Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Middle School 4

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
I am so pleased with Washington Middle School. The Staff is what makes the school. My daughter started very close to the end of year, but the whole school INCLUDING students made her feel so comfortable she fit right in. The teachers are all very interested in the students well being from personal to academics. My daughter loves this middle school. I also like the dress code. I also notice even though its a high student volume THE STAFF has an excellent hold of keeping students flowing and getting them to class. I VERY PLEASED with this school. One other thing its the parent involvement that helps this school run well. Washington Middle School is a great school for your middle school aged student to get started for High School.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year here and LOVES it! The teachers and staff have been very involved in supporting the kids to do their best. They are very proacitve in recognizing when the kids make good decisions and rewarding that. Just a note home means a lot to them. The teachers are very respectful, except for a couple that work together. One has been there over 25 years and... well, it's time to retire! They all have email addresses that parents can use to contact them. Some even offered their home and cell #'s. One of their math teachers is there everyday after school until 5pm, just to help anyone who needs it. The dances are like parties for all. You do not need to go as a couple. There is rock climbing, music, games, jump house obstical courses & food. Real fun! They're sports program is awesome too. A++


Washington Middle School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
I am a teacher at this school. Our scores are rising, we have dedicated and passionate leadership, committed and knowledgeable faculty, a hard working staff, and a supportive parents network. WMS = We Mean Success

Washington Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2010
- a parent
Washington Middel School is the best middel school in all of Salinas , but not there dress code black and white was so 2000 now it should be colors.Kids should wear what ever they want!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Washington Middle School 1

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I rate this school below average due to the administrations lack of student support. The adminstrators, the Principal and Vice Principal, are more concerned with disciplining these students than making sure these teachers are doing everything they possibly can to help students pass the Standardized Test that are taken yearly. WMS has fallen below standards for the past four years. There are great teachers at this school I will say that; but there are others that are obviously only there for a paycheck and the power trip. .


Washington Middle School 4

Posted September 06, 2009
- a student
OK, so you've probably heard some WMS horror stories,right? Well as a currant 8th grader at WMS, I'm here to straighten that all out! The first concern may be how they handle students who are struggling that was addressed in the Oct. post. Weekly progress reports are (to my knowledge) non-existant. Maybe you get those if your child is really struggling(same with scheduled conferences)? But I know that some teachers like the 7th grade social studies teacher Dr. Geary does that.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Washington Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Washington Middle School 1

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Middle School
560 Iverson Street, Salinas, CA  93901
(831) 796-7100
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top