Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Muir School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I want to thank all the teachers at our school for being so committed to their jobs and their students.

John Muir School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
The amount of homework my son is getting for 4th grade is more than he used to do in the previous years but is precisely what he needed to be challenged academically. Also, this year they are learning to manage and plan their schedule and homework, which is a great skill to develop.


John Muir School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
Our school has a Peace Patrol, and a program where students reflect on how to be respectful and caring of each other.

John Muir School 4

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
What I love about John Muir School is the small size and the friendly and caring community. I know that in this school my son is growing academically and as a human being through the constant emphasis in understanding of how we are members of a local community connected to a wider world. I really appreciate the global focus of the school.

John Muir School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
Today is National Parent Involvement Day, and as a teacher at John Muir, I'd like to say "thank you" to the countless, dedicated parents who selflessly give their time every day! You are truly the heart of the success of our amazing school! Xoxo, Barb Waller :o)


John Muir School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
Today is National Parent Involvement Day, and as a teacher at John Muir, I'd like to say "thank you" to the countless, dedicated parents who selflessly give their time every day! You are truly the heart of the success of our amazing school! Xoxo, Barb Waller :o)

John Muir School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Mr.Michael Jean !! Excellent teacher !! A teacher that cares about the students. Thank you,Mr.Jean !

John Muir School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
John Muir School ! Amazing principal,teachers and staff !! JMAP parents are the best !


John Muir School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Building character, compassion, empathy, kindness and an ability to listen - as well as speak - effectively and actively is a core component of John Muir School. It seems to our family that these characteristics are an essential component to the entire school community - staff, parents, everyone - not just the students.

John Muir School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
What an amazing school - a true hidden gem. This is a Paideia-certified school with an international focus. So there is project-centric learning, group discussion, an active, engaged, can-do kind of education with an enhanced global worldview. There is no teaching to the test, here. It's about doing, seeking, trying, engaging, teamwork, persistence, encouragement. There are LOADS of special enrichment programs - archery, robotics, art, dance, language, science and technology, gardening. A small school with a brilliant staff, it is also K-12 - LOVE IT - with a warm, open, friendly environment for both kids and parents. I feel like my kids are getting a private education at a public school price. And that's with us coming from a school ranked "higher" and in a fancier 'hood... But I can tell you: John Muir School is a brightly shining diamond we are so grateful to have found. My kids love it; simply put, there is no comparison.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Muir School
4431 Mount Herbert Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117
(858) 268-1954
Last modified John Muir School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Muir School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top