Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Children's Growing Center 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Outstanding school. For the last 3 years, we have put our 3 kids in it, so we have experience almost every class. The kindergarten is fantastic : the kids are taught to read and count (very well !), but even more importantly the learn about values, how to give their best, and how to learn. It blew me away (still does !). I can only recommend this great school !

Children's Growing Center 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughters both started at CGC at 8 weeks old in the Gold Team. They will both graduate from Kindergarten, Green Team with Mrs. Solomon. Every one of the teachers & staff at CGC is wonderful. Their loving, caring, nurturing environment helps parents feel comfortable leaving their kids, all while the children blossom in to confident, well-mannered young individuals. Kids are a reflection of their parents, but when you have a wonderful school environment like CGC, there is no doubt that the staff at CGC helps mold your child in to who they become. From sign language for the infants, potty training, focus on healthy eating habits, instilling faith in God & self, teaching the kids to focus, share, care for others & be considerate; I can’t say enough about CGC & how much it’s impacted the lives of our kids & our family. We will be forever grateful for all the teachers & caring staff. The Kindergarten program provides your child a huge advantage going in to 1st grade. They will be ahead of the game-reading, writing, math; allowing your child to adjust to a new school environment. As a parent, it also helps your home environment because your child will be so well equipped & prepared. Mrs. Solomon provides challenging curriculum that will instill confidence, independence, self-control, self-esteem, accountability & motivation that will last a lifetime.


Children's Growing Center 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
My son attended CGC from 4 months old thru their kindergarten program and it was a wonderful experience. I had many friends with awful daycare experiences so I was nervous to leave my son with anyone but CGC proved to be as good as the recommendations I was given boasted. As with any non private school, you do have to (or you should) put in hours to help with fundraisers and events but it is worth it as it just enhances your child's experience. As someone else mentioned, this school has a waiting list and that is a good thing. There is a reason why they have a waiting list and I'm just glad that I was patient and waiting for a spot! My son left this school and was way ahead of his classmates when he got to his new elementary schools! Trust your babies with these folks - they are wonderful!

Children's Growing Center 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
We love CGC! I was so nervous when I returned to work about leaving my 4 month old daughter in someone else's care, but the staff has been amazing. The Gold Team (infant room) staff all truly seem to love children. My daughter gets the biggest smile on her face when we approach the door every morning. Another poster commented on the director not being the friendliest, while I haven't found this to be the case at all, I do think there are times when she may come off colder than intended. She does an excellent job, however, and really does know all of the children's names by heart, which is amazing! We will happily be sending our daughter here for several years to come.

Children's Growing Center 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
CGC has exceeded our expectations in every way. There is a waiting list for a good reason -- these folks do an exceptional job. There is very low turnover with the teachers, all of whom are committed, friendly and patient. They do a great job looking after our little ones every day, taking care of potty accidents and whatnot...they even choreograph the kids' dance numbers for the 2 big theatrical productions that happen every year! The administration has also exceeded our expectations. We find the director to be hugely invested in early childhood education and knowledgeable about childhood development in general. She knows the name of every kid in the school and is so warm with them. (And with us.) She's helped us when we have had concerns with pesky behavior issues with our daughter, and offered sound, helpful advice. We have a very high opinion of her overall. What originally brought us to CGC was recommendations from former coworkers (3). They had very positive comments. I am so grateful for the loving care our little girl receives at CGC. These folks run the school with such finesse and fun. They are awesome!


Children's Growing Center
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
I don't think this school is all that everyone on here is boasting about. the only thing that is good about this school are the teachers.. THe management of the school is horrible. The lady in charge is like a mean school principal that you dread having to talk to. She made my experience awful, she was always rude to me and only seemed to talk to the parents who had a lot of money. She made the pre school experience almost unbearable. But since I didn't have to see her on a daily basis, I kept my daughter there because her teacher was amazing.

Children's Growing Center 5

Posted March 22, 2006
- a teacher
You can feel good about leaving your child at CGC. Without a doubt one of the biggest concerns about parenthood is leaving your child with strangers. My wife and I feel 100% secure about our child's safety as well as development with the great staff at Children's Growing Center.

Children's Growing Center 5

Posted November 15, 2005
- a parent
What an amazing program! The entire staff - from the program director on down - is incredible. It is a warm, loving, clean, academic, fun, nurturing environment. You will walk up the stairs and say 'Wow, the perfect preschool really does exist!'


Children's Growing Center 5

Posted September 17, 2004
- a parent
We have had our children at this school for over 6 years. The staff is amazing. They are warm and friendly with the children and there is zero turn-over at the school. Frequently when I pick my children up they do not want to come home. They are having too much fun. The kindergarten program is also awesome and the teacher does a great job with the children. I would never send my children any were else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children's Growing Center
2111 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA  92108
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (619) 295-1915
Last modified Children's Growing Center is a Private school that serves grade K
Top