Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $71,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2012

This is one of the best schools I have ever had the chance to send my daughter to. She has graduated and obtained a great job with the State. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants the best spiritual and secular education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

I have been so blessed by calvary.Teachers are great. Great curiculm.best private school in sacramento .


Posted March 16, 2012

Calvary Christian School offers a great education to my two children, and their new campus at 4911 47th avenue is awesome!!! I am also a former student of CCS and because of that I am now a christian and a success in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

This is an awesome school, which has helped me grow spiritually and academically and in so many other ways. Not only do the teacher care about what you say they take interest in your whole life and are praying for you and your families. Yes, this school has had some downsizing, but we moved into a new beautiful location in the church. I have learned a lot from being there over the years, and I can personally say it is better than any public school both academically and student wise , as of we don t allow so many things which other schools would let into the environment. It is a safe environment from preschool to 12th grade!!!


Posted March 16, 2012

Calvary Christian School has provided a wonderful learning environment in a Christian setting for our children. With challenging curriculum from Abeka publishing, and computer technology integrated into the daily learning experience our children are thriving academically and spiritually. The teachers are well qualified and the new campus is very impressive. The extensive new playground provides a clean, safe, and very enjoyable place for my children to learn and develop. My two children love to go to school each day and they could not wait for school to start after the summer break. Five stars for Calvary Christina School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

This school is the great:) wouldnt pick another school. Looking for a great preschool this is it no other teachers like them:)


Posted September 18, 2011

I'm glad there's still a school based on Godly principles that provides a Godly environment for children to learn. My daughter was there from pre-school to 4th grade and she absolutely enjoyed it. We had to move and now she's in a public school rated a 9, but she's bothered with the inconsistencies of the teachers and the foul language of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I'm disappointed to say that this school completely let my children down. We ended up taking them out after several years in attendance. The teaching quality of the school has deteriorated to a level worse than the dilapidated appearance of the school. They combined classes so that 5th through 12th grades are combined and use computer-based instruction to teach students instead of teachers. Both of our kids had to go back a year at their new schools because they simply were so far behind with what should have been taught during their time at CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I've found Calvary Christian School to be outstanding throughout the years. I have two children who completed the entire K through twelfth grade program and now have a grandchild in the kindergarten program. The Abeka curriculum is superb and had my grandchild reading at age 4. I know the school has had some struggles through the years, but I wouldn't have my grandchildren anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

All of the reviews so far of this school have a basis in fact. It is a good school, however students that should NEVER be allowed in are simply for the check. The staff is dedicated and they are all educated in the curriculum they teach. Administration was lacking at one point, but could be up to par now. As far as indoctrinating children in non-essential religious practices: it is always stated in the interview that CCS teaches the doctrine of the United Pentecostal Church. If a parent doesn't agree to this (and the doctrines are stated) then the child isn't allowed to attend. If you don't like these non-essential practices, then why did you send your child?


Posted January 17, 2007

I am not happy with the school overall. Parental involvement is not encouraged from my experiences with this school. When concerns are brought up with teachers you feel as if you are an intruder. In addition, I placed my child here so that she could get more attention than she would receive in a public school and it is the same even though class sizes are significantly smaller (13 students). The teachers don't care to help if your child happens to be struggling. If the child passes or fails, excels or drops out they wouldn't care as long as you keep writing the check and it clears.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I feel that this is a great school. I have attended CCS & CCPS for 14 years and the learning experience there has shaped my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2006

My son attended this school for six months and I found the preschool teachers were not organized and administration needs to recruit efficient staff who are qualified and caring of children at such a tender age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

I felt this school has dedicated teachers, however the teaching staff lacks education and credentials. I also felt that they were trying to indoctorinate my child with their 'non essential' religious practices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

My two children have been in CCS beginning in preschool. Both have excelled in all subjects. My 4th grade daughter is in her 2nd year violet class. Parents are encouraged to be apart of all levels of there childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 63%
White 20%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4911 47th Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95824
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 393-3633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Success Academy
Sacramento, CA



The Williams Academy
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT