Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Merryhill School

Private | K-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sacramento

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $217,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2012

We love this Merryhill school. We were at the preschool for four years and have been at the elementary school for four years. We have had an excellent experience at both schools. I'd had experiences at two other preschools that were good but Pocket Merryhill is great! Loving and caring teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

I love this Merryhill! My son attended Kindergarten in the public system. It was horrific for him and for us. Mean, cold teachers, pitiful academics--and this was a 10 on the California Distinguished School list. . Merryhill was a breath of fresh air! The academics are tailored to your child's needs. The teachers are firm, but loving. The school is extremely loving and supportive to the children. Emails are responded to promptly. I loved study hall! I am hoping to move and am so so sad there is not a Merryhill where I am going! Great kids, great families. It is worth every penny. I feel so grateful my son and now my daughter were able to attend this school!!! A+ !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Hi, I graduated from this Merryhill a couple of years ago, and I have just finished applying to colleges. So far I have been admitted at UCLA, UCB, USC, Gonzaga, UCSB, and USD, and I must say I am only where I am because of Merryhill and its great teachers. I just wanted to say thank you to the school for helping me get to where I am today. By the way, the principals at both the elementary and the preschool were both great, and they have been there for so many years, and they have both done such a great job. Overall, I would say this was an awesome school for me to attend, and just recently my little brother is just starting to attend Jesuit, so I am not the only one with this great experience. Thank you Merryhill!


Posted September 3, 2010

I also must disagree with the negative comment re: the preschool principal and the assistant. There has always been communication concerning what is happening at the school (emailed newsletters, postings of the week's happenings) and all you have to do is ask and they are generally forthcoming with information unless it is about teachers leaving due to "disciplinary circumstances" which I approve of their discreetness. The teachers are very attentive to the children and if you are an active parent participant with the school, teachers and class (& not just a drop & go parent), you will not find a better place for your child to learn and be cared for. We now have our 2nd child there so we have had several years of experience with them and given the difficulties of different childrens' temperament (as well as their parent's), ages and liability, they consistently do a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My child hasnt improved his academic. He was neglected in class. He needs help with reading but his teacher said she didnt have time. That's ridiculous. I would not recommend any child go to Merryhill pocket school but Merryhill middle school is very good!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My child've been in this school since pre-school. Now he is in 4th grade and I was shocked to find out that their curriculum are way behind comparing to public schools. Most of the teachers don't have university degree, only credentials from neighborhood colleges. Good thing is they offer extensive before/after school as well as winter/spring break care. If you are the kind of parents that don't care for academics, this is the one you should pick - a Day-Care School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I have to disagree with the previous comment. I have always had great interactions with the Principal and she has always been very attentive to all of my needs. She is always available. The teachers are also great and my child loves coming to school. She is very ready for kindergarten because Merryhill has a great curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I absolutely agree with the assesment of the teacher who said the principal is horrible at the preschool! And yes, and so is her assistant. It's very sad. Perhaps the elementary school is better, but I highly suggest avoiding anything below kindergarten at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Teachers are great and the school has a great academic program. The only problem I have had with this school is the principal and her lack of informing the parents of dissmissed and newly hired teachers. All of a sudden one teacher is gone and a new person is watching your child. No Notices...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

We pay for our grandchild to attend. The uniform requirement is just the beginning of a solid sense of values, about education, self discipline and creativity being the background of a successful life. The class size is almost half of public school so that each teacher knows her student and any problems are addressed immediately, as well as successes! Great campus, great principal. Hopefully the company who owns Merryhill will take care of their great teachers!


Posted December 16, 2007

My daughter has been to Merryhill since she was 5. I love the schools and the education she is receiving is out of this world. I am satisfied with the staff and the extra care that they take care of the kids. It is a big happy family. My daughter is 7 and can do sign language and speak spanish. I am grateful that my daughter can attend Merryhill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

The kindergarten teachers are the best you will ever find. The summer camp was great. I think it is hit and miss depending on what teacher you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

The principal is horrible and so is her assistant! So many things have happened to my child at the daycare thru pre-k level I am pulling her out. We pay too much money for them to 'not know what happened' to her during the day. Its ridiculous I would not recommend this school to anyone and hope that the few good teachers there find a place that will be better for them as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

My little girl is in 2nd grade this year and is in her third year at Merryhill. She and our family love it. It is like a small community where all the teachers know every child by name. A very loving, nuturing and of course, academically driven school. The teachers are highly qualified and the princial and VP are completely devoted to the children. I always have peace of mind when I leave her at school, knowing that she is happy and safe at Merryhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

My child transferred from a Montessori school. The academics at the Montessori school were more challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

I have had children who have attended many schools with National Awards, DOD Schools and none compare to this school you wont find better anywhere else..Spend a few days there and you will find this to be true for many of you....You get what you pay for as in everything in life it is what you put in to it and what is available to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 26%
Black 11% 6%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7450 Pocket Road
Sacramento, CA 95831
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 429-6044

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Country Day
Sacramento, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT