Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
186 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Merryhill Elementary School 2

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
Recent harassment between fourth grader and much younger student made me think the school ignored previous issues with fourth grader because parent worked at school. Previous principal had troubled grandchild at school that was very disruptive and should have been at a special education school to better help the student cope with daily demands. We need a strong anti-bullying and harassment program immediately.

Merryhill Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2015
- a community member
Great teachers and dedicated principal! This is a small community school and has a great family feel. The teachers work hard to help their students, and the curriculum extends past what students would learn at a public school. We love Merryhill Calvine!


Merryhill Elementary School 2

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Please think twice before enrolling your children into this school. The administrative staff, lack leadership and problem solving skills. Moreover, you are better off at a public school that has a 24:1 ratio. Remember, parental involvement is critical for success. Make sure you do the research on the employees before making a decision. The Nobel Learning Community (parent company) back ground check process is flawed. They clearly do not run annual back ground checks on their employees either. My son, has learned a lot, though it s not as extensive as his neighbor who attends public school down the street. The public school student is further ahead academically. USE Caution

Merryhill Elementary School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
Words can't describe how pathetic this school is. Parents please think twice before enrolling your child to this school. This school brags about being cultural sensitive, peanut free environment and how well they care about your child is all a show. They promoted that their summer camp program is enrich with activities and learning curriculum. I would definitely say it is enrich alright. It is enrich in a way where your child does is watch movies, and run wild in the classroom. Teachers are not train at all and when ask questions, their response is they don't know. Most important thing for parents who are vegetarian, have a child who is allergy to something or are vegan....this school does not care and definitely will not pay attention to what your child eat.

Merryhill Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. They teach the whole child and guinely love children. The principle and teachers are outstanding.


Merryhill Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
I have nothing but praise for Merryhill School Calvine. This school not only has a challenging curriculum (that includes technology, art, language, & sports), but the children are also taught the value of kindness, respect, & responsibility. These values are also modeled by the new principal, Mr. Wayne, the incredible teachers, & staff. My daughter is in the 1st grade (she also attended kindergarten at Merrhill), & she has thrived. I don't know what this school was like prior to Mr. Wayne taking over, but it is without reservation that I recommend this school to any parent seeking a challenging, well-rounded curriculum that will help your child meet their potential in a supportive, respectful environment.

Merryhill Elementary School 1

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
I liked the principal and most parents will say the same. However, if you are thinking about putting your child in the kinder program, I would encourage you to think long and hard about the teacher's length of experience. The class size is no different than public kinder in EGSD. The teaching standards are also no different. Before I enrolled my child at this school, I would not have touched a public school with a ten foot pole. My thoughts have completely changed. If you want your child to memorize without learning the concepts, this is the place. Folks, my entire family went to public schools, 5 out of 8 of them went on to become doctors. Private schools do one thing, that is make parents feel they are doing something great for their child. Besides, a majority of of these students end up the PUBLIC high schools, unless you choose the catholic high schools.

Merryhill Elementary School 4

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
If you believe in accountability in education, you'll be pleased with the Merryhill system. While our public schools tout they are accountable, there are too many stories that prove otherwise. Do you want teachers that are held to high standards? Do you want a curriculum that goes beyond the grade that your child is in? Do you want a Principal that is willing to meet your expectations for what a private school should be? Do you want a safe and enjoyable place for your child to be, even from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm, if necessary? You really need to investigate the Merryhill School system. Mr. Benjamin Wayne has been the Principal at Calvine for over two years, and he has met and exceeded all of our family's expectations, and he continues to challenge himself and his faculty to meet or exceed Merryhill standards. You will not be sorry.


Merryhill Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a parent
I have my kids in Kinder and Second Grade and they absolutely love it. The new principal is fanstastic! His passion and efforts have clearly made Merryhill, one of the best schools in Elk Grove.

Merryhill Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter began at this school Fall 2009, when a new Principal took the reins. For the past two years, she has been challenged, has learned amazing things, grown in immeasurable ways, and has found her voice in choir and painting club, after being a pretty shy toddler. We have enjoyed every minute of the experience, and can t wait to share the environment with her little sister next Fall as she begins the adventures of Kindergarten. The teachers truly care about the kids, and the Principal (no longer the woman mentioned in early posts!) approaches his role with integrity, creativity and care. He greets every student and parent in the Lobby by name, and goes out of his way to enhance their experience. The school s use of technology is ahead of the curve, and my 2nd grader uses it today in ways that I didn t experience until College. This campus is truly a community, with effective and engaged leadership.

Nearby schools

Merryhill Elementary School
9036 Calvine Rd, Sacramento, CA  95829
(916) 689-7322
Last modified Merryhill Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top