Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brittan Acres Elementary School 4

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers and staff at BA are absolutely amazing. I am extremely grateful for their level of dedication to providing a positive and nurturing learning environment. The parents leave much to be desired though, especially the entitled PTA moms who think they get special privileges from the dozen cookies they baked. Expect 3-4 altercations per year from those that have lost track of why we're here in the first place.

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
BA is a great school! My kids love going here. We have a wonderful principal and a great community! So lucky to be going to BA!


Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
BA is the BEST!!!! We have been going to BA for Transitional K, K and Preschool. The teachers are amazing, caring, wonderful and Mr. Triska and Cathy Eitel are so responsive, dedicated and really focused on quality care of our kids. I feel very lucky to be at BA and am sad that it only goes to 3rd grade (or will by the time my kids are ready to move on to Central).

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Love love love BA!!! How is it possible that Mr. Triska has always a smile on his face??? Always! He is the best! Mrs. Eitel is another angel, always helpful and super nice. All the teachers, facility, programs are excellent. We looked at private schools....why??? Brittan Acres is the best school!

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Mr. Triska and Mrs. Eitel, they are a super team running the school. Mr. Triska is loved by everyone at school. I help with my daughter's class event, and also work as a PTA member. I get to know many kids through the events and the weekly volunteering. The kids at BA are great. Thanks to all the parents/grandparents, and the staff of BA.


Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school, from the principal, Mr. Triska, to Mrs. Eitel, to every staff member and parent. Had checked out many private schools and Brittan Acres surpasses almost all of them, in terms of education and all round development of the child. Very fortunate to be in this school. Not to mention my kids are happy to go to school every day!

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
We are truly lucky to have our kids in this wonderful school. Every parent, teacher and of course, the principal, Mr. Triska, is fantastic! Mr. Triska, works tirelessly, continously making BA such a wonderful experience. His postive energy, attention to every possible detail, and responsiveness, while continously encouraging kids to achieve their goals, is truly amazing. My kids transitioned at the end of the school year!They blossomed due to the wonderful BA community.

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
We moved to San Carlos from a nearby city a few years ago. My daughter was switched mid-year to Brittan Acres. I am so awed and impressed with the level of professionalism from Mr Triska and the staff as well as the dedicated parents. Brittan Acres has such a wonderful impact on my daughter and her education. She had made wonderful friends and her learning has skyrocketed! At our old school we had some problems with bullies & the lack of response from both teachers & principal. There was one small incident at Brittan Acres and both my daughter's teacher and Mr Triska were very involved and we were very satisfied with his handling of the situation. We have had absolutely no problems since. We are so delighted that we made the decision to move to San Carlos and that my daughter is at Brittan Acres.


Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
It's unfortunate that some of the reviews from a few years back are reducing the average rating because THIS SCHOOL IS EXCEPTIONAL! We moved from New York mid-year, and we have been so pleased at the quality of teachers, the passion and involvement of Principal Triska, and the support of the community overall, both in terms of hours and dollars. We have tried both private city schools and nurturing country schools, and we are so pleased that Brittan Acres marries the best of both - nurture with rigor, enrichment with traditional education, and community engagement with goal orientation.

Brittan Acres Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school! This is our 4th year at BA and we have two kids there. Aside from one year, the teachers have been EXCELLENT. Mr. Triska is truly amazing -- I don't think that we could ask for a better principal. Everyone knows that a school is truly run by its secretary, and Cathy Eitel is the BEST (as evidenced by a recent award that she received for the best school secretary in the county.) The parent involvement at BA is very strong and make a huge impact. Test scores are a bit lower b/c of a district decision to move the special needs kids to BA -- it's good for the kids and the lower scores don't mean anything related to actual student performance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brittan Acres Elementary School
2000 Belle Avenue, San Carlos, CA  94070-3730
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (650) 508-7307
Last modified Brittan Acres Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top