Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Children's School

Private | PK-8 | 245 students

We believe in educating the whole child, intellectually, emotionally & socially

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $810,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 20 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2004

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for some kids but if your kid doesn't 'fit the mold' then there is a great chance that he will not thrive in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

Our situation has been unique. Our child attended La Jolla Country Day School for 3 years, and I've taught in the public schools for 6 years. Coming to The Children's School was the best move we could have made for our children academically, physically, emotionally, and socially. We couldn't have asked for a better environment for both of our children who have different learning styles. Teachers are nurturing, yet have clear visions of each of their students. The social curriculum allows children to feel safe around their peers as there is a common moral understanding. They also learn conflict resolution early on as TCS knows the importance of this in the world outside of our school. The director is a solid businesswoman who we trust and who takes charge of important decisions for our school's future. The small, family like atmosphere has been great for our children and we are thankful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

We have 2 children at the school and have been a member of the TCS community for 5 years. Our children have both thrived in this environment even though their learning styles and personalities are very different from each other. Their teachers have truly taught them to love learning. The child-centered approach has been fantastic for them both. Our daughter is in 6th grade this year and was accepted by both of the top private schools in the area for Junior High. TCS develops children with a strong academic foundation, a love for learning and a true sense of self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

As a parent at TCS, I couldn't be happier with the curriculum and the environment that my children get there. The hands-on learning along with the social curriculum, give my children so much. In an environment where schools teach to a test, it is wonderful to know that TCS students do wonderfully on the standardized tests and they have a full curriculum of special classes as well as core curriculum based on the state standards. My children cry if they can't go to school. They get mad at me when I pick them up and they are learning to be learners as well as great people. I would definitely recommend The Children's School to anyone interested. It is a wonderful place for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

We are the parents of a fifth grade student and a third grade student. Our family has been at TCS for 7 years, beginning in the preschool. We have nothing but good comments about the faculty, administrations,school curriculum and philosophy. Our children have thrived in The Children School's child centered-learning environment and have done extremely well on standardized tests. Our 5th grader will not be attending TCS next year, because of our decision to start middle school in the 6th grade with peers. We support and understand the administrations decision regarding the 6th grade class. If parents do not turn in contracts pledging enrollment new teachers can not be hired and new classrooms can not be put together. We also understand that TCS will have a 6th grade classroom next year if enough parents and students make the committment. TCS is a wonderful school and we highly reccommend families attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Our daughter started at TCS four years ago as a kindergartner. In those four years we have seen her blossom into an intelligent, thoughtful, passionate young girl. In second grade we had our daughter tested for the California GATE program (gifted and talented education) and she scored in the 99th percentile for her age. However, I would rather pay thousands of dollars in tuition for the quality of academic and social education my daughter is experiencing at TCS than send her to my local public school, which is rated one of the best in the County, if not the state. That is how fond I am of the teachers, staff and administration at TCS and how confident I am in the job they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

As a parent, chair of the last major fundraiser and member of the Board of the Parent Association, I feel extremely positive about the direction and stability of this wonderful caring school. I am extremely confident that the administration and the Board of Trustees act in the best interest of the children and will continue to lead us in the most positive manner. The decision to not continue the 6th grade is a strategic decision that makes most sense for the children's success in their middle school years. The teachers that my daughter has had have provided her with the most enriching environment and have challenged her to become a better individual. I am excited to see how more years in this great school will impact her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

With a PhD in artificial intelligence and learning, and as a Director of R&D in the same field, I am quite well-versed in Human Learning and Cognition and can spout theories a la Piaget and Gardner with the best of them. Addtionally, my wife has a master's degree in education from Harvard and several additional years of post-graduate studies and research in cognitive and developmental psychology. So when we decided to select a school for our daughter, we approached the task very methodically - and The Children's School was a no-brainer for us. Our daughter has been in the school for the past year and it amazes me how she has blossomed both intellectually and as a person, all under the guidance of wonderful and caring teachers, administration and board. The blend of a developmental curriculum that is focused on the child, coupled with intellectual rigor, provides the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

The word that best describes our experience at The Children's School is 'unparalleled.' The education that our daughter is receiving, guided by a rigorous set of academic standards and a strong social curriculum, is unmatched. The relationships that we have built with other members of the TCS community play important roles in our lives much as an extended family. The support, involvement and commitment that permeates the school from the faculty members to the administration to the board of trustees is second-to-none. When my child needs a little extra assistance with her academics, she gets it. Just as importantly, when she needs someone to hold her hand and help her navigate the complicated social structure of just being a child, she gets it. I am confident that the foundation that TCS is providing my child will help us achieve our goal of raising a respectful, sensitive and caring citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

Unfortunately, due to a lack of capable management, vision and basic business skills, TCS will probably fold within the next few years. The fallout of students and teachers has been significant, primarily attributed to the hostile relations caused by the head of school . Now, without notice, the sixth grade for 2004/2005 has been disbanded. The head of school blames the parents for not committing by contract in a timely manner. The parents withheld commitment pending a clear understanding as to how this grade was going to be reorganized (new teacher, new make-shift classroom, and potentially just 2 or 3 children in the entire class). Evaluate this school with caution. Based on this fiasco, one or more grades may not be there when your child is! A school must be an 'institution'! Respect has been lost as a feeder school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I went to this school in the 70's. I now have 2 children enrolled. I love the way this school works. My kids love to go to school, and hate to leave. There is not a lot of 'forced' education and the class sizes are small. It is pricey, but all privates tend to be now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2003

We've had both our daughters currently attend TCS and love it! The school staff is warm, friendly and knowledgable. They make learning fun and the kids just cant wait to go to school. The methods they use to stimulate a child's curiosity really work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

The Children's School has always had an excellent reputation for pre-school, however, the year my daughter attended 3rd grade, (5 years ago) both teachers abandoned the class and school in the midst of a controversy which was never clearly defined to most of us. The elementary school lost an astonishing number of its students that year as well as the principal and other valuable contributors. Parents were forced to go to court for refunds. It was a total disappointment and we lost more than just money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2003

We have been a part of The Childrens School community since preschool. The atmosphere at TCS is what I remember as a child - happy, exciting, fun, creative and very safe. The children learn how to communicate clearly and how to problem solve a variety of solutions to any one problem - essential skills for long term success in this ever changing world. The children at TCS are guiding into thinking rather than memorizing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2003

We have been at The Children's School for 5 years- starting with their fantastic toddler program. The academics (in K and up) are top notch, with a focus on having kids fall in love with learning as well as being self-motivated learners! The school is a real community and is full of wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 26%
Hispanic 4% 52%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Summer Day Camp in San Diego (2008)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Evelyn Terry
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (858) 454-0186

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • progressive
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Green Team
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We are a community that values diversity and promotes the development of character, critical and creative thinking, communication and leadership skills, intellectual curiosity and social responsibility.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
60
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
financial assistance if qualified

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Independent - CAIS accrediated
Charter
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2225 Torrey Pines Lane
San Diego, CA 92037
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 454-0184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



All Hallows Academy
San Diego, CA


The Evans School
San Diego, CA


Stella Maris Academy
San Diego, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT