Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Islamic School Of San Diego

Private | K-8 | 158 students

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

No, this school doesn't have the most up-to-date high tech computer lab and it doesn't have a basketball court or a pool or a gym. It doesn't have lots of things that make a school "fun". This school has teachers that teach from the heart, who really care about their students. It has a principal who tries her best to make the school the best with her army of amazing teachers behind her. It has motivation coming from the teachings of the most misunderstood religion in the world. It competes in competitions and places the highest. It provides students with an education they will never forget. The Islamic School of San Diego is the way to go for a truly amazing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I graduated this year from ISSD and now i started high school. i still miss ISSD and i wish i had known what a great blessing i had while in school there. they have a very advanced curriculum. one of he things i loved most was that we had a very Islamic background. everyone knew each other, everyone was family. we all understood each other. Islamic school is really the best place to put your kids.


Posted April 3, 2010

ISSD is an excellent school. It is very organized, well mannered, and excellent academically. The teachers are really great and working so hard. The relationship between teachers and students are friendly, respectful, and strong. Teachers treat the students as their own children. Besides, the communications between teachers and parents is extremely strong as well. I have three children in different grades Elementary and Middle school. Attending ISSD is the best choice I ever made for them. My daughter learned to speak and understand the Arabic language in Kindergarten. She also learned how to perform Prayer and Wudu. My son in the middle school was taught strong curriculums for Arabic, Islamic history, and Islamic studies, comparable to the college level. ISSD also advanced in its core curriculums specially English and Science. It is achieving 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place awards every year in the Annual Science Fair and State Spelling Bee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love ISSD! I t is my last year and i was given the most support to excell in all my studies. The science curriculum helps us learn more about science and just it is the absolute best for anyone because once your in you become a family
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

Academic excellence! I am proud and satisfied that my children have been attending this school for many years. The students are excelling in the core subjects, as well as in the religious and Arabic subjects. The teachers/staff are very dedicated and create a nurturing environment. I love this school and would definitely recommend it to other Muslim families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

i love this school. everybody is close to each other. we're all friends and family. i can trust anybody. its the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

i love this school because evrybody treats u respectfully no matter what race, tribe, religion you are
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

Looking at the graduates from this school over the years, their Islamic foundation is superb, and regardless of the temptations in high school and college, this strong foundation has brought them back to being good Muslims. As for acadamics, they are above average, and they always get top places in science fairs and others. Maybe not the best at academics, but overall without a doubt it's an exellent choice for parents looking to save their kids from going corrupt and excel in their studies.


Posted July 22, 2008

i love this school i was given the absolute best education ever. The faculty are really great and so are all the students there.. This school is very well mannered and gives children the best of education i recomend anyone to come and see and learn how great it is!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2008

I love this school very much because you study your religon and you are in an islamic environment.I have many memories in this school so it will be very hard to leave it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

The school is a great school. I feel so safe that my kids are in this school. The teacher are working so hard. They are doing everything they could. I love this school and i recommend it to all muslims students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

This is an excellent school for what it is organized to focus on. The children get great overall instruction in the core subjects while having the extra islamic studies and arabic. If you are looking for these things it is a great school. One suggestion would be to add more art and or creative outlets.


Posted September 26, 2007

This is a great school compared to public schools. it is also great because it helps us prepare for high school so going to I.S.D. helps me get through high school easier! and it has classes public schools take PLUS classes for Qur'an, Islamic studies, Islamic history and Arabic. and its a Masjid so we also pray there! I will surely miss it when i leave it and go on to high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2007

I am a parent and will continue to send my two daughters and son to ISSD. The good thing is that the school is at the masjid, so my kids are constantly in an Islamic environment. They have the same subjects as public school with Quran, Islamic Studies, and Arabic included. The studies don't seem to be that organized. The studies for English, Math, History, and Science are average and there is no health or humanities/art. So far my kids have been ok because I send them to Kumon and have private tutors. In the end, the school is okay because it is the only Islamic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Academic excellence! The students know everything they need to know and more. It allows all muslim children to feel like they belong there! Besides academics, the teachers make sure their students have have good sportsmanship and enough physical education. I have never seen any school have as mush as contact between the parents and teachers than this school! There is no way a child can hide anything from you! Overall, I think this is a great place for Muslim children to fit in and feel that here are other people like them! I envy the students of The Islamic School of San Diego.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2007

Positive:The school offers 3-4 hours of Islamic studies, Quran, and Arabic daily. Negatives:The Arabic, Quran, and Islamic studies does not allow for core subject instruction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2006

The greatest value of this school is the moral values they teach. There is no other replacement for this school either at home or any where else. In addition the teachers are extremely dedicated and working on very low salaries for the God's sake. Academic quality is also fairly good and level of parental involvement is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 26%
Black 29% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 11%
Hispanic 5% 52%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sharifa Abukar
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7050 Eckstrom Avenue
San Diego, CA 92111
Phone: (858) 278-7970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Reformation Lutheran
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT