Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kearny SCT School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I am in awe in regards to why our children are not allowed to wear beanies on the school property. They said they have to wear the school's beanie to identify their students and that if they wore another hat they would not know who the kids are? What the Blank? You are telling me that our children have to BUY your hat so they can be identified? What if they are not wearing a hat? lol They don't have an explanation for that! Our children have to freeze on the property because they can't wear beanies that have no logos or anything on it. They said it is a safety precaution! BS I am so upset about this ordinance that my child can't stay warm because you can't identify them without the school Beanie!!! WHAT????!!!

Kearny SCT School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I am in awe in regards to why our children are not allowed to wear beanies on the school property. They said they have to wear the school's beanie to identify their students and that if they wore another hat they would not know who the kids are? What the Blank? You are telling me that our children have to BUY your hat so they can be identified? What if they are not wearing a hat? lol They don't have an explanation for that! Our children have to freeze on the property because they can't wear beanies that have no logos or anything on it. They said it is a safety precaution! BS I am so upset about this ordinance that my child can't stay warm because you can't identify them without the school Beanie!!! WHAT????!!!


Kearny SCT School 4

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I am in awe in regards to why our children are not allowed to wear beanies on the school property. They said they have to wear the school's beanie to identify their students and that if they wore another hat they would not know who the kids are? What the Blank? You are telling me that our children have to BUY your hat so they can be identified? What if they are not wearing a hat? lol They don't have an explanation for that! Our children have to freeze on the property because they can't wear beanies that have no logos or anything on it. They said it is a safety precaution! BS I am so upset about this ordinance that my child can't stay warm because you can't identify them without the school Beanie!!! WHAT????!!!

Kearny SCT School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a student
This school sucks. The only good thing about it is some of the teachers actually connect with the students. Other than that the staff is terrible. We haven't had a counsler who actually helped the school in a long time. The football team like never wins. Go to a better school. Everyone here is lazy and you get in trouble for anything.

Kearny SCT School 2

Posted December 06, 2012
- a community member
SCT has hardly any classes, they offer only a few AP classes, and most of the teachers are un-motivated. Some are very very involved, but some just seem to loathe being there, and that has an impact on the students. The facilities are old and aren't conducive to a good education. The school is severely under-funded. The sports department is entirely abysmal, the facilities are laughable and decrepit. I would not recommend this school to anyone.


Kearny SCT School
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
I read with great interest the last students review. While I appreciate her position it is possible that she is an exception to the rule. I know that budget constraints have caused some larger class sizes this year. However, SCT strives to meet the needs of all students. I would encorage this student to speak with her counselor immediately. SCT has in place several AP courses, as well as opportunities to duel enroll in the local Jr. College. I know that every effort will be made by the staff and administration to meet her unique needs. The list of pros for the school are prime examples why this is a great school. Most students attending other high schools can not profess the same. Thanks again to our Principal and Staff who encourgae our students and provide opportunities for this type of critical thinking and honest opinioins.

Kearny SCT School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
Kearny SCT is nothing special. That's not to say it's a horrible place to send your child, but if you have another option I would take it. Pros: Kearny is diverse and its student body is colorblind. The kids are mostly very kind, accepting, and fun. The teachers do their best to make themselves available to the students when extra help is needed.The atmosphere is very laidback, safe, and friendly. Cons: I personally feel very unchallenged and oftentimes braindead at Kearny. The class sizes are roughly 35, some 40. The education is mediocre at best. But this is coming from a straight A student who applies herself. I'd say a student who works hard for B's or C's in another school would thrive at Kearny. Homework usually doesn't need to be turned in, and if it does, the deadline is days away. and that's my 2 cents ;]

Kearny SCT School
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
I like the way the staff is involved with the students. My daughter is in the 12th grade and is really doing well. She takes classes at Mesa College and wants to major in science and SET offers great science AP courses.


Kearny SCT School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a student
Truely an Excellent School! The Principal is amazing and works towards the students needs. The teachers truely care about the students future. They work hard to shape the lives of the children. The school has thus far provided amazing oppertunities for students to excell in any scientific field, may it be a speaker form the sports medicine field, or marine biologist, the oppertunites prvided are endless. By far SCT is the best small school offered at Kearny Educational Complex!

Nearby schools

Kearny SCT School
7651 Wellington Way, San Diego, CA  92111-5731
(858) 496-8370
Last modified Kearny SCT School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top