Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richardson PREP HI Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 620 students

Our school is best known for excellence in academics and the arts.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2009

I have found most of the teachers at Richardson to be prima donnas. They expect the kids to be perfect and not be normal kids who make normal mistakes growing up. I am glad that my child goes to Richardson, since all of the children seem to be good kids and I feel that my child is at a safe school. However, I do feel that the grading practices are very strict. This year there is a new principal and even dress code seems stricter than previously. I am saying all of this to warn parents that they need to be ready to really be involved in their child's education and expect a lot of homework (2-3 hours a night). I do feel that my child will be well prepared for high school when she finishes at Richardson Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I am a student a rph and i love every minute of it. I am currently an eighth grader andbsad to leave rph for arroyo but remember...once a tiger always a tiger
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

I graduated from rph in 05 I loved everyday I spent there. I am a senior in hs this year, and as I look back on the 3 years I spent at rph, I realize that those were some of the best years of my life. Thanks rph for helping me realize my potential. Now I am going off to college next year to get a degree in Forensics Anthropology, and I truly believe that rph is responsible to help me realize how much I am capable of doing when I put my mind to it.


Posted August 18, 2008

I just ended my three years at RPH. I loved it. It's an amazing experience. All the kids and teachers support eachother and they're really nice people. This school is a little tough but if you try, you can make it through. I love this school and I'll always remember my experiences at RPH.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I started this school in January of '08. Even though I started late I recieved a bundle of support and help from teachers and fellow peers. Even though there is a challenge to get into the school it is worth the wait. At my old school I was failing and my highest grade was a C. But at RPH my lowest grade is a C. The vibe is excellence. There is no drama or distraction what-so-ever. This is a great school !! I will take everything I learned here throughout my entire life
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

This is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

This is the best school ever! I've been going here for this school year and I'm having the time of my life
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

This is an excellent school! My son has learned great skills in music and is now on the city honor band. He didn't even play 2 yrs ago. It is a commitment but worth it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

If you're not a stay at home parent I would not recommend this school. My child had received around 75 math problems along with the other subjects, to be completed in one evening. My child had to be taught math at home. She never could do her homework based on the teachers instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I go to the school it is so amazing. I love it the kids are nice and so are the teachers. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

I have only been at this school for a couple of weeks. This school is a great experience because it is a more challenging school. I wish I could stay here forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

RPH is an amazing place to work from top to bottom. The administration is supportive of teachers; the teachers go above and beyond what is required of them; the students are dedicated and hard-working; and all additional staff members play an important role in ensuring that the RPH family functions properly. It is a unique place, like no other, and it is an honor, joy, and privilege to teach at such a wonderful place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2007

Richardson is a great school. My daughter went there for two years and she loved it. The music program is ABOVE EXCELLENT. The staff is very dedicated and treats you with the upmost respect. The campus is clean and the school is VERY up to date in technology.The principal is great and any parent should feel blessed that their child be allowed to attend this very prestigious school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I personally think that Richardson PREP HI is one of the best schools in the district of San Bernardino. Although I had struggled in my first few months here at Richardson, many encouraging teachers and friends helped me get through. Webgrader has helped me a lot. I always checked on my grades, and if I wasn't to satisfied with a grade I always new what to work on. Now as an 8th grader-to-be, I am proud to have been able to survie two years at Richardson Prep Hi, and I look forward to having to attend 8th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2007

I think Richardson is a terrific school. My son really struggled with his work for the first month or two but now he is doing great! The after school program (CAPS) has really helped him to concentrate and understand his homework. He is maintaining A's and B's, and is also on the school softball team. He loves it. I love Webgrader. I like to be able to check the progress of my son online, at my convenience. I have two younger children that I will try my best to get into Richardson. I will not have them attend any other middle school here in San Bernardino. I believe Richardson is the best! A very big thanks to the staff at Richardson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

Personally I believe that Richardson is one of the best schools in the district of San Bernardino. Richardson's goal is to aim at all the students not just a few. Those students who ask for help will surely recieve it from the schools ready and willing teachers. Two of my kids have gone to Richardson and all year long all I have heard is good review from my children and their teachers. One very good thing I would like to take in account is that you have the ability to see your child grades every month unlike most middle school in San Bernardino. This helps inform, and more importantly, prepare your child for the coming month so that can make sure that they do not slack off. Furthermore, as an add on the seeing your childs grade every month you can also check your child's grades online with webgrader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

Richardson prep is a great school for the academics. They teach the kids to be responsible. What I really like is the online - internet webgrader system. You can check your childs progress at any time, any day and see exactly what assignments are due and what grade your child received on each assignment as well as how they are doing overall in each class. It is a great school - if you are able to get into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

This is a wonderful school that my child has improved much in. This school makes you feel like your all family! They have excellent staff and awsome students! They even have a after school jazz band!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My son attended 3 years at Richardson. This was an excellent school. He is more prepared for high school academics than most. He enjoyed Art and Science a great deal. However, he found math to be challenging. I would say the one thing my son appreciated the most was being able to go to a teacher for help, most of the time, without feeling, put off or feeling unintelligent for asking any questions. He maintained an A - B average thoughout this entire year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

I love the school I'm in. It sets many goals for me. All the seventh grade teachers are awsome.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

916

Change from
2012 to 2013

-23

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

916

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-23

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females84%
Males82%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate79%
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state86%

Math

All Students81%
Females79%
Males83%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate86%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females94%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females88%
Males87%
African American100%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state95%

Math

All Students96%
Females95%
Males97%
African American95%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate98%
Parent education - high school graduate89%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students68%
Females67%
Males70%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state72%

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females74%
Males76%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state89%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Females91%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females56%
Males80%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Science

All Students80%
Females74%
Males89%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
White 10%
Black 9%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title I School of Achievement (2012)
  • California Business of Education Excellence Honor Roll Schoo (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Polynesian
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After School Spanish Club
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Natalie Raymundo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (909) 383-0368

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • After School Spanish Club
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • YMCA - after school partner
  • San Bernardino Valley College Science Department
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Black History Bee
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: Polynesian
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Spelling Bee
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
230
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
500
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

455 South K Street
San Bernardino, CA 92410
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 388-6438

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Urbita Elementary School
San Bernardino, CA





Hardy Brown College Prep
San Bernardino, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT