Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
245 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
112 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 129 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Children's School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
"Mommy, I love school." Such beautiful words to hear from a 2nd grader. All three of our kids started in the toddler program and have been part of the TCS family for the past 6 years. The campus of TCS is warm and inviting. TCS provides a place where each child is respected as a person and as a learner, and a place where parents can be involved with their children's learning. Teachers Teachers at TCS offer an environment that is caring, nurturing, and engaging. Through project based learning children are empowered to not only learn, but to be excited about learning. TCS also teaches each and every child to be a great citizen through respect for others, communication and problem solving. New Head of School Mr. Fowler is engaging with both parents and students. Mr. Fowler has taken the time, out of his busy day, to call me and let me know about a conversation he had with our first grader. What a great addition to TCS. 1 Star Review? Be real! You didn't get your personal agenda listened to, so that deserves one star? If TCS is such a horrible place why come back each and every year for ten years? Fundraising - TCS is a non-profit that survives on fundraising.

The Children's School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I have been involved with The Children's School for almost 20 years and have seen first-hand the high-caliber of students who have graduated and gone on to become respected and contributing members of the community. The faculty and administrative staff work as a team to nurture each student's personal development in becoming not only life-long learners, but also confident and self-respecting individuals who see their community and world as a whole. As independent thinkers, Children's School students and graduates discover how their roles in these 'bigger pictures' can be positive and effective. Like all schools, The Children's School has gone through many changes over the years. Whether it be the addition of the middle school, staffing increases and changes, or the myriad of incredible outdoor environments, the one thing that has always stayed constant is the school's devotion to making sure the students always come first. No one can contest that the students' education, development, and success have always been and continue to remain at the top of the school's priority list. Many members of the faculty and administration have been at the school for over a decade, if not two. It's a testament to the school that so many employees have found a second home at their chosen workplace. And every year the class and school projects get even more amazing. Currently, I have 2 kids at the Children's School who are happy and thriving. My husband and I look forward to having them as involved as possible in all the The Children's School has to offer through their elementary and middle school journeys.


The Children's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I have been involved with The Children's School for almost 20 years and have seen first-hand the high-caliber of students who have graduated and gone on to become respected and contributing members of the community. The faculty and administrative staff work as a team to nurture each student's personal development in becoming not only life-long learners, but also confident and self-respecting individuals who see their community and world as a whole. As independent thinkers, Children's School students and graduates discover how their roles in these 'bigger pictures' can be positive and effective. Like all schools, The Children's School has gone through many changes over the years. Whether it be the addition of the middle school, staffing increases and changes, or the myriad of incredible outdoor environments, the one thing that has always stayed constant is the school's devotion to making sure the students always come first. No one can contest that the students' education, development, and success have always been and continue to remain at the top of the school's priority list. Many members of the faculty and administration have been at the school for over a decade, if not two. It's a testament to the school that so many employees have found a second home at their chosen workplace. And every year the class and school projects get even more amazing. Currently, I have 2 kids at the Children's School who are happy and thriving. My husband and I look forward to having them as involved as possible in all the The Children's School has to offer through their elementary and middle school journeys.

The Children's School 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
Change is hard. The poor Children’s School has had three inexperienced, short-term heads of school in a row and my family is not impressed with the newest one. His staffing decisions are questionable. Some incredible teachers and staff people left this last year because of budget cuts or disagreements with him (a couple of terrific people left in the middle of the year). We have a head who has made it clear he does not want anyone’s input, a rude and unhelpful business office, a communications manager who can never get us publicity even though we have great stuff going on in the classrooms (we just found out he promoted her to development director even though she has no experience), an admissions director who can’t fill all the open spots of our declining enrollment, and a middle school director who is a tech guy. This school would be so awesome if we could just get the right head. Our kids love their teachers and coming to school, but it gets harder each year to justify $20,000 per kid when we are dealing with such an inexperienced administration. We will be moving our kids next year if things don’t get better.

The Children's School 1

Posted June 22, 2015
- a parent
First, the teachers are incredible and my children love being in their classrooms. The big problem is the leadership. We are on our 4th head of school in five years and this one is not collaborative and he is driving great faculty, staff and families away. Anyone with an opinion different from his has been forced to leave or has been quieted in fear of losing their jobs. The teachers are very unhappy with the leadership. A friend is on the board and they have been asked to post positive reviews on this site as part of their board service and we think that is misleading. When we started here at the school, there were more than 250 students and we are down to less than 200. More and more families are leaving. The school board is too weak to discipline the head. This could be a really great school.


The Children's School 3

Posted June 19, 2015
- a community member
TCS has been through a lot of changes in terms of their administration. There is yet a head of school that has been fully invested in this school. The new head along with the past two have had no headship experience. TCS needs a head of school who is invested in the school, the culture and the educational philosophy. Not heads who are here to gain experience and move on. Like someone else posted, the new head didn't move his family down as per his contract. What does this say about his connection with the community. The reason why TCS is so special and students love going and learning is because of the wonderful teachers they hire. Students aren't connected to the head of school, but rather the amazing teachers. It was sad to hear at the end of the year that some beloved and integral teachers left or were asked to leave due to the lack of communication, decision making and professionalism of the new head of school. TCS is a great school but if the headship continues like this, I fear what will become of this wonderful school.

The Children's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
The Children's School is a special place. We have attended the school for five years now and I attribute the intellectual and emotional growth I have seen in both of my children to TCS. This year has been our best year yet. The new Head of School has improved teacher communication and strengthened the academic curriculum. There are wait lists for several grades and all the families I know are thrilled with the direction the school is taking The Head of School knows every student by name, greets them at the gate each morning and they all love him. While change is sometimes hard, the changes that have taken place under the new leadership were all necessary and seem to be strengthening every aspect of the school.

The Children's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
The children's school is an outstanding school. I will have three children enrolled this Fall at the school. Thus far, my kids love going to school. They are excelling with their reading, writing and critical thinking skills. My kids are patient and kind and I feel that the boundaries between home and school are very gray. My kids teachers truly nuture my kids. They hug them. They comfort them and they push them when they need it with learning. The larger family community of The Children's School is also one of its greatest assets. Parents are reading about parenting. Parents are hands-on with their children. Parents also support the school. I have really been happy with The Children's School and the new head of school is another great addition to the community.


The Children's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
The Children's School has a really strong, broad based and varied curriculum with an excellent focus on social and emotional development where children practice tolerance, kindness, assertiveness and negotiation as part of daily school life. We've very happy with the headmaster and his approach to both learning and the children's social / emotional development. He is a quiet and unassuming person but commands great respect from the children and seems to run a well organized campus.

The Children's School 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
We are extremely happy that we moved our children to this school last year, out of the public school system. They absolutely love going to school each morning and are vibrant and full of life when describing their day, each evening. They have more passion and enthusiasm for what they're learning and can go into immense detail to describe what they've been working on.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Children's School
2225 Torrey Pines Lane, San Diego, CA  92037
(858) 454-0184
Last modified The Children's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Children's School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 129 reviews. Top