Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Anselm School

Private | K-8 | 270 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Anselmo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $657,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

The best education, community, and private high school preparation in Marin. I highly recommend this fantastic school to anyone looking for the right place to send their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

St. Anselm School is the jewel of the Ross Valley. The students are well prepared for highschool and have an outstanding reputation among the private schools in the Bay Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

I can't thank the Middle School teachers at St. Anselm enough for the amazing experience my son has had since transferring there after a year in public middle school. He loves school, his friends, his teachers and has truly flourished since we joined the St. Anselm community. My husband and I are so thrilled and strongly encourage other families to look at St. Anselm !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

A wonderful community of learning with inspiring teachers, strong administrators, and active parents! I'd recommend this school to any parent looking for strong academics and a great all-around experience for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

Probably the best parish school in Marin County. Constantly leeds both public and private schools in test score while developing a well rounded child. Parent involvement is encouraged and there are numerous ways to be involved. From volunteering as a CYO coach, sitting on the Advisory board or just showing up for the dad's boosters events, there is something for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

I would steer anyone from sending their child to this school. The Christian Mission statement and the actual practices of this school administration are outright frightening. Children are not spoken to with respect when adults are not around, and you would have to be pretty hard up to choose this school when there are so many other wonderful choices to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

St. Anselm's has a very high level of parent involvement, but I have to agree with the parent who first brought up the "in group." Our children attended St. Anselm's for three years before we changed schools. While many of the parents - mostly the new families - were extremely nice, there was definitely a very exclusive clique of parents who go beyond being unwelcoming to the point of being outright rude. These pretentious (with no reason to be), leisure-suit-wearing, ladies who lunch ruined the entire school experience for us. We were also disappointed in the academics, feeling that our children actually regressed in the years they were there. Those who love St. Anselm's really love it. But it's not for everyone. I would recommend getting a good feel for who the parents would be in your child(ren)'s class(es) before making any decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

If you're open to faith and value based education, you're not going to find a better, more honest, K-8 school. Hand over your child for nine years and you'll cry with delight when you see the poised, engaged teenager at the end. The academic standards here are high, if children are in over their head, there is help but, if you care that your child be a straight A student, this may not be the place because the emphasis is on the 'whole child'. Doing well means more than getting good grades and, the school lives and breathes this philosophy daily. My children love the school and their teachers. This isn't the place for the uninvolved parent or parent who feels they should be able to tell the teacher what to do. It isn't for everyone...just a lucky few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I was surprised to read to review from the parent that mentioned the 'In Group.' Having started at another school, and joining St. Anselm four years ago, my 3 children, my husband & I couldn't be happier. It seems that no one is EVER happy. This is a small school with a tremendous parent body. I've never had such great friends, as the ones I've met @ St. Anselm's. If you're a Catholic, you are lucky to have this School as an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

I know there are lots of parents who are really involved at St. Anselm, but if you're not 'in the group' then you'll definitely feel like an outsider at times. The other parents are friendly, but we found that invitations for after-school get-togethers and even birthday parties were limited to those who were already 'in the group'. The academic side of things is quite good, although we were disappointed that the 1st grade teacher did not send regular homework. Just a few minutes a night at this age is great prep work for the 'real' homework kids get as they progress through school. Her philosophy is that there are enough hours during the school day to get everything done. We disagree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

Some of the teachers have been at it for a good while. Others are very dedicated to their students. Over the course of our tenure it has been inconsistent. The school environment is well controlled. Fairly typical Catholic grammer school with one class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

This is a wonderful K-8 Catholic School. There is one class per grade, and the school has a nice small school feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 26%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Black 0% 6%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl Giurlani
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Belle Avenue
San Anselmo, CA 94960
Phone: (415) 454-8667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Hill School
San Anselmo, CA




Oak Hill School
San Anselmo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT