Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lincoln Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2016
- a community member
This school has been through numerous principals in the last several years. There is a high level of dysfunction at this school that has not been resolved. I would unfortunately not recommend exposing children to the inequality that exists here.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
Lincoln School has one of the best spanish emersion programs throughout all of California! I am pleased that my youngest daughter is attending Lincoln school and striving as a fourth grader. Lincoln School is also a very desirable school here in Salinas. I definitely recommend this for various parents who are looking for a great education!


Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
I currently have a second grader at this school. The teachers are great but the class sizes are WAY TO BIG! The school staff does try it's best to be inclusive with the parents. They invest a lot in technology. I'm 100% positive that if it weren't for the HUGE CLASS SIZES, it would be one of the best schools in the county. The dual immersion curriculum is outdated (compared to other districts in California), but it's "ok". The diversity in the school is good. It appears to be almost half White and half Hispanic, and some "other". One thing that I don't like either is that they have mixed grades classes. They have a 1st/2nd grade class; and a 2nd/3rd grade class. The reason is that there supposedly isn't enough students to complete a class. Most of the students there are out of district so I don't understand why they just stop excepting out of district kids. IN SUM: My recommendations for this school is 1. REDUCE THE CLASS SIZES and 2. update the dual immersion curriculum. Other than that, good school; great staff!

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
I have only one child attending this school so far. The principal is excellent and the teachers I know care about the students and their success. I think the Dual-immersion program is great, it provides students with the opportunity to become bi-lingual and bi-literate, which will surely help them succeed later in life. I'm sure the English only program is good too, I just don't have any experience with it. The school takes bullying very seriously, and addresses behavior problems with the children. We are very happy at Lincoln, and choose to attend this school over other schools with a higher test score rating, because of the Dual-immersion program.

Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Sweet school with lots of charm and character. The principal is very kind and warm. The best part is the dual immersion program. There are lots of after school activities for the kids: Spanish club, NASA, boys/girls scouts, NASA, and Mandarin club. It has before and afterschool childcare and a preschool (Spanish and English).


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
Objectively viewed, Lincoln School is a phenomenal school. Before enrolling our son In Kindergarten here, we thoroughly researched the educational options in Salinas for him. We both have graduate degrees, value education, and wanted to locate the best possible educational opportunity, private or public, available to our son. We were cautiously optomistic as the 2011-2012 school year began, as I had observed inimical views of the Dual Immersion pedagogical model from some in the school community, and because we sent our older son to private school. However, looking at all the factors, objectively, we were extremely impressed with the following at Lincoln School: the principal, teachers and staff; the innovation and commitment; the Dual Language Program; the parent involvement; the personal time, energy and financial resources that parents generously donate; the sheer number of hours the principal, teachers, and school volunteers dedicate to the school. We still cannot believe that we are not paying extra tuition for all of the educational value we are getting at Lincoln School. Lincoln School has renewed my vision of what a stellar public education can provide.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2012
- a parent
My wife and I chose for our child to attend Lincoln last year so that he could learn Spanish in the Dual Immersion Program. We are one of the many English speaking families taking part in this program. It's a little unclear where other reviewers are getting their information, not to mention how they are obtaining it. Our son is thriving in his Spanish/English studies and we excited for the new year. The enrollment in Dual Immersion has actually gone up with some existing families who were in English kindergarten actually making the switch to Immersion after seeing so many families pleased with the outcomes. We had friends on a wait list trying to enroll their child in Dual Immersion and thanks to all of the interest in the program and success after its first year, the school has added two new Immersion teachers. Even with taking families off the wait list, I understand all the classes are full again with a new list forming. I invite anyone who is genuinely interested in Lincoln to come tour the school. Even if you are not interested in Immersion, Lincoln has a great diverse staff dedicated to helping our youth grow and learn. We are proud to be part of the Lincoln Family.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2012
- a parent
We absolutely LOVE this school!!! We toured schools (private and public) throughout the county, but once we found Lincoln, we knew this was the place to be. It's a wonderful old building filled with dedicated teachers and an amazing principal. There are tons of enrichment opportunities...something for every child! We are extremely happy with our decision to attend Lincoln.


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
I think it's very important that this website provide information that is accurate, so that parents can make informed decisions based on facts. Lincoln is a great school that is comprised of an English strand and dual immersion strand. Both are thriving and doing well. The administration and teaching staff are considered to be one of the best in our area. The dual immersion program is new and faced some opposition from a few parents that perhaps were not open to the concept and it's benefits. However, the current environment is very positive and cooperative. The dual immersion program is made up of a few Spanish Speaking families, bilingual families and a majority of English speaking families. Most of the English speaking families that have chosen the dual immersion program have little or NO Spanish backgrounds. I would recommend that parents visit the school to see classrooms for English only and dual immersion and make their own decisions based on their impressions and feelings. I'm confident that regardless of the program (English or Dual Immersion), parents will not be disappointed. Lincoln has an old neighborhood charm, small community feel with a welcoming spirit.

Lincoln Elementary School 1

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
Not sure why my review was removed...but here it is again. When is first re-opened, it was a great school. Unfortunately, it has declined to the low standards of the community and the culture in Salinas. The school has made the decision to turn 1/2 of the school into a spanish only school. They used the excuse of calling it an "IMMERSION" program...but the majority of kids in the spanish only classes cannot speak English, nor can their parents...so where is the IMMERSION when you already speak the language...and ONLY that language. The parents were lied to and sold a bill of goods. This school has a 4/10 ranking for a reason. I value my kid's education above all else, and if you care at least a little bit about your children...you will send them elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln Elementary School
705 California Street, Salinas, CA  93901-4104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (831) 753-5625
Last modified Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top