Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
After my special needs kid had a horrible experience at another school transferring her to hillside was our best bet to give her the education and treatment she deserved and needed. And from day one she's just been making progress. Were very lucky that the teachers do their jobs and put effort into giving my kid the support and guidance she needs. Mrs. pulgehyi and the other kinder teachers take the cake. They are making the difference in my kids school experience and she looks forward to everyday.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
Excellent leadership, teachers, and academic programs. We know there is no better school in San Bernardino.


Hillside Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
I have to agree with everyone else. Hillside elementary is very lucky to have such an acceptional group of staff. I was privaleged to have the teacher in C-3 teach my daughter for her kindergarten year. Not only was she an exceptional and hardworking teacher but is overall a wonderful and caring person. Thank you C-3 kindergarten teacher for starting of my childs elementary academic school year so exceptionally!

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a teacher
I have worked at many schools, and I have to say that the teachers and staff are a cut above the rest. The leadership of the principal is exceptional! Never have I seen a principal so skilled at balancing keeping her staff happy and feeling supported AND making sure the parents feel important and needed. I am proud to be apart of the Hillside team and proud to be led by such a positive leader.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2012
- a teacher
Love this school for many reasons: caring, responsive leadership, talented hard working teachers, staff who go beyond their required duties, and parents who care. This school is San Bernardino's prize.


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
My child is in C-3, and I am so honored my child is given this exceptional teacher. My other children have had her as a teacher in the previous years, so I can honestly say any child is lucky to have a teacher as dedicated as her! She is THE BEST and she shows it to the children through her utmost devotion and dedication to each child, not only for their education but their safety and well being! Her students go on to perform at the highest standards at the best school in the district. If anyone is lucky enough to have a child in her class they should try to devote as much time and effort as this teacher does for each student she has:)

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in the classroom of C-3. I feel very fortunate to have such a caring teacher for my daughter. My daughter is eager to get to class everyday. I love that she greets the students every morning and makes sure my daughter along with the rest of the class are dismissed safely to their parent. I never worry about my daughter's safety when she is at school. I thank the teacher in C-3 for everything she does!

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a community member
The Teacher in C3 is an amazing teacher. She goes out of the way to make sure she meets the needs of each and every one her students. She cares for her kinder students and puts their safety first each and every day!


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a community member
The Teacher in C3 is a very amazing individual. I personally had her as a teacher about six years ago. She is someone who makes her students a priority and she always has there best interest in mind. I remember always being eager to go to school, because of the wonderful teacher she was and the safe environment she created not just for me but for everyone of my classmates. Any children who have her as a teacher are some of the luckiest kids on earth. You won't find a more motivated and responsible teacher than her. She's the best of the best!

Hillside Elementary School 4

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at Hillside since Kinder in the magnet program, and I brought my son over to Hillside for his 5th grade year. I have seen the difference between our home school and Hillside and I love it. They are a school who cares. The new Principal is amazing, I know she really cares for the kids and her and the VP are so willing to work with us if there is a need. The teachers are a cut above our last school. I like MOST of the ladies in the office as well, but nobodies perfect. There are some good things and things that need to be worked on in every school, but over all I am very satisfied with Hillside. I am glad my kids go there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillside Elementary School
4975 North Mayfield Avenue, San Bernardino, CA  92407-3130
(909) 881-8264
Last modified Hillside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. Top