Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Golden Hill k-8 was lacking a lot of activities. With the help of PTO, ASB and new VP we have been able to get this school moving. Staff is great and students have a lot of potential. The school has a lot to offer. They just need to open up more activities. Specially because it's a middle school as well. It lies in such a beautiful neighborhood! Academics are getting better and better every year. There's a lack of parent involvement, but I know that'll change fast.

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
I was very impressed with the art exhibition the school had recently. The CARE program from Balboa Park worked with the third, fourth, fifth and sixth graders for seven weeks teaching them about drama, photography, painting, and art. The cumulative activity was the exhibition. It is wonderful to see the museums (MOPA, La Jolla Playhouse, Mingei, and MOA) working with schools in their community!


Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
my childs 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Ashley Norousky is hands down the best teacher ever.!!! she would stay late and actually make up individule homework packs, depending on what your kid was having trouble in. she would say how much she loves teaching. But too bad she was only a temp. golden hills lost.. FOR ME MRS. NOROUSKY MADE ME LOVE THIS SCHOOL-2009-2010

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school with caring teachers and great staff. Emphasis in media and art means that kids have music, TV production and other classes available. Project based for kids who are creative.

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
My twins started Kindergarten in September and we are so happy with the school. They are in two separate classrooms which has allowed us to interact with different teachers and we are pleased with both of them. Teachers are caring and the school in general is run very well. Lots of opportunities for parents to be involved.


Golden Hill K-8 0
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are very good, motivating and compassionate. Principal and counselor are unprofessional and not working towards the best interest of the student. I agree with another comment where both principal and the counselor berate the kids which is totally inappropriate when dealing with kids. They do not get to the bottom of issues/complaints stating that 'things need to be investigated' and not taking the things seriously and basically being pushed aside. Front office staff also need to be more respectful and helpful of parents. Nurse is a caring and wonderful person-5 stars for her! Special Education personnel are too!

Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
This school has incredible teachers - one could make a documentary showing the love and dedication of the teachers. The front desk is always courteous and helpful. The nurse is great and the Special Education support is good. Unfortunately, the Principle is unprofessional, inappropriate with children (berating them in unacceptable ways), and basically unapproachable. My child has some behavior issues which between he and the behavior counselor are not being handled well. The standard is to not get to the bottom of the problem, blame the person most likely to have done it, and then suspend. This is coupled with a lack of respect to parents when trying to resolve issues, lack of follow up and inability to conflict resolution. Most parents are newer immigrants from south and central America who may not have the time or skills to deal with this issue.

Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted October 23, 2008
- a community member
I feel for being a small school, it has done a great job over the 2 year span: however, I do think that small schools are affected with financial cut backs even more. The rotating of school teachers to different grades to accommodate the teacher shortage/budget cuts is not good. Especially cutting back on some programs that hardly have life to begin with. The limited playground space restricts from playing sports/outdoor sports. It is a good idea to have a walking club in the morning, but to restrict parents or children from sitting anywhere in the school does not make sense. All in all, there are some great teachers with great motivation, but I do disagree with the front office. You need better people skills when dealing with people on a daily basis. Most of the front office staff is courteous and professional. I would rate it overall 3.5.


Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
This is the first year my daughter attended Golden Hill and she couldn't be happier. Her teacher is very welcoming and truly cares about her students. I know I made an excellent decision in choosing Golden Hill for my daughter.

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
Enrollment was great, class sizes are excellent and parent involvement is highly encouraged and welcomed at any time. I just enrolled the newest member of our family and found the entire process to be awesome, especially the staff, teachers and principal. I was able to and encouraged to monitor classes and participate in the holiday events with the students after enrolling as a parent-volunteer, it made the transition much easier for my child-way to go!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden Hill K-8
1240 33rd Street, San Diego, CA  92102
(619) 236-5600
Last modified Golden Hill K-8 is a Public school that serves grades K-8
Golden Hill K-8 Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top