Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Salida, CA
Students enrolled: 523
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Salida Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Excellent principal! She cares deeply for each and every child. I am impressed how this school meets the needs of ALL children. My children used to go to a school where children were ALL in the same level. Their excuse was ESL students slowed the whole class! It's not so at SES. SES challenges ESL, GATE, and all other students, especially in math and science. The principal believes every child should be encouraged to learn at the level they are in. I am happy I transferred to this school. Lots of parent volunteers! Teachers are down to earth helpful and friendly. I love the after school homework club. My son has excelled in math because of the caring teachers that support this after school club.

Salida Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
SES has a winning combination of phenomenal teachers, who have high expectations, and a principal who knows the families and students personally. SES is a science, technology, and math magnet school, and my 3 children excel in all these subject areas. Retired scientists from MJC come visit classes regularly to help with science activities. All of my children dissected squid in first grade! Students throughout the year become scientists at the Tuolumne River as they do various experiments and learn more about this important resource and the surrounding riparian habitat. Levelized learning in math and language arts enables all students to achieve student success. Technology is integrated throughout the curriculum. There are 2 computer labs and all classes also have their own computers. Teachers collaborate in grade level teams and learning is very project based. Salida Elementary is an exceptional learning community, and everyone is family at SES!


Salida Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Exceptional math and science programs

Salida Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Salida Elementary is a great school. Parents as well as staff members come as one to work together for the well being of the children. Children are happy to come to school and learn. Science and Math are one of the number one things at SES. Children go in between teachers so they have access to all the teachers at least within there grade. The teachers are all wonderful people that treat your children like there own. I would not change this school once bit and they just received the Distenshied School Award

Salida Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Ses could be really great, they have the parts of the puzzle they need, but are having trouble fitting them together. They encourage 'clicks' which is not good for students at such a young age. They do not discipline trouble students but rather, they pick on the shyer students. Sometimes you can teach students, you don't always need to make everything military. If you spent more time worrying about the really bad kids you would fix the serious issues so others could do their work better. As with most schools there are some really good teachers and a couple of rotten apples.


Salida Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Salida Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
My children have attended Salida Elementry School since it opened. The teachers are exceptional in the jobs they do. The principal is very friendly and out going and the kids love her. All the teachers I have met have been exceptional teachers they know what they are doing and they do it well. I know my children have the best opportunity to learn because they are Salida Lions Pride!

Salida Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Salida Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2004
- a parent
My daughter is one of the magnet students at SES, meaning we chose to send her there even though the school is not in our neighborhood. It has been nothing but a positive experience. The teachers are warm, caring, professional, enthusiastic and creative. The office people are friendly, efficient and respectful of parents and students alike. Encouraging and supporting all of this is one EXCELLENT principal! I wouldn't be surprised if she knew the name of every single student. Parent involvement at SES is encouraged and appreciated. Communication between the school and families is timely and to the point. Being a new school with a different approach has, of course, resulted in some growing pains. But there is a real 'pull together' attitude that has helped problems to be solved sooner rather than later. My grade for SES is a solid A.

Salida Elementary School 2

Posted April 06, 2004
- a parent
Overall, this school has been a great dissappointment. It is difficult to get information from them, and the communication from the school is usually sent after the subject of the communication has passed by. I have been told outright lies by personnel.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Salida Elementary School
4519 Finney Road, Salida, CA  95368
(209) 545-9394
Last modified Salida Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Salida Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top