Advertisement
Advertisement

Balboa City School

Private | K-12 | 100 students

college preparation, small classes, computers, multimedia, gaming

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $326,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2010

I believe they have helped my grandson do better.


Posted April 26, 2010

My son has Autism, and this school has not only helped him cope, but we are now thriving. The program they offer is well rounded and complete. The staff is educated and they work exceptionally well with the developmentally disabled population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Our son, 12 years old, has ADHD and did not do well in the public scchools. He could do the academic work but was subject to a lot of bullying because of his adhd. It reached a critical situation. At Balboa, as he said himself, he feels content, he is doing about the same academeically but is not subject to the bullying and teasing that occurred at the public school. We have a kid that is very happy these days and is doing well academically also. In the public shools We were lucky to get a response from his teachers for our emails. At Balboa the teachers are very good at keeping you up to date with what is happening and respond very quickly to your emails. We also enjoy the fact that they involve the kids in the community. Instead of field trips to a movie, they take the kids to a retirement community center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Why do you love Balboa City School?My son is bipolar and has several learning disabilities. Before he came to Balboa City School the public school had written him off as 'unteachable'. thanks to the hard work and dedication of the teachers at BCS my son is now on his way to finishing high school and training to be a chef. They were willing to take a chance on him when no one else would and we are forever grateful for their dedication to helping special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is a community of supportive kids toward each other, teaching is done to the highest level, kids can race ahead when they are ready. The school can react very quickly to individual needs, talents and interests. It does not have the institutional feel to it. With a closed but unifying court yard it creates a sense of freedom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

We love the small class size, the attentive staff, and the availability of counselors throughout the school day. Our child feels so much more comfortable there than in the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Balboa School has made an incredible change in my daughters life. Without them she would be a very lost lonely soul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Balboa School is the best environment for my son. He gets the support he needs and his grades are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Balboa City School has provided a wonderful educational and social environment for my daughter. She is developing into a well rounded and gifted student with many friends. This school has changed her life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school has the most trained and understanding staff who are truly capable of accommodating my special son!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

This school is a Godsend for twice exceptionally gifted students who don't fit in the 'normal' school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

They work very hard to prepare our children for successful, productive lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

This school works with special children and does a very good job. It has very small class sizes and yet still has a full curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

balboa City School is a school for bright kids who learn out of the box from the traditional ways of learning. In the 6 months my daughter went there, she is happier, more cooperative, and more empathetic with others than she ever has been. School starts in about two weeks and she is eagarly looking foward for school to start. If you are a parent of a child who may be left or right of center, and is often misunderstood, than I'd encourage you to look into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

For children who dance to the beat of a different drummer, this is the place! If you don't like the chaos of the public schools, the violence, teachers who don't know how to spell, the overcrowded classrooms and the disrespect, then this might be the place for you. Creativity is fully supported with so many opportunities to excel and such a variety of options...the sky's the limit. Dr. Parker has options for every child to excel. My daughter hated school and continually dreaded going. When we visited Balboa and Dr. Parker said, 'Give her a week here and I bet she'll feel differently about it', he was so right!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

This school is wonderful for children who are not on the straight and narrow path we, as parents, would like to see them on. The school handles social anxiety, immaturity, and non-violent emotional disorders incredibly well. Not for the drug abusing tween or teen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

The lower school teachers are good but quantity and quality of counseling and OT support is very problematic. The high staff turnover (my child had three counsellors in 2 years) is a problem and there is also a considerable turnover in the student population. The scheduling of parent-teacher conferences and arrival of progress reports is very haphazard and the school leadership is very inconsistant. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Our son has made more progress in less than one term than what he did all of the previous school year. Most importantly, he finally likes school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

This school is awesome! My child has learned more in 3 months than she learned in 3 years. The staff takes the time to teach our kids alternative methods of learning concepts we felt couldn't be accomplished and the low teacher-student ratio is part of this success. My child is more confident, is learning and has made great friendships. Teacher and Parent support is wonderful. The staff goes the extra mile to help your child succeed and feel like a part of our community. Hats off to Balboa City School for giving our family hope. Evelyn, Lower School Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I thought this school promised to help a certain type of child, yet gave up when there was real effort involved. Not that the administration didn't want to...it just didn't seem they were given the tools or resources to truly make a difference. The extracurricular activities, as exotic as they may sound, are not offered to every student (from experience). It has potential, if it is only steered in the right direction. Other parents have voiced satisfaction with the upper school experience. But the lower school just hasn't had the same success and feedback. The staff is very nice. But it just isn't enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Two or more races 12%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2011)
Colleges most students attend after graduation university of California
California State College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (619) 295-8886

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
university of California
California State College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Hawthorn Street
San Diego, CA 92101
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 298-2990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Museum School
San Diego, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT