Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Courtyard School

Private | K-8 | 139 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $314,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I cannot recommend this school. I believe the leadership of the school over the past years, specifically Kelly Ratliff, Jacob Appelsmith, Marc Porter, and Laura Powell, not only engaged in inappropriate behavior, but I believe some may have engaged in activities that are thought to be illegal. These behaviors have been destructive to the school, causing parent, teachers, and other board members to leave in disgust. None of this results in improved academic instruction for students. Until there is a complete turnover of leadership at Courtyard, I believe this dysfunctional chaos will continue and the focus will be protecting bad behavior of the principal and board members, instead of running the school in the best interest of students and families. Because of this, there are much better schools out there, both public and private. Please choose wisely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2014

Courtyard is a truly exceptional school with devoted teachers, a committed and thoughtful administration, and dedicated and involved parents who create a warm and accepting atmosphere for each child and family. We have been so impressed with our daughter's 1st grade teacher and how she uses positive discipline techniques to bring out the best in each student. Our daughter comes home each day bursting with excitement over the science experiments she has done, her math class, the books she is reading, and the opportunities she was given to shine. The before and after school programs are beyond exceptional -- whenever we try to pick our daughter up early, she asks us to come back later after the clubs are finished. The lunch program is also amazing. We feel so fortunate to have found this school and joined this group of families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2014

Our children were very happy. Good teachers, attentive before and after school enrichment, small community, and one price covers tuition, before/after school care, and lunch. There are ample field trips that are superb. Unfortunately, the lack of leadership to have a collaborative teaching environment, the demise of specialized programs such as art and Spanish, and the blatant disrespect for parents who would like to introduce technology, a math club, or suggest ways to make the school 21st Century is unprofessional. We understand the the school claims they educate the 'whole child' but our transition to public school showed that our "A" student is struggling and was not prepared for public school. Due to a lack of direction, progressiveness, and leadership the school's strength is the small class size and good teachers. But, those good teachers spend 80% of their time tending to the disruptive kids and the turnover rate is astonishing which is a reflection of the administration. Overall, this could be a fabulous school if it had direction, vision, and a dynamic leader. The teachers work hard and do the best they can but overall, I would look elsewhere for private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2014

Our 5 year old is enjoying Kindergarten at Courtyard. The Kinder teacher and her full time aide have been a dynamic duo for nearly two decades and the students really seem to benefit from their consistency and expertise. I m amazed by our child s social development and growth in reading and spelling just two months into this school year. Our child tends to frustrate easily, so it has been helpful to have the sensitivity and levity that the teacher brings to the classroom. Learning is fun. Our busy family appreciates the teacher s approach to homework, which compared to our public school friends, seems to be assigned in moderation. It s just enough to connect us to what our child is learning and makes us aware of what he needs to work on. Lots of opportunities to get his wiggles out before school, morning, lunch and afternoon recesses and after school , all of which are supervised by their nurturing staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2014

The way the school could improve most is for staff to speak to and treat students as if that child's parents were standing right there. That's what I do.That's my opinion. I feel that there is no safe and effective way to lodge a complaint or report inappropriate behavior, whether it be by staff, administration, or by board members.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2014

Positives-Majority of the teachers are great, our children have been happy there and the community is great. Negatives-Resources available originally are no longer there, for example an art teacher. The school is behind in implementing common core and the math program is substandard. This will negatively impact those students who will move on to a public school, except for the exceptionally bright ones or those whose parents can afford private school tuition and tutoring. There is a lack of directional leadership. Parents who try to voice concerns end up leaving out of frustration. There has been a great turnover of staff recently as well as families not returning this fall. It is not surprising that parents are unaware of the deficiencies until later grades. Our child received straight A s and a 99% overall in testing at Courtyard. Same child struggles to barely maintain a B average in middle school, as have other peers from Courtyard that are unable to afford tutoring or get additional educational support at home. Summary: Great teachers if they can keep them and poor leadership with no future of improvement unless changes are made. Small school that keeps getting smaller...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

We were at Courtyard for 6 years, and your kids will love it. But, from a parent perspective, save your money and get a nanny. After being here, you will probably need a tutor anyway or need to catch your children up due to the upswing of children with disruptive behaviors in the class. It takes a while for the lack of leadership and politics to show because it's seemingly a nice community. However, if you look at the turnover rate, you are paying for daycare. The longer you are there and if you start to question the administration of why your class had three teachers in one year, or why is your child doing math learned the previous year, or why you cannot receive your child's homework back in a timely manner, you hit a brick wall. We received homework from October in March. My child's report card was signed by three different teachers. After 6 years, our child cannot conjugate simple Spanish verbs - they have had four Spanish teachers over this time span. Parents expect more as their kids age and we weren't seeing progression. We were willing to 'wait it out' but after looking at the price and what we were getting, we hired a nanny and took a family trip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

Why does it take 6 years to come to the conclusion that this school is lacking? It seems to me to have an amazing staff and board. The students seem happy and are a community. I really would like to know what the problem is?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2014

Fifth grade was the most disappointing of the seven years we have been at the school. By the time you realize the education at Courtyard is so lacking, it's too late. You can't get those years back for your children. Most parent eventually come to this realization. Next year's sixth grade class will have at most nine. The class would hold 24. It's a small class not by design, but because so many parents "get it" by the sixth grade and leave. If you are still seriously considering this school, ask to see the complete parent surveys. Ask to see the complete teacher surveys. You can really see the "Courtyard difference." I wish we could get some of the time back, but we can't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

Would I send my child there again? Probably not. The school seems to be run by a select few who have no intention of hearing what others have to say. The math and science program are minimal at best, and I have found that most students who struggle at math go out and hire a tutor. The administration is unresponsive to parents who have questions that they can't seem to answer. I also haven't seen any leadership by the principal. Teachers seemed to be isolated and doing there own thing with little academic continuity between the classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Courtyard is a small school with a wonderful learning environment that is safe, creative, attentive and academically challenging and diverse. The single greatest attribute are the teachers all of whom are exceptional, creative, engaged and wonderfully dedicated to the students and to the learning process. Courtyard prides itself on developing scholars who can think, communicate, learn and explore. The school does not focus on test taking it focusses on learning, exploration and creativity. The parents at Courtyard are wonderful, intelligent, open minded and involved and this creates a sense of community that is truly exceptional. For example, we know and interact socially with nearly all of the parents in my daughters grade, fellow parents help each other out whenever it is needed from a late pickup to a soccer team run, to homework clubs and shared projects. Courtyard is way more than a school it is a community of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Courtyard continues to be a great school for my daughter. The small class sizes, academic success rates and community spirit are complimented by a well rounded curriculum (music, phy ed, drama and lots of art projects). I don't know how such a small school is able to accomplish all that....but we are happy to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I'm a proud parent of a Cougar. I'm a bit surprised to see some of the posting by parents being critical of staff. We got off to a bit of a rocky start when we came in 3rd grade however Mr. Molnar, Ms. Kristi and Ms. Krause are HUGE advocates of ALL of our children. Communication is key and we are fully engaged in school. Mr. Molnar makes the hard decisions and does NOT allow the parents to dictate how the school is run - contrary to previous posts. In my opinion the entire team exceeds our expectations. We highly recommend Courtyard to any family that wants a holistic education for their child. We may be a private school, but we're not snooty. Our personal experience is that Mr. Molnar demonstrates fair and consistent consequences. Trust me, we've gotten called into the principal's office more than once. Mr. Molnar treats the child with respect and uses the experience as a teachable moment and does not just "brush it off". I can assure you that he takes all issues serious. He handles them in a mature, professional and nurturing manner. Regarding diversity - ridiculously diverse, people just need to open their minds. It is not just the color of your skin.Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Courtyard has been a great place so far for our child. The teachers are very friendly as well as the edc leader and staff. We are happy with all the extra curricular actitvities that the school offers, things that our previous school did not have. The school is a little cluttered right know but that seems to be because they are building a kitchen and re-doing the gym. The principal is always available when we have questions or even just comments, And the EDC leader takes time to make sure our child is always taken care of and lets us know of any minor issue. We feel very comfortable with leaving our child there. But like any school there are a few cliques. And its not the children or the staff who have these cliques, it seems to be the same 5 or 6 parents that try to pull you into a negative conversation about this or that. But the majority of the parents are happy and friendly and support this great school. we are excited for the new changes to the campus and like i said the most important factor for us is that our child is safe and happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

