Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Diego Metro Career and Tech School 3

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
The primary reason I ever signed on to this school was because of how close it was to me, so I could walk there. However, I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised about the quality of schooling I received. The English teachers are all very involved and are openly willing to talk things out. However the school falls flat when it comes to math and Business Essentials. Business Essentials is one of the main draws of the school, allowing students to go out into the work place and learn about the real world. However, the teacher who manages that program has a very passive aggressive manner, making me nervous to address him about anything. He gets in your face about things, and lectured me for a good 5 minutes when I peaked my head through a minuscule window and looked to see if the class was vacant. As I write this I feel the need to drag the rating down by one more star based purely on him. If they were to replace him and introduce more involved math teachers this school would be perfect.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
No matter how grueling the process was, I always had Mrs. Kallsen to walk me through it and ensure I succeed. So kudos to her.


San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
They get the job done, but leave a lot to be desired. If the math staff and the Business Essentials guy were to be replaced I feel the school would be better off.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
I have gone multiple days before without sleeping in order to complete work on time. Every teacher acts like the students have no other classes so an hour of homework shouldn't be that bad. And it wouldn't be if it wasn't for the fact that the students take up to 8 classes at a time.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
The determination that it's students develop is more of a side effect than a focus. The work load they give the students forces them to sacrifice time and be persistent to succeed. I'm not sure whether to call that a good thing or a bad thing.


San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
The teachers treat their students like people, and are willing to negotiate as long as an understanding is reached.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
While the education may be a bit lacking, the community is the best I have ever seen in schools. There are no groups or clicks, the entire school is open for conversation and connected.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a student
This school doesn't necessarily teach it's students integrity. It more teaches them the best to cheat with out getting caught.


San Diego Metro Career and Tech School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
Under new leadership, this school is regaining its 'legs'. There is a new internship coordinator, Mr. Fung, and the advisory teachers are more involved in internship placements. Sara Leonard, the principal, is working on creating a more trusting, professional work environment for her staff. The school is currently undergoing its WASC accreditation from March 22-25. The WASC committee will be meeting with parents and students and sitting in on classes to observe the educational process. No place is perfect. Not every student should be advised or encouraged to go here. This is a unique school -- excellent for motivated learners who may want to take college classes in their Sophomore Spring semester and Junior and Senior years. There is the expectation of 100% internship placement each semester, except for the first semester of freshman year during which time students take Business Environments preparing them for internships.

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a student
A lot of these reviews are old and don't address the fact that there is a new principal who is incredible. There's a new principal, internship coordinator and business skills and ROP class, and new set of buildings. The principal, Sara Leonard, takes time to check up on students and is always willing to talk and listen to students. The internship program and counseling is now run by all the teachers (including math, science, and Spanish) instead of one person so that the load is shared and so each student gets equal priority and so that the students can build a closer bond to that teacher. The paperwork and internship facilitator, Robert Fung, is incredibly caring and helpful. I've only had positive internships experiences as of now (I'm a sophomore, meaning four internships). My only negative experience has been with the advisor Douglas Craig Hall. If you go to the Met (and he's still around) make sure you do not get him. He misrepresents the ideology of the Met and after spending three months in his class I switched to the other 10th grade advisory. I really enjoy the Met and I think that anyone has the potential to get a great experience out of the Met.

Nearby schools

San Diego Metro Career and Tech School
7250 Mesa College Drive, Room L-501, San Diego, CA  92111
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (858) 388-2299
Last modified San Diego Metro Career and Tech School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top