Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
157 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Brookfield school has enjoyed a long standing reputation as the finest academic program in the region. It is a rigorous, accelerated program, that is not suitable for all students and all learning styles. However, we have a clear mission, that is to serve a population of students who are sadly underserved by a educational culture of low expectations. Brookfield School provides a culture where it is "cool to be smart," and students are encouraged to excell and take on leadership roles. They are expected to treat each other and the adults around them with respect and kindness. Parents are expected to monitor homework and study, and to support their child's teachers. This partnership results in happy, high acheiving kids who love school, and love to learn. That's why Brookfield graduates are highly sought after by the most prestigious and selective high schools. Check our website: www.brookfieldschool.org to view our students' outstanding annual SAT 10 scores and to learn more about our school's academic program, admissions process, and school culture.
November 20, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
77 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 107 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brookfield School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
We couldn't be more pleased with our daughters Teacher, we want to go back to first grade to have her experience!!

Brookfield School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I have never met a better set of teachers, and I have a few friends that teach (not at Brookfield) I wish I could go back to Elementary School to have these teachers and this educational experience.


Brookfield School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
In first grade, now, my daughter does her homework in the car on the way home 20 minutes. You get a book report a month - but that is great, it really gets you and your child talking about the book that they and you read - it helps them retain, and understand what they are reading.

Brookfield School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Brookfield encourages our children to do their best, and they aspire to be great, it is the perfect environment for learning and achieving and they have the backing by the teachers to support the kids to get there.

Brookfield School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Brookfield supports what Parents should already be doing, but you can't come to Brookfield unless you are compassionate, and caring.


Brookfield School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Brookfield has strong values, and talks about honesty, promotes honesty and recognizes it. They emphasize on sharing and working together.

Brookfield School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Our family and daughter are so very happy with Brookfield. You will not find better Teachers. They are experienced, happy, love teaching, well rounded and so GREAT at teaching the children - the kids LOVE their Teachers. I pinch myself very day for being so lucky that our daughter has such a great teacher and her past teacher was just as great. This school has the best class size,small, so the teachers get to teach and be personable with each child, so that they can learn, understand and feel accomplished. This school offers much more than academics - yes, the academics are challenging, but isn't that what we are asking for from out public schools? Our daughter gets music, she get French and performs in musicals, christmas events, celebrations etc. It is not just academics everyday. They offer activities before and after school - as an example Ballroom Dance, Swimming, Basket Ball etc. If you want an athlete you will enroll your child in a Athletic Program, but if you want a well rounded education, and prepared child you should look at and enroll in Brookfield. I would also like to mention that I can't say enough about the families that all support the school - they are amazing, kind, educated, friendly, and support the school and the events. Brookfield has a great PTA. I don't believe you can find a better place than this.

Brookfield School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
"Too much" might be too strong. It is difficult to tell as my daughter is still becoming more efficient with homework tasks and time management. Better this year than last and last year the school reassessed the homework load and made adjustments which I felt was impressive.


Brookfield School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Starting my daughter with a Montessori school so as to begin schooling early with that method of teaching was a good decision. Then to a local public school where it took only 9 days to realize that that was no place for learning so then homeschooling. There, the amount accomplished in much less time was near to remarkable. Then to a charter school whose best attribute was a good business plan but where my daughter was bored for being unchallenged and so was effectively learning how to fly under the radar of a teacher's attention. Then, now, Brookfield. Brookfield has been a good decision for and by our daughter. And "by our daughter" is the big part of why I like it. Now, my daughter is enjoying the company of like-minded students all of whom are liking the idea of being and becoming smart. And the diversity only enriches the whole experience, dollars, colors and cultures. Brookfield is an impressive school and I would argue that this is because Brookfield struggles well to live up to its philosophy/mission statement. Most school statements, I have found, come from the business side of things and so arise out of the need for public relations rather than from any declaration of guiding principles. Minimal-to-no correlation between the talk and the walk. As a result, such mission statements have no real eye on any educational prize. Not so Brookfield's. Brookfield's philosophy statement rings true. Add to that their history of success... Amidst the myriad of choices for educating children, finding the one that struggles well to remain true to a greater ideal, and remains agile in the day-to-day changes and challenges, that school should be on the short list. It's just a rare thing to find. I submit that anyone who's able to consider, and be considered by, Brookfield should. Plus, its fun to happen upon Brookfield alum and see where they are now...

Brookfield School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 28, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Bogart and Ms. Brinsky (retired) are the best teachers at Brookfield. They push your kids to the limit. They are awesome beyond words.

Nearby schools

Brookfield School
6115 Riverside Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95831, Sacramento, CA  95818
(916) 442-1255
Last modified Brookfield School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top