You will pay for it...and so will your child. Two major weaknesses of Courtyard are math and accountability. We (and many other families) have approached the administration numerous times about the problems with third grade math. We had to obtain outside tutoring, like others, just to bring our child to grade-level. When confronted, it was suggested that there was a problem with our child specifically. The administration has persisted to deny there are any problems; the teacher is still not course-corrected. All the while, we re out more money, and our child is left defeated and frustrated. But, the math just doesn t add up: the standardized test scores (across and within grades) show the disparities and illuminate the curriculum weaknesses. Also, when we taught our child what should have been taught (and that we paid for), our child now is performing at and above grade-level, despite the actions of Courtyard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Courtyard is a great community and a great school. This is a small school with an amazing community spirit. Students are treated individually and my experience with teachers (6 different teachers over 5+ years) is that they are all dedicated, competent and great educators. Kids get amazing field trip experiences and the before/after care has a wide range of good programs with great staff. We stay -- and support the school -- because of the strong programs, caring leadership, safe environment and supportive community. The campus is making some much needed investments in the physical facilities, but the physical enviornment is not why we keep our kids at Courtyard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

As a parent of a former student and after reading over recent comments, I think the issue for Courtyard is that it excels in some areas--great teachers and EDC staff, small class size allowing for individual attention, superior parent involvement, etc.--but falls far short in other areas that aren't obvious to all students and their families. Unless you are a family that had experienced issues with bullying, for example, (as we did) it is easy to assume all is wonderful at this school. But one way a great school distinguishes itself from a merely good school is how it responds to issues and conflicts and the steps it takes to resolve them. If it doesn't seriously acknowledge that a problem exists, or if it only offers lip service in addressing the problem, it will never evolve to be a great school. I don't disagree with comments that tout Courtyard's excellence in some areas, but a truly fair assessment must include recognition of its shortcomings. It would serve Courtyard well to reexamine how it addresses and resolves concerns/problems so that parents and students who don't have the mainstream Courtyard experience aren't marginalized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Our children have attended Courtyard for 6 years, combined, and it has definitely been a positive experience. We love the teaching and EDC staff. The teachers are very knowledgeable and are encouraged to go above and beyond the basic standards curriculum, which they do! We cannot say enough good things about the quality of field trip choices and preparation, and the inclusion of science, history, foreign language and art and performing art as part of the school day. Our children have done very well in advanced programs in public schools, and we think Courtyard prepared them quite well to succeed. Most of their classmates are also in these programs. Our children feel safe at Courtyard, and they can talk to the principal and to the other staff without afraid. We like seeing the building improvements this year. The principal seems to do quite a lot to continue improving the school. The teachers have well equipped classrooms with new technology tools, the buildings have had lots of improvements, and we see him interacting with students, parents and staff every time we go to the school. This school has a strong sense of community and happy students. It is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Would I do it again? Probably not. We've had two children here over multiple grades, & are looking to leave. Private, decent scores....we thought: How could we go wrong? On the up side: half the faculty are solid professionals; convenient before/after care; small classes; centrally located. On the down side: management struggles to keep the other half of the faculty well-supervised and accountable to chronic problems and poor performance; board appears more interested to maintain status quo for a select few; campus climate is less inclusive & welcoming of diversity than talked about; parental involvement is welcomed when it fits into the mainstream agenda. It is really unfortunate that this is the case, when the school could be so much more. We have had this echoed numerous times in conversation with other parents who are also in the minority. After all the advocacy, dismissed offers to volunteer, chastisement by parents of the mainstream, I have been thinking: Is it worth it? If the school produces average results & an average experience, why not attend (any) public school and hire a private tutor & nanny for the money we pay? My time, money, energy, & care could be better used.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

After being a Courtyard parent for 6 years, I believed that the smaller class sizes simply afforded our students more attention with regard to their questions during classroom lessons. Recently, we were delighted when our son reported that his teacher took him aside to discuss his tendency to succumb to distractions. Rather than coming down on him in a punitive way, his teacher calmly asked him to simply consider during that moment when the view outside the window seems so inviting, whether it is ultimately worth it to succumb to the distraction if one considers how much one's parents have invested in this education and whether it is worth it to him, given how hard he works at school, to allow himself to be distracted. I am amazed by the work ethic of a teacher who cares enough to have this discussion with a student who will ultimately earn mostly A's and a few B's and does not otherwise disrupt the class. Most of all we are delighted that we got this account from our son, who evidently got the message.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 12% 11%
Two or more races 12% 3%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jonathan Molnar
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteerism is central to our success as a school community. at a minimum, we ask 25 hours per family of volunteer work per year. most families exceed this by far.
More from this school
  • As a nonsectarian, coeducational school, we seek to enroll students of all races, creeds, colors and religions.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Christian Brothers
St. Francis
other selective
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 24th Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 442-5395

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mustard Seed
Sacramento, CA


Mustard Seed School
Sacramento, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT