Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carmel Valley Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $672,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

I love this school - it is big - but the kids get a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

I am a former student of CVMS, and I now attend Torrey Pines High School. One of the reasons I chose to attend CVMS over Earl Warren was its proximity to my house and its advanced math classes. When I was attending, there was a program for students who were way ahead in math to take a couple of classes at Torrey Pines High School. I didn't end up getting that far in math at CVMS, but it was good to know that I had options. Now I hear that they even opened up an Algebra II/Trig class right there at CVMS with ten or so students, and it amazes me that so many kids are getting that far ahead. Now that I am Torrey Pines, I am completing Multivariable calculus, and it's great to know that I've been challenged and not forced to sit around in a class I don't belong. CVMS is far from perfect, but given that it is a public school with comparable or even superior academic opportunities to those at nearby private schools, this school is definitely a great option.


Posted September 15, 2013

I am in Carmel Valley Middle School and I am a 2013 - 2014 7th grader. I love this school, it is above 5 stars (Excellent). I recommend people to go to it, it's fabulous.


Posted August 17, 2013

Where to start. How about overcrowding? Carpool is a nightmare with rude parents cutting in line, rude kids sauntering across the street against the red light so traffic can't move- it's gridlock. Same goes for the classrooms, seriously overcrowded. The campus is dirty, the track in poor shape, the field unkempt. The parents are smug about test scores, but all that rote learning comes with a price. My kids were aware of rampant cheating; the bullying was intense and the partying and sexual activity (just ask anyone about the infamous parties and Highlands shopping center shenanigans) were outrageous. One of my kids was failing a class due to being overwhelmed with busy work and the teacher never contacted me till it was almost too late. Test scores aren't everything, parents, and Carmel Valley is not the "be all and end all." Your child would be much better off at a 6-9 inclusive school with fewer students and less ridiculous pressure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

RUN AWAY from this school as quickly as you can. Choice your middle school student out and go to EARL WARREN MIDDLE SCHOOL in Solana Beach. ~It is overcrowded. ~It is very dirty and unkept. The janitor does nothing and the school is filthy dirty. The floors are disgusting. Not sure when they clean anything. ~It is not up to par with current technology. The school district knows it, but won't invest in upgrading the technology systems. They expect the parents to pay for it. Don't we already pay enough taxes? ~White kids are NOT the majority. Chinese and Middle Eastern Indian kids get preferential treatment at this school. ~Parking is a nightmare. Poor city planning. ~Most of the teachers are great. But, there are a few rotten apples. ie, one of the male PE teachers ~The admin working the front desk are not friendly. I think they are overwhelmed with the overcrowded school and the filthy working environment. ~School lunches are over priced, fattening, and greasy. No fresh fruit bowl. No carrots. No celery and peanut butter. Oh, they do sell a small slice of pizza for $3.00. My older kids were fortunate to attend other middle schools. Yours should too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

We moved to the Carmel Valley area specifically so that my sons could eventually attend Canyon Crest Academy. Carmel Valley Middle School turned out to be the added benefit as they received a real wake-up call on what it would take to be a top student at CCA or Torrey Pines HS. This is an area where parents truly put education first, and CVMS is competitive with lots of opportunities to take advanced classes. The proof is in the results, as the students who rise to the occasion will graduate HS with GPAs well over 4.0 and enough AP classes to skip entire semesters in college. The music program at the school is also stellar, virtually everyone runs (excellent mind-body training--the Boys and Girls Club is right next door with a very good track and other after school programs), and CVMS is one of the few in the district to have bus service. My sons are now attending USC, and I thank CVMS for providing them the groundwork necessary to have been among the 5% of applicants selected. If your goal is for your child to attend a highly selective university, you need a middle school like CVMS. Added note--San Diegiuto is probably the best run school district in CA, of which CVMS is part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

CVMS is unique, in that it attempts to provide a transition to the academic demands and social confusion of High School. For most kids, entering 7th grade, is a confusing change. Our sons left an Elementary school with 60 kids in their grade to middle school with 700 plus kids in their grade. They are expected to be responsible for their academics and are held accountable for same. The Aeries program is an ongoing account of their progress and a boon to helpful parents. How the teachers are able to handle this work load is an example of their commitment to the educational process. They must work an 80 hour + week. Wow! Great, dedicated teachers working so hard with children from all kinds of cultural, academic backgrounds. What a challenge! Kids are adaptable and love their caring, and hardworking teachers. Our sons are on different learning levels and are treated fairly and personably by the staff at this school. This is education at its best! One can nitpick some of the perceived shortcomings of CVMS, but, all in all, it is a superlative educational environment for young people at this stage of their march to becoming responsible adult members of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

I'm so glad to choose this school as a choice for my son. I was initially looking for a private school and then though of giving CVMS a try based on high ratings and friends' recommendations. I would say school worked out great for my son. There is a lot of homework but my son is able to handle it with no help. There are lots of choices based on student skill set. I'm very satisfied with CVMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I am disappointed in this school. We moved here because of the great reviews, but the school is overwhelming and way too big for any effective discipline. My daughter is constantly being bullied and fortunately has found a safe haven in the library. I have also been shocked by the inappropriate language she has learned there. I am hoping to pull her from the school. The teachers do not have time to help the kids. It is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

great and fun school although there are may to many test's and quiz iam in 7th grade and seriously way to much quiz or test every week sometimes every day.


Posted August 9, 2010

love this school! my daughter goes to this school and she has made lifelong friends and is doing better in school then she ever has!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is wonderful, because of it's advanced and below average classes. It offers many math and reading classes to suit your childrens' needs. It also has alot of fun stuff such as art, technology, journaling and many other things. It's amazing at math, and it almost always wins first in the city, and we have 142 middle schools here. I think this is amazing, and it's a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

This school is very good. I am in 7th grade and still I love It.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2009

I am a Student from CVMS and I believe this is a great school. The education given here is definetly above average (comparing to other schools). There are a varitey of classes under each subject, each to suit everybodys needs (advance placement, etc.) The staff are wonderful and try to help students really understand the material. The campus is nice and new (though relatively confusing for new students at first). This school, i believe, is great with new students because when one comes, they assign a student 'tour guide' to the new student to help them get to know the campus and 'inside secrets.' 7th Graders and 8th graders mesh well together (unlike other schools). From a students point of view though, we do have some strict 'high placement' staff- to 'keep the school under control'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2009

Although some of the teachers are a lot more concerned about test grades than the child, the students are nice, most of the teachers are great, and it's overall a good environment for a student, especially if they're willing to participate in student events, which are only fun if you give them a chance
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

Excellent school, committed administrators and educators. Highly recommend. Safe suburban area. Lots to do for kids. My kids made great friendships and matured appropriately. Lots of extra curriculars and support from educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I loved my 2 years at CVMS! I'm a techie, so I loved my multimedia & adv. multimedia classes. The teacher was funny and a professional photographer. I will thank her when I win an Oscar for best technical special effects. Math was great, too. A.P.'s were lame, but I never got in trouble. Lots of Asian kids, but expanded egos to go with them. My Counselor was amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

Great school~! my child goes there and she loves it~~! highly recommended~ great teachers, great facility, great library, great gym~! also great programs~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

I went to this school and think it is an incredibly good school. All of the schools in this area are considered excellent because of the affluent families here, but cvms really excels middle school fun, educational, safe, and good preperation for high school. The teachers are varied in terms of skills but there are a lot of very good tepeople .
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

I think this school is full of great kids and all, and the teachers are great, but the schedules for this particular school are a liitle weak. The block days get many students confused, and I really don't see why all the days can't just consist of all periods. I also think that their should be two lunches, one for 7th graders and one for 8th graders, because the campus gets very crowded. Many people are forced to stand up, or sit on the ground.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

976

Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

976

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

715 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

621 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

748 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
13%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

756 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

747 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females95%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability65%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students90%
Females90%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students92%
Females94%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability89%
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner95%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females94%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state67%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students31%
Females37%
Males24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)0%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate35%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students91%
Females93%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state83%

Science

All Students94%
Females95%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability72%
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Asian 34%
Hispanic 6%
Black 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 Mykonos Lane
San Diego, CA 92130
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 481-8221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Notre Dame Academy
San Diego, CA


Del Mar Pines School
San Diego, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT