changes without compromising the academics. There are more field trips for the older students and more after school activities: strings, band, art, tennis, Odyssey of the Mind, newspaper club. This is a stellar school in the Sacramento area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2004

Brookfield is a fabulous school! The curriculum is accelerated, rigorous, stimulating and fun. Teachers are very nurturing and go into depth with the subject areas. My husband and I are amazed to see how much our daughter has learned at the end of each year. The strong academics are enhanced with monthly poetry, book reports, and speeches. In addition, my daughter is truly computer literate - definitely beyond the capabilities of many adults. The French teacher instills a love of the language and takes the students to France. The principal has her heart and interest with the children. She has maintained a strong curriculum as well as added extra curricular activities of student council, after school art, band, strings, Odyssey of the Mind, and newspaper club. We think Brookfield is of the highest caliber in the Sacramento region to develop a child's potential academically and emotionally. We love Brookfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

Brrokfield has been open for 40 years; however, the original owner sold it in 1999 to another woman. Unfortunately, it is a shell of what it once was. When my children attended in the 1970's, it was the place to go in Sacramento if you wanted the best private school. I went back to visit Brookfield this year as my great nephew will soon be of age to attend. I was saddened to see the changes. In recent years, other local private and public schools have surpased Brookfield in terms of academics. It was very sad to see a once great school fall from grace. The ownership change really made a profound difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

After visiting many schools, we finally selected Brookfield as the number one school of choice for our child. We feel so fortunate and blessed that our child could attend such a fantastic school. The academic curriculum is stellar. The teachers and administrator are fantastic. Teachers are responsive, caring, and excellent in their teaching. It's amazing what our child can do! The administrator is very responsive and takes a personal interest in each child and family. She has instituted more extracurricular activities and has maintained the high academic rigor to have our chlld well prepared for high school. We feel that our child is in a very safe environment. There are high expectations behaviorally - students are well mannered and the few disciplinary problems are dealt with fairly with parents informed. We are grateful that our child can be at such a fabulous learning institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

Brookfield is a wonderful introduction to education with music, art, and french, giving your child the advantages he needs to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

Principal-owner lets in poor quality students with behavorial and emotional problems just because their parents pay the high tuition. Don't apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 26%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Hispanic 4% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Swedish, Korean
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Brothers Math Invitational (2013)
  • Middle School Debate League (2014)
  • National French Contest (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballroom Dance
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish, Korean
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jo Gonsalves, Ed.D. "Dr. Jo"
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (916) 443-5477

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish, Korean
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Fencing, Ballroom Dance, Yoga
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Fencing, Ballroom Dance, Yoga
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Ballroom Dance
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Odyssey of the Mind
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Guest speakers
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Brookfield has earned the reputation as the top academic program in the greater Sacramento region, but we are so much more! Our diverse community of learners gain strong leadership skills, public speaking skills, and collaborative skills in a friendly, nuturing environment where "it's cool to be smart." Our program infuses the Arts and an impressive array of sports and other fun activities to give our students a balanced education. Come visit us and see what "Brookfield Way" is all about!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Little Blossom Montessori
McKinley Montessori
Merryhill Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$11000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Francis/Jesuit High School
Christian Brothers High School Scholars Program
Mira Loma High School I.B. Program
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6115 Riverside Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95818
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 442-1255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stonegate Elementary School
West Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT