Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 423
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kearny SCT School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a student
This school sucks. The only good thing about it is some of the teachers actually connect with the students. Other than that the staff is terrible. We haven't had a counsler who actually helped the school in a long time. The football team like never wins. Go to a better school. Everyone here is lazy and you get in trouble for anything.

Kearny SCT School 2

Posted December 06, 2012
- a community member
SCT has hardly any classes, they offer only a few AP classes, and most of the teachers are un-motivated. Some are very very involved, but some just seem to loathe being there, and that has an impact on the students. The facilities are old and aren't conducive to a good education. The school is severely under-funded. The sports department is entirely abysmal, the facilities are laughable and decrepit. I would not recommend this school to anyone.


Kearny SCT School 0
no rating

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
I read with great interest the last students review. While I appreciate her position it is possible that she is an exception to the rule. I know that budget constraints have caused some larger class sizes this year. However, SCT strives to meet the needs of all students. I would encorage this student to speak with her counselor immediately. SCT has in place several AP courses, as well as opportunities to duel enroll in the local Jr. College. I know that every effort will be made by the staff and administration to meet her unique needs. The list of pros for the school are prime examples why this is a great school. Most students attending other high schools can not profess the same. Thanks again to our Principal and Staff who encourgae our students and provide opportunities for this type of critical thinking and honest opinioins.

Kearny SCT School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
Kearny SCT is nothing special. That's not to say it's a horrible place to send your child, but if you have another option I would take it. Pros: Kearny is diverse and its student body is colorblind. The kids are mostly very kind, accepting, and fun. The teachers do their best to make themselves available to the students when extra help is needed.The atmosphere is very laidback, safe, and friendly. Cons: I personally feel very unchallenged and oftentimes braindead at Kearny. The class sizes are roughly 35, some 40. The education is mediocre at best. But this is coming from a straight A student who applies herself. I'd say a student who works hard for B's or C's in another school would thrive at Kearny. Homework usually doesn't need to be turned in, and if it does, the deadline is days away. and that's my 2 cents ;]

Kearny SCT School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
I like the way the staff is involved with the students. My daughter is in the 12th grade and is really doing well. She takes classes at Mesa College and wants to major in science and SET offers great science AP courses.


Kearny SCT School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a student
Truely an Excellent School! The Principal is amazing and works towards the students needs. The teachers truely care about the students future. They work hard to shape the lives of the children. The school has thus far provided amazing oppertunities for students to excell in any scientific field, may it be a speaker form the sports medicine field, or marine biologist, the oppertunites prvided are endless. By far SCT is the best small school offered at Kearny Educational Complex!

Kearny SCT School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kearny SCT School 5

Posted November 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearny SCT School
7651 Wellington Way, San Diego, CA  92111
(858) 496-8370
Last modified Kearny SCT School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kearny SCT School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top