Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Rosary Academy

Private | K-8 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Bernardino

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

I know the person who wrote the review in February 2011. My daughter was also in the preschool in the same classroom. In all fairness, what that parent didn't write is that the preschool was brand new and the Preschool teacher and Principal ran the program. The school secretary ran the Kindergarten - 8th grade program. She didn't have anything to do with the Preschool so it makes alot of sense that she couldn't answer any questions about it. Would you rather she just make up stuff so you would be happy, or would you rather know the right answer by calling back when the person you need to talk to is available?? I thought so... Anyway the post makes the school sound bad when it is really a great place for any child to attend school. The parent who wrote the review back in February 2011 isn't at the school anymore and it is fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I have to TOTALLY DISAGREE with the post made on February 17, 2011 about the school secretary. Mrs. K is the MOST INFORMATIVE person on campus. In fact, most people think SHE is the principal because whenever you ask the principal anything, she says "let me ask Shirley and get back with you". That person who wrote that review is CRAZY!!!!! HRA wouldn't operate with Shirley and everything she does for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

my daughter goes to the preschool. The preschool teachers and aides are very nice and are always professional. My daughter is very happy there. The school secretary/receptionist is not very helpful, she makes a point to tell you she doesn't handle certain things or doesn't know the answer to your questions without any effort to follow up...you are instructed to just call back. If you direct your questions directly to the teacher and the principal you will have no problem and find everyone else quite helpful and pleasant. All of the parents we have interacted with seem very nice and genuinely supportive of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

i went to hra for 3 years and loved it. It has been a while, but the spirit is still there. I learned perfect grammar and hope others will do the same. Check your subject verb agreement if you are going to set an example in an attempt to communicate! Thank you Sister Michelle!


Posted May 20, 2010

I have two daughter that go to HRA. We've been with the school for 2 years now and I love it! We love the staff here and the other families. We love this school so much we've moved closer & even changed jobs so we could be closer and stay involved with school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

My son is now starting his 8th Grade year, and has been here since Kindergarten. As with any school, there have been ups and downs, but the current Principal is doing an outstanding job. There is a lot of parent involvement, 3 tuition plans allow for lower tuition payments in exchange for service hours and fundraiser participation. Academics are outstanding. The school's students, as a whole, have consistently scored higher on standardized tests than almost all public and private schools in the area. There are student government, athletics, and cheerleading for those interested, but no other clubs/organizations. We wish there were a lot more instruction in computer science and use of technology, as computers are a basic tool of business and daily life these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 52%
Two or more races 25% 3%
White 9% 26%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryll Austin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2620 North Arrowhead Avenue
San Bernardino, CA 92405
Phone: (909) 886-1088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

George Brown Jr. Elementary
San Bernardino, CA


Dikaios Christian Academy
San Bernardino, CA


Wilson Elementary School
San Bernardino, CA


Valley Christian Academy
San Bernardino, CA


Clare Cherry School
San Bernardino, CA


Soar Charter Academy
San Bernardino, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT