Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

KIPP Adelante Preparatory Academy

Charter | 5-8 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

Entering 5th grade, this is my daughter's first year at Kipp. This school is absolutely remarkable. Don't believe everything you read especially the negative reviews on this site written by butt hurt students and parents that did not appreciate a great education, structure, and an entire staff that genuinely cares about their students. From day one, everyone from the principle, teachers, office staff, and assistants have been visible, approachable, informative and truly concerned about how they can make their students college graduates, unlike most public schools where just getting their students to high school graduation is the only concern. I would like to see more parent involvement; however, teaching self sufficiency and independence is equally if not more important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I love the school. It made a great impact on me, the Teachers are tough but they just care for your education. The teachers are AMAZING! once you get to know them, I would know I was an excellent student who participated in most of the clubs. I would totally recommend this school because it will have so many opportunities for 5th graders. With experiencs like never before. Before.


Posted March 14, 2014

my school is horrible. I DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU TO SEND YOUR KID THERE. IF YOU DO, YOU ARE HORRIBLE PEOPLE AND IT IS A JAIL FOR KIDS. your welcome.


Posted November 14, 2012

Well, I do not like this school at all. Yes, they have good teaching quality but my daughter told me that the principal hasnt been their. And this school is just too strict and the 6th grade math teacher mr lucke is so rude. !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Currently I am a junior in High School and while I attended KIPP I complained about the homework and the times but now I see the great impact KIPP had on me, it thought me leadership, discipline, and how to excel in school and prepared me for High School and college. KIPP has one of the most challenging academic programs but unlike other schools the teachers are always there for you. While I attended the current principal was a high school placement teacher, since I applied to private schools I spent more time with her and what I can say is she might be a little tough sometimes but she cares about the students. Anyway I'd like to thank KIPP: Adelante for everything.- Jesus Rubalcaba


Posted July 13, 2012

Well, I think that this school has had a great impact on my life and I'm ready to go to high school now! thank you KIPP: Adelante for helping me take a huge leap to college. KIPP doesn't just teach you how to get to college intellectually but also characteristically... a great scholar doesn't just have a great brain but a great heart! The teachers also have been so kind to me! thank you KIPP:Adelante! - Anthony Manning


Posted April 19, 2012

Thank goodness there are a few teachers that are allowed to continue to work there or else the school would be a lost cause. The leadership doesn't know how to respect students. One even called my sister a disgrace to her family. What right do they have to say that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

I've sent three children to this middle school and I love it. My kids have gone to San Francisco, learned how to play the violin and currently, one is enrolled at one of the best boarding schhools out there. The teachers care and the Principal is easily accessible. If you want your kids to learn how to work hard, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Two fires, continuously leaking bathrooms and teachers that treat students like they are nothing. Why would any parent send their child to this school I will never know. I'm so glad, I pulled my child before it was too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

Principal lacks the qualities that promote a positive learning and teaching atmosphere. She is inconsistent in everything that she says and does and is rarely seen at after school functions. I would strongly encourage anyone that is considering enrolling his or her child in this school to please reconsider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

This school is unfair. The new principal is always picking on my daughter's grade level. She always tries to find some little excuse to get them in trouble. She picks favorites throughout the school and obviously it ain't my daughter's grade. She is consistently picking on them for no reason. And uses any little thing to make them look bad in front of the whole school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

This school is mediocre at best. Teachers are okay, however they are not consistent. The school does not have any set policies or rules so there is never a clear message on what is okay and what is not. Academics are subpar. Leadership is new and it is obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

This school is a joke. They are on their third principal and she is the worst of them all. She has no idea how to handle the kids and their needs nor does she know how to hire and hold onto good teachers. Students are treated like dirt by the principal and many of the teachers. And the lack of respect towards the parents is ridiculous. My child was put into an in school suspension and not allowed to go to his history class for 8 days and not once was I notified by the school. After calling the principal and the teachers several times I was told that it was part of the commitment to excellence. That is bull, what about their commitment to teaching my child??? How is he supposed to learn when he is not allowed in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

What can you say about a school that used to be great once but now is so far in the dumps most teachers wouldn't send their own children to KIPP Adelante. The new change in Leadership has left a sour taste in my mouth and caused me to pull my child from KIPP. The principal's lack of interest in bullying is frightening. Her complete disregard to the safety of the students and their overall well being makes me wonder how she ever became the principal. I would strongly suggest you send your child to a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

Well, What can i say about KIPP? KIPP has been a great impact on my life! I really like spending my time here because every time i am there the teachers and staff make me feel like they care for me! I have to say that with all that has happened i truly can't wait to get to college! - Carlos Lopez


Posted February 3, 2010

This school is gay like i am not even playing, they treat the kids like adults and the truth is they are not. This school is too tuff on them, they dont have no fun and they need to enjoy them self instead of going to school at 7:30 and comming out at 5:00.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

i love going to this school it gives us so good opportunities to go places that we have never gone to. i really love that each class is named as a college. the classes are so fun, i really like that teacher take us to places that we enjoy going to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

My child just entered KIPP this year as a 5th grader in San Jose area KIPP.I can see the dedication from the teacher, the principal to the secretary; everyone is so involved and caring that they will do the best job for the students here. They also expect the students doing their best here,no excuse, no short cut. My son enjoys going to school so much that ;everyday going home after almost 10 hours at school; he still wants to do more work for the next day.KIPP can bring the worst in a student to be the best in one. I am so grateful finding KIPP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

My child attended Kipp for four years the first year was the best. My daughter excelled in all of her classes. The teachers were truly dedicated and it showed in the students attitude. The second year was not as good. I could feel that the parent involvement was not appreciated. If there was a problem the teachers and/or the principal, parents and student should work to resolve the matter. This was not the the case at Kipp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I think it's a really good school I think people should know more about this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

788

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

788

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
74%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Females25%
Males18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability21%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented42%
Parent education - not a high school graduate16%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state21%

Math

All Students47%
Females51%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%

Science

All Students67%
Females72%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females39%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students50%
Females44%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females76%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students79%
Females78%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students36%
Females45%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females49%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students62%
Females54%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students75%
Females72%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
Black 5%
Two or more races 1%
White 1%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
English language learners 45%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Distinguished School (2006)
  • National Title I Distinguished School (2007)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 4:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Andrew Crowe
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (619) 233-3212

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

611 Beech Street
San Diego, CA 92101
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 233-3242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

City Tree Christian
San Diego, CA





Balboa City School
San Diego, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT