Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 85
Before care: No
After care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

39 reviews of this school


Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
Because of family moves, this is the third Montessori preschool we've enrolled our children in and the fourth preschool we've tried as a family. So, speaking from the ability to compare to several other places, this is a good school. The atmosphere is in every way geared toward promoting independence and learning. The staff is well-trained and truly interested in the well-being of the kids. The teachers are very good about giving feedback. The first week my children were enrolled, I received emails throughout their day with pictures, letting me know how they were adjusting. My two-year old still brings home notes every day letting me know what snacks she ate and how her potty-training is progressing. The school also sends frequent newsletters letting you know about the curriculum and special guests. And, teachers are very responsive to emailed questions or concerns. I would definitely recommend the school to friends. It's a good school. Your kids will come out with a sense of confidence and a strong foundation in early math and reading. They will receive individualized attention and care from great teachers.

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Unlike other schools where each parent has a code to access the school to see their children this is the school where you have to ring a bell wait outside and then brought in ( i don't know if i can say it is a coincidence but each time I drop to visit an administrator or someone from front desk will be rushing into the class to check on my kid!) Unlike other schools , if you call to check on your kid on his/her FIRST week you either get a voice mail to LEAVE a message and expect a call back in 1 hr or you receive a short very obvious "annoyed by your call" answer that your child is doing OK We got a call on the weekend from the principle asking us not to ruin the school order and if you leave 30 min earlier than the pick up time just wait outside DON't come in and mess up their order they don't like so many parents dropping in that is too many visits I am not sure why it will bring chaos to the school if the school is perfect and there is nothing to hide


Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
There was never enough communication with the parents and they don't give your child enough socializing time, which is the main thing they crave at this age

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
My son went there. They are very strict about everything. Felt very artificial the first day I went there. I feel they are way too overrated. for 2 yr, they had 24 kids and 2 teachers. 12:1 student/teacher ratio. that too one teacher is just a helper. Felt like they are interested in making money and in not helping kids. My son didnt get used to the school for 3 months. They are very artificial(show off as though they care) when you enter the school. They didn't try to improve or be friendly with the kid. Also, they are way too overpriced for what they offer. Also they follow public school schedule which is stupid for 2 to 5 yr kids. when I tried to take my kid off of the school, it was a pain. The way their tuition structure is setup, it is so compilcated. when you join, you pay for the last month of the school year first. sme crazy scheme to get you to not withdraw. I lost lot of money because of their stupid policy. Potential parents should think twice. also they are not good at handling sensitive kids.

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Have two kids and both of them attend this school. I am very happy with the progress they have made academically and more importantly as individuals. This is a great Montessori school. It is not just in the name. The school & staff live by the Montessori principles every day. Very active parent community


Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a great and authentic AMI Montessori school. My girl started in the toddler program when she was 20 months old. She came home happily everyday. She was potty trained by 2 and got moved up to the primary class soon after she turned 2.5. She learns to be an independent little person. Now that she's in the primary class with other kids that are ranges from 3-6 years old. Love her head guide and Spanish teachers who are so caring and really vested in all the kids. Love the management team who give much support not only to the kids, but also parents. There's just too much good things about this school.

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Not pleased with the result of sending my son to kinder house Montessori. I expect far more in terms of academics from a school that costs as much per year as this one. And no I don't expect them to teach quantum physics just the basics any parent would expect. Pass on this school.

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 3

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
It's a good school but if you are a working mom maybe this is not a right choice for you since they have so many closing dates, e.g the whole week of the thanksgiving, 2 weeks between christmas and new year, and they charge you if you want to send your kids to school during some holidays time , so you get charged 2 times !. Staff are not very strict so I suggest if your kids is under 3 , maybe you should reconsider this place. Overall I like this place but there are some negative points that they have to start working on


Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is currently attending the toddler program at Kinderhouse Montessori on Flanders Rd. Here's why I like it: 1. My daughter is well cared for and is learning every day. I go to work each day secure in the knowledge that my daughter is happy at school, and is looked after and taught by responsible, caring staff. 2. I view the principal and teachers as a resource to help us raise our daughter. For example: when we want to start something new, such as potty training, or when we want to help my daughter stop nonconstructive behaviors, we discuss approaches and move forward on the same page. 3. The school genuinely has the best interests of the child at heart and the policies are created with the child's best interests in mind. 4. The school holds parent seminars to share Montessori practices, for parent education, and to help parents better connect with the teachers and vice-versa 5. It is a multi-cultural environment and the school celebrates this aspect of the student community

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Top notch school! With a background in education, I felt the Montessori method was truly the best for developing my children both educationally and socially. After much research, I found that Kinderhouse was a "true" Montessori school amongst many who claim to be but are not. We've been with the school for 4 years and this school has far exceeded all of my expectations.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc.
6540 Flanders Drive, San Diego, CA  92121
(858) 550-0097
Last modified Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Kinderhouse Montessori Schools, Inc. Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top