Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brookside Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I have been very happy with Brookside for the most part. Cameron is an excellent principal. The staff is amazing and the parent involvement is incredible. My only issue involves a lack at times with differentiated instruction. Whether enrichment is needed for the accelerated student or assistance to the struggling student.

Brookside Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
We love this school! The teachers here are very dedicated and committed to our kids. The Principal, Billy Cameron, is amazing and has done a great job creating such a positive learning environment and has a great command of the school. The sense of community here is awesome and we have a lot of parent involvement in the school. We have actually met so many of our good friends here and love the down-to-earth vibe at the school. Thankfully, I don't think we have one Range Rover at the school. :) Our oldest daughter is in 5th grade and started here from the beginning and she has really loved her whole experience here. We have another daughter in 3rd grade and she is doing great. They are both learning a lot and making lot's of friends. We couldn't be happier.


Brookside Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of two children attending Brookside and aside from the principal turnover, we are very happy with the school and education it provides us. The things I look for in a school for our kids is teachers who care about their kids and teaching skills, community involvement, and constant improvement and from my involvement thus far have all been met.

Brookside Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a community member
I went to brookside about 6 years ago now and am still using what i learned from my truly fantastic teachers today in high school. The majority of the students i went to elementary school with are extremely good students now and are in the advanced classes. Brookside prepared me well for middle school and high school as well, and i highly recommend it to any parent looking for a school for their child. Parents at brookside are very involved, the teachers are great, and despite what the other reviews say, brookside is very welcoming.

Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Upper Brookside School is a good fit for a mainstream learner. Out of the box learners do not seem to be tolerated too well at this school. I was not happy with the services for my child with learning differences. This is a very homogeneous school. The school prides itself on its test scores but I think there is not much heart here. The parents are very involved. There are some good teachers but there are also some bad apples.


Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
We love our sons teacher, but are disappointed in the general academic expectations. There has been no reciprocity among parents as far as playdates and I feel a lack of community here. Our son will not be returning next year.

Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
Brookside has many talented, wonderful teachers. However, if you are not fortunate enough to get one of these teachers ( or realistically, not well enough connected to arrange for your child to get one) Brookside can be a difficult place to be. Expect any concern to be met with the phrase, "With state budget cuts, these things happen." Lack of funding is the norm in CA public schools. It does not give teachers carte blanche to treat children in ANY matter they chose because they don't have more help in the classroom. Top administrator is clearly over her head in her new role. My children will not be returning next year.

Brookside Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
It's simple. My son is happy everyday after school and I'm thrilled at all of the new information he comes home with daily!


Brookside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Brookiside is an amazing community of parents and staff that create a school dedicated to the whole child!

Brookside Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
Brookside is a great school, teachers are great, the whole school staff are very nice, this is my second time around with our second child, she loves going to kindergarten. The teachers are very involved with the students, the parents are involved as well which is great and the kids enjoy to see their parents at their class room helping out, we just really like brookside, this is one of the best school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookside Elementary School
116 Butterfield Road, San Anselmo, CA  94960-1562
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (415) 453-2948
Last modified Brookside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top