Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shalom School

Private | K-6 | 92 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2011

Shalom School is like a family. Everyone knows my children and we all look out for each other. The academics are taught in an interesting, engaging, creative way. The homework is meaningful, not busy work. The Jewish education is shaping my children's identity, giving my children a solid sense of self and a strong moral compass. My children are leaning compassion and the importantce of mitzvot (good deeds). My children love school and feel a sense of belonging to a greater community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I am alternately amazed and impressed with the attention that my three children receive. My oldest (10) needs to feel comfortable, with a gentle hand. She receives that and thrives! My middle (8) is full of energy and doesn't do well when he is chained to a seat; so the teacher moved him to the back of the room (so he does not disturb others) and allows him to work standing. My youngest (5) is cutesie and needs to be told that she doesn't run the place; so the teachers provided firm but appropriate discipline and direction. All of my children have been at Shalom since the beginning and I am VERY happy with the eduction and community that the school provides. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I started working at Shalom School as a parent of a preschooler (20 years ago). I am proud to say that most of my son's teachers are still here. Considering our staff has dedicated over 300 years collectively, an amazing amount of knowledge has passed through our doors! Compare our programming next to any "rapid learner program" or private school in Sacramento and it not only compares favorably--it exceeds other programs. 100% of our graduates entered accelerated programs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2011

Shalom School provides a nurturing environment that gives students self confidence and provides a love of learning. The sense of community is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

Our children graduated at Shalom School and have gone on to great colleges and now one is in medical school. WHat I loved most about the school was their emphasis on making children feel good about themselves and in a nurturing environment. In addition it gave them a very strong foundation in which they could build upon it as they further developed.


Posted February 16, 2011

I am thrilled to have my grandchild attend this wonderful school/family. From the first day that he attended at 5 months, I felt that he was in the right place. The staff are skilled professional educators who understand how young children grow and develop. As a family we couldn't be happier with the teachers, the facility and the administrative staff.


Posted September 22, 2008

I have 1 kid in shalom and 1 graduate and they are so incredibly well educated in a wholesome and loving environment. We have been there since my older daugher was 2.5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

My daughter attended this school. Shalom is a far step above being just a school, its a community where the children and the teachers share a special bond. The children carry themselves as partners in their educations not as if its someone elses job and they behave more like a big family than school mates with teasing and crudeness. I highly recommend this school for its high standards in education and for its living example of community and social action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Shalom school is truly a community school. There is an active PTF and yearly parent participation requirements. There is a music teacher who runs the band and drama programs. He is also the PE teacher. The school is involved in Math Olympiads, an international math competition. The schoolwork is challenging, however the teachers are accessible and in my experience have been willing to individualize expectations and resources to individual student's abilities. There is an hour of Hebrew language and an hour of Judaica instuction daily, Friday afternoons are devoted to minicourses and special programming. There are also special projects relating to social issues, the children work on global as well as local hunger and justice related issues. My child has grown tremendously at this school and we are very satisfied with our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

The teachers are enthusiastic and creative. The school does a great job of providing basic academic skills. I think it does a much better job than most schools at teaching critical thinking, writing and research skils. It also provides science, art, music, dance, etc. There is a large emphasis on being a kind and responsible person. It is a very warm and nurturing environment. To be honest, the number and quality of extracurricular activities is not as great as some larger schools, but I think they are adequate and the other benefits of the school are tremendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

Excellent, safe and nurturing environment. Committed teachers and staff. Quality academics beginning in preschool. Tremendous parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

The academic programs were very good, teachers were very willing to help and there was a low student to teacher ratio. Music and art were well integrated into the classes, but of course this is a small school environment and the programs are commenserate with resources. There is a great deal of parent involvement and truly a community feeling in the school. We enjoyed the commitment at the school and in affiliation with the Jewish Federation there were a range of sports and some nice team opportunities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 26%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mollie Aczel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA
Fax number
  • (916) 485-3970

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2320 Sierra Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 485-4151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sierra Oaks K-8
Sacramento, CA


Gateway International
Sacramento, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT