Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2-12|Private
46 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Excelsior Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Excelsior Academy most certainly lacks a high level of professionalism as well as integrity. Administrative staff have no regard for parents or students as they are treated with disrespect (Ex: parents being talked to in a rude/condescending manner, students being mocked, etc.). There is also present a high sense of disorganization and confusion among the leadership team as even they are unclear themselves about their own rules and policies since no direct answers were ever received in response to valid questions concerning the educational as well as emotional welfare of students. As a result, the students suffer greatly and families who were promised to receive appropriate services for their children were left hanging with false hope. It is highly suggested that the members who are involved in the governing process of this academic institution learn how to provide direct communication to families as well as gain effective organization skills in order to transform the comprehensive experience students truly need here into a positive one. Despite the educators being knowledgeable and empathetic, it is however, the poor management coupled with the lack of proper judgement that contributes to a reputation that can be simply characterized as deficient and inferior. Overall, this school should not be recommended to families and their students.

Excelsior Academy 1

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
This school has completely lost its touch. What used to be a calm and nurturing place has became a chaotic madhouse. Excelsior Academy is corrupt. The staff mistreats the children and cannot handle the students that attend the school. The school highly underpays staff. The horrific director was removed this year, but I doubt it will do any good. All this school does it give the students an A on their report card. The staff doesn't help them. They contain them until they graduate. When the former students get out into the real world, they have no idea what to do and end up crawling back to the school. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO EXCELSIOR ACADEMY!


Excelsior Academy 3

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
Caring staff here, seem to be connected with all the students. This is first year but are worried about the number of good teachers that are leaving the school. Management isn't good at communicating with parents and not open or forthcoming about how the school is run (which is concerning). The classroom teachers have helped my child read better and will see if progress with the new staff hired.

Excelsior Academy 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a community member
Excelsior Academy is, without question, one of the premier schools for children with learning differences in San Diego. The attention to the needs of each individual student is just one of the many things that set them apart. They offer state of the art technology in every classroom as part of a well-rounded educational program. They have a hydroponic greenhouse allowing staff to offer students unique learning experiences that go along with this technology. Excelsior Academy also offers a Pathway to Independence program to help students to assimilate into life after graduation. The staff and administration at Excelsior Academy is highly experienced and completely committed to the students that they serve. Their programs, staff and methods for teaching children with learning differences are second to none!

Excelsior Academy 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a community member
Are you part of the solution? Or are you part of the problem? Sadly, what keeps Excelsior Academy from being a great school is the same problem that has existed since the school was founded. The Administrative personnel (past and definitely present) are the problem. Students deserve an education, not just passing marks on their Report Cards.. Integrity is not Excelsior Academy's strength.


Excelsior Academy 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student of Excelsior Academy, I went to school at EA for 3 and a half years, I went from the public school system with grades such as D's and F's, but coming to Excelsior changed my life for the better. I never thought I was going to be able to graduate high school when I was in the public school system, I came to EA and my thought of that changed within the first 2 weeks of my attendance. I went on to graduate on time with the class of 2013. I couldn't be any more happier than I am today with the way I was educated by Excelsior. I learned vital social skills, I learned to not only respect the people around me but myself as well, I learned that everyone is created equal no matter how old or young, the color of your skin, and that have a disability isn't a bad thing and how to use my disability to my own advantage. I made many friends and because of the small class sizes I was able to work one on one with each and every teacher I encountered. if it weren't for this incredible school and individualized curriculum I would have either been a high school drop out or still be in high school, but excelsior academy has truly been a life saver and a life changer for me!!!

Excelsior Academy 4

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
My son has been a student at Excelsior for 2 years. He will start 7th grade in the fall. He loves this school and feels included in every aspect of school life, including sports. The support from teachers and his peers is impressive. We feel blessed to have found such a great for our son.

Excelsior Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
Great school, teachers and staff are caring and involved with the students. My son is doingmuch better than when he was in the public schools.


Excelsior Academy 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
Public school was not able to offer what my child needed, Excelsior Academy was able to give him everything and more. The staff is incredible, understanding, flexible and able to provide the environment that he needs to succeed academically and socially. Excelsior has clubs, workshops, sports, tutoring, mentors and students that understand and support each other. It is amazing how much he has grown and I thank Excelsior for helping to make it happen.

Excelsior Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a teacher
As a staff member here at Excelsior Academy I can say that I am proud to work here. I have never worked with a staff that cares so much about each of the kids not only at the school but outside of school. Our school offers counseling, occupational therapy, speech therapy, sports teams, cheerleading, a transition team, social groups and just an overall good place to meet friends.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excelsior Academy
7202 Princess View Drive, San Diego, CA  92120
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (619) 583-6762
Last modified Excelsior Academy is a Private school that serves grades 2-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top