Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Fatima Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 210 students

Our school is best known for our Catholic identity and "family" atmosphere.

 
 

Living in San Clemente

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 11, 2011

We are delighted that you are considering Our Lady of Fatima Parish School for your son or daughter. Our mission is to nurture individuals to discover their God-given gifts, to encourage them to use these gifts in the service of others, and to empower them to be models of integrity and peacemakers who work for justice. We parents, school staff, and parish community collaborate in striving for excellence in the education of our children. We expect students who graduate from OLF Parish School to be Christ-like and faith-filled, competent and confident, honest and respectful, appreciative and creative, and cooperative and healthy. We look forward to working together with you in helping your child grow toward fulfilling these goals. Please don t hesitate to call me if you have any questions. I look forward to being of any assistance I can during this exciting stage in your child s school life. Sincerely, Julie L. Tipton Principal

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2013

Our Lady of Fatima Parish School is a 21st Century Learning community founded in 1965 that has educated students in South Orange County for nearly 50 years. Nestled among the rolling hills of San Clemente, the school is fully accredited and staffed by an outstanding team of nurturing and dedicated teachers. The campus offers a welcoming learning environment for all students that pervades on the value of family. OLF is a dynamic, technology-driven institution of learning that prides itself on academic rigor and high student expectations that empowers today s children to promote tomorrow s leaders. OLF s students are committed learners who demonstrate excellence in academic expectations, technology acquisition, and service to their community. The cross-curricular/cross-cultural approach to instruction gives students differentiated opportunities to explore, investigate and demonstrate understanding by means of a hands-on approach to learning. Academic rigor aligned with innovative electives creates faith-filled student gains a love for life-long learning, becomes an effective communicator and a globally responsible citizen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2013

Our son has been at Our Lady of Fatima Parish School since Kindergarten. He is now in 5th grade. We truly feel OLF is a part of our family. The approach to teaching the students to be courteous, kind and caring Catholics is what sets OLF apart. We have many friends that have their children at OLF and each one says the same thing, they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School is the hidden treasure by the sea. I have had both of my children attend OLF since Kindergarten and now my oldest is in college graduating last year from Jserra. My children have loved learning and attending this small loving school. You should be aware that this school is small and able to attend to your child needs with small classroom sizes. My children have faith and reflects on their actions on a daily basis. The teachers are wonderful and attentive. What I like most is the family environment that is here. I have beautiful kind hearted friends that I extend to after school hours and cherish for life. I recommend OLF to you and your family. Go and visit the school and you will understand who we are and get the same feelings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I can't imagine being at any other school. I always knew there was a reason we switched to Fatima 2 weeks before Kindergarten started for my daughter 5 years ago. And the affirmations just keep coming. The latest being the constant love and support the entire student body, the staff and the families have shown our family after my daughter experienced a traumatic injury resulting in having to withdrawal from school for now. They keep her present in their hearts and prayers and make every attempt to make her feel included in school activities. They have also rallied around my younger daughter ( 2nd grader) with love and support as well. God had a plan for us to be in this little pearl in the ocean we call OLF.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Our Lady of Fatima School Teachers and parents are amazing. I walked on to this campus 11 years ago when I was invited to Special Persons Day. I was treated with such kindness it felt as if it was Family. When I went home I told my husband of how it was and that if we had children I would want them to attend OLF. Well a year later we had our son and before he turned 2 we moved from San Diego County to San Clemente so our son could go to OLF. He is now in 5th grade. We have a wonderful new Principal, Mrs. Joanne Williams, who we love. We also have Mrs. Clark, which there are not enough words to say just what she means to all of us at Our Lady of Fatima.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

We absolutely LOVE Our Lady of Fatima. When we relocated we knew we wanted our daughter to attend a Catholic school just as our son did. We were pleasantly surprised the instant we met Cindy Clark. She greeted us with open arms and made us feel welcome. Our daughter started in kindergarten and is currently in 5th grade. I have all of the confidence that she is getting a quality education taught by teachers who are loving and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

This school is good but the warm christian atmosphere outshines the academics and quality of teachers. My son was primarly taught by a teachers assistant and I have come to know that the art program was taught by parents Who are not teachers. There is a new principal that favors certain Families according to the amount of money they donate. Some of the teachers are not concerned with one on one teaching and my son also had experienced bullying to which was allowed to continue despite numerous efforts to communicate to teachers and the unconcerned principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

I wanted to respond to the post of the "large class size." The kindergarten is made up of the parochial age cut off and the public school age cutoff. This year we had 29 children, but we had two full time wonderful teachers and a full time aid. The ratio then is about 9 to 1. My daughter came from a preschool where she had been for 3 years. The transition was difficult but she was cared for and loved and made to feel secure. As an OLF alumni, I feel that the school has grown is so many positive ways and is a warm and faith-filled environment. In addition, I am extremely pleased with her academic growth. There is a sense of community at OLF and I look foward to our upcoming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I have been both a student and now parent at Our Lady of Fatima Parish School. As a parent, there aren't sufficient words to express how amazing our journey through elementary school has been. We presently have sixth and eighth grade students at OLF and not only are they excelling academically, but spiritually and as wonderful little people. I am constantly amazed at the depth of my children's education, the level of coordination in the curriculum and most importantly, how responsive the school has been to concerns expressed by parents. My children are both testing substantially above their grade level, and my oldest recently placed in 90+ percentile for the High School Placement Exam. Finally, as a parent the sense of family and community at Our Lady of Fatima Parish School is even stronger now than 30+ years ago when I was a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

A hidden gem. Small, careing and safe. Great Teachers and Administration. Classrooms older but well taken care of and new items, e.g. Air Conditioning, Science Room, Computers, etc, added. Students and Parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

This is a great school! We have been at OLF for 5 years and can say that the community is wonderful. Every family feels welcomed and every staff member knows each child personally. I am relieved to have such a safe and warm environment for my child to learn in everyday. Strong academics, faith and character are of the utmost importance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Warm, friendly faith-filled environment. Jr. High curriculum and teachers are amazing. The students are challenged and thoroughly prepared for high school, private or public. My teenager has thrived in this atmosphere. I feel she is receiving a strong moral and faith foundation. Great class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers are terrific. They teach life long learning skills. I feel that OLF is a safe and secure environment for my children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The parent involvement on campus is very welcoming. The teachers are always willing to take a moment and speak with you, even prior to class beginning. It's a very friendly atmosphere and because of it's small class size and one class per grade everyone gets to know one another
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Small community school where everyone knows and cares about each other. The teachers are great and always willing to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great principle, Mrs. Tipton, who cares about her kids and wonderful teachers who are supportive and loving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I have three children at OLF. Our oldest has always done well. Our middle child is not challenged at all. Our youngest needs remedial help (which an IEP cannot provide there) and unfortunately is being left behind. The culture is very warm and accepting, however, I feel that grades 6-8 could be more rigorous. In the younger grades, class sizes of 30+ is way too large and unfortunately, some kids slip by (like mine). The teachers are very kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

We love this school and always have. The warm, caring environment allows each child to be known personally by the entire school community. Academics, enrichment, and student support are outstanding. Communication is excellent; there is a weekly newsletter, a monthly calendar, and wonderful website allowing us to keep up to date. The entire staff is welcoming and happy to help any child who may need additional support. We feel so very lucky to be part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

Our family has been with OLF for over 3 years now. I must say that the school overall has an uncommonly warm and welcoming spirit about it. It is a faithfilled environment where the children have daily prayers, weekly Mass and where they practice traditional Catholic devotions/ceremonies with reverence (e.g. rosary, crowning of Mary, blessing of the animals, junior high retreats etc.). The teaching staff is made up of kind, intelligent and experienced teachers. There is an inclusion program, an advanced math program, music, art, technology, Spanish K-8th, jr. high electives, Christmas/Passion plays & Academic Decathlon program. The school participates in overnight programs such as the Pilgrim trip (in Dana Point)for 4th graders, retreats for 5th, 6th and 7th grades, and Washington D.C. for 8th graders. The small school environment allows students to be very active in sports, student council, peace patrol, altar serving / readers, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Not only does this school have a high quality academic program, the teachers who implement it our top notch. They have a wonderful art program, a music program available to grades 4 and up and a variety of sports. I am amazed at the number of dedicated parents at this school. There is a a volunteer component as part of enrollment but I see many parents go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Joanne Williams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • After School Study Skills
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses for events / field trips
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orange
  • FAM
  • San Clemente Chamber of Commerce
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Our Savior Lutheran School
San Clemente Presbyterian PreSchool
La Cristianita PreSchool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
J. Serra High School
Santa Margarita Catholic High School
San Clemente High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 La Esperanza
San Clemente, CA 92672
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 492-7320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT