Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sage Canyon School 2

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
I've had 3 children attend here. If your child is an achiever you probably won't have any problems. Money helps, too. I encountered cold teachers, particularly in kindergarten and first grade, believe it or not. Bullying, lying from other kids to expressly get my daughter in trouble. It seemed to get meaner as the years went by. High pressure, excessive homework, and a huge culture of entitlement by parents and kids alike. Stressful, even in kindergarten.

Sage Canyon School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
My older son attended the Kindergarten last year. I was amazed with his improvement throughout the year. His teacher was outstanding and helped him by challenging and nurturing him in a balanced way. The office staff and after school programs are amazing too. We can't wait for the first grade to start. We love Sage Canyon.


Sage Canyon School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
Kids have attended for a couple of years now, have a few more to go. Impressed all the way around. Nearly a private school education from a public school. Teachers & Principals make the difference, office staff is excellent also. Facilities are great and are used with adjacent city park for many extracurricular activities. Best child's educational deal in San Diego!

Sage Canyon School 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
Faculty are remarkable in intellectual capacity-can relate to children at their level & bring each child individually beyond parents' perceived potential.Instills thirst for learning-even in my youngest.Middle son in IEP we re grateful & respectfully impressed w/his rapid advancement.They informed me of his hidden talent in math strategy & are developing this.They challenge & re-assess children to ensure interest & growth-eldest son now in honors math.Constant communication b/t parent and teacher with weekly/daily emails.Inquiries are responded to w/in hrs. Principal very proactive in combating bullying(including subtle ways girls bully) w/class discussions & parent assemblies. Psychologist visiting school was impressed-girls were actively playing instead of forming small groups on playground.Has great support from parents.At screening of film "The Road to Nowhere" Principal as usual-very open to ideas from parents-thinks outside the box has gift for viewing matters conceptually & discerning what s best for individual/community.Amazing PE, science, computer, art, & music program.Hard pressed to find better school-if you get in-rapid growth in area forced school to limit enrollment.

Sage Canyon School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
I am extremely pleased with Sage Canyon and the quality of the teachers and the curriculum. It is academically demanding and I know my boys will be very well prepared for academic success in the future. Parents are very involved and it really does feel like a close community. They also have an excellent and extremely helpful Special Education program. My oldest has ADHD and the services available at Sage combined with help from our pediatrician has made this totally manageable. The staff here across the board in top-notch.


Sage Canyon School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sage Canyon School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
We have two children at the school. The teachers and administration are wonderful. They offer an amazing program all around to help kids at all levels excel.

Sage Canyon School 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Sage Canyon School 4

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
I have two children at this school this school year, and overall I am very happy with what I have seen. The only concern that I have is that there are quite a few 'pilot' programs being introduced to a small group of children rather than the entire student body of that grade/subject. Other than that, the school seems to be offering the best and most out of what you can get in a CA public school with 500+ students, and is covering both academic and social aspects of ALL the students well. PTA is very present and is contributing positively to the feel of 'community', also.
1 person found this helpful

Sage Canyon School 1

Posted January 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sage Canyon School
5290 Harvest Run Drive, San Diego, CA  92130
(858) 481-7844
Last modified Sage Canyon School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sage Canyon School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top