Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capuchino High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers, very fresh staff, nothe burnt out, they really make themselves available to students

Capuchino High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Especially in the avid and rigorous ib program, students are encouraged to excel and take college courses as early as 11th grade ,


Capuchino High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Ms Shanks and the rest of the staff demonstrate high integrity every day, there is an expectation of the students to bring their best every day

Capuchino High School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Great school, campus is beautiful, teachers are young and enthusiastic including the principal, awesome step to college program (AVID), ib baccalaureate courses, readily available tutoring, friendly, open, accepting atmosphere,good ethnic mix, absolutely love it, very happy to have my kid here

Capuchino High School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Great Academics! Great every thing! It is great looking as well. Going here over schools like burlingame And mills is great sfter there is IB! Go here!


Capuchino High School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
Some of the teachers are really devoted, but others are very critical and hostile. There is a definitely a lack of cohesiveness and school spirit among both the staff and students as well. It is obvious as well that lower academic and behavior standards are accepted at Capuchino than the other schools in the district. In the end, most of Capuchino's problems (and negative reputation) can be attributed to the poor quality of leadership in the administration.

Capuchino High School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
It's a nice campus, and the IB program is solid. Our family's experiences with classes outside of IB have been poor. Administration don't seem sincere in terms of listening to concerns/ideas or in their follow-through (or lack thereof).

Capuchino High School 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a community member
Capuchino High School This a great school. Health does not involve anything to do with the bible as a comment previously mentioned. The teachers here are really helpful and they take the time to help the student comprehend the subject as long the student is willing to learn. The reputation Capuchino has bee misunderstood. Capuchino is a great school not only because its an IB school, but because of the environment it has to offer. It has diversity and it is a life learning experience. It is a place of prosperity, it makes the student and the parent feel welcomed.


Capuchino High School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
I am a very satisfied parent of two Cap graduates class of 2006 and 2011. I found the staff to be extremely capable, hardworking and accommodating to my very different students' needs. The leadership program creates an extremely exciting and spirited atmosphere that is Cap's greatest strength. My girls really LOVED coming to school every day. A large A+ goes to Principal Shamar Shanks who expects student's to bring their best every day and is willing to help them one on one if they ask. My students always received attention and help from their caring teachers and supportive counselors. The IB diploma program was extremely rigorous yet effectively prepared our student for Boston College where she is currently a sophomore who feels indebted to her principal, counselors, teachers and staff for preparing her to work hard and earn success. I have one more child and look forward to four more years at Capuchino High School!

Capuchino High School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a community member
I am a Cap alumni of the past graduating class, 2012. I have to say many people have a bad presumption of Cap, but unless you actually go to the school you'll realize this is the best high school in the district. The teachers are amazing! If you need help they will aid you, if you care for your grades then they will make the time for you. The administration are tough because they want the best learning environment possible, which is reasonable. I loved Cap, made many new friends, I have strong bonds with me teachers who led me to success. The IB program is great and rigorous, I actually completed the full diploma program, was the captain of the basketball team, did swimming and joined clubs! The atmosphere is wonderful this school has prepared me for my future. Now I attend UC Berkeley as an undergrad and will continue to thank Cap for everything it has done for me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capuchino High School
1501 Magnolia Drive, San Bruno, CA  94066-5451
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (650) 558-2799
Last modified Capuchino High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top