Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Golden Hill's new dual language program is phenomenal. My daughter entered kindergarten not knowing any Spanish and now is a 1st grader who is reading and writing both English and Spanish. My daughter has been challenged academically and is very happy with her teachers and fellow peers. I would recommend this school to anyone, especially those looking for a Spanish and English curriculum.

Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently in first grade at Golden Hill. She started in pre-school, than kindergarten and now first grade. From pre-school on, all the teachers have been caring and encouraging. They have a lot of activities ( father-daughter movie night was my favorite) and they really try to get the parents involved. We are going to be moving soon, so we will have to say good bye to Golden Hill. I feel my daughter got a great start to her education here. I will truly miss Golden Hill and the teachers and the principal!


Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Golden Hill k-8 was lacking a lot of activities. With the help of PTO, ASB and new VP we have been able to get this school moving. Staff is great and students have a lot of potential. The school has a lot to offer. They just need to open up more activities. Specially because it's a middle school as well. It lies in such a beautiful neighborhood! Academics are getting better and better every year. There's a lack of parent involvement, but I know that'll change fast.

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
I was very impressed with the art exhibition the school had recently. The CARE program from Balboa Park worked with the third, fourth, fifth and sixth graders for seven weeks teaching them about drama, photography, painting, and art. The cumulative activity was the exhibition. It is wonderful to see the museums (MOPA, La Jolla Playhouse, Mingei, and MOA) working with schools in their community!

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
my childs 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Ashley Norousky is hands down the best teacher ever.!!! she would stay late and actually make up individule homework packs, depending on what your kid was having trouble in. she would say how much she loves teaching. But too bad she was only a temp. golden hills lost.. FOR ME MRS. NOROUSKY MADE ME LOVE THIS SCHOOL-2009-2010


Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school with caring teachers and great staff. Emphasis in media and art means that kids have music, TV production and other classes available. Project based for kids who are creative.

Golden Hill K-8 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
My twins started Kindergarten in September and we are so happy with the school. They are in two separate classrooms which has allowed us to interact with different teachers and we are pleased with both of them. Teachers are caring and the school in general is run very well. Lots of opportunities for parents to be involved.

Golden Hill K-8
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are very good, motivating and compassionate. Principal and counselor are unprofessional and not working towards the best interest of the student. I agree with another comment where both principal and the counselor berate the kids which is totally inappropriate when dealing with kids. They do not get to the bottom of issues/complaints stating that 'things need to be investigated' and not taking the things seriously and basically being pushed aside. Front office staff also need to be more respectful and helpful of parents. Nurse is a caring and wonderful person-5 stars for her! Special Education personnel are too!


Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
This school has incredible teachers - one could make a documentary showing the love and dedication of the teachers. The front desk is always courteous and helpful. The nurse is great and the Special Education support is good. Unfortunately, the Principle is unprofessional, inappropriate with children (berating them in unacceptable ways), and basically unapproachable. My child has some behavior issues which between he and the behavior counselor are not being handled well. The standard is to not get to the bottom of the problem, blame the person most likely to have done it, and then suspend. This is coupled with a lack of respect to parents when trying to resolve issues, lack of follow up and inability to conflict resolution. Most parents are newer immigrants from south and central America who may not have the time or skills to deal with this issue.

Golden Hill K-8 4

Posted October 23, 2008
- a community member
I feel for being a small school, it has done a great job over the 2 year span: however, I do think that small schools are affected with financial cut backs even more. The rotating of school teachers to different grades to accommodate the teacher shortage/budget cuts is not good. Especially cutting back on some programs that hardly have life to begin with. The limited playground space restricts from playing sports/outdoor sports. It is a good idea to have a walking club in the morning, but to restrict parents or children from sitting anywhere in the school does not make sense. All in all, there are some great teachers with great motivation, but I do disagree with the front office. You need better people skills when dealing with people on a daily basis. Most of the front office staff is courteous and professional. I would rate it overall 3.5.

Nearby schools

Golden Hill K-8
1240 33rd Street, San Diego, CA  92102-2409
(619) 236-5600
Last modified Golden Hill K-8 is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top