Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame Academy

Private | K-8 | 377 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $672,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

It is a great school for elementary years, however some spoilt children and families. A high teacher turnover rate. Academically ok. Not liberal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2014

This school's academic standards are far below the public schools in the area. The administrative staff is unqualified and unprofessional, and don't seem to care about the many wonderful families who have left the school due to the low academic standards and old-fashioned teaching techniques employed at the school. While there are some decent teachers, they don't tend to stay. The families are nice enough, and if you want a "sorority" type atmosphere this school is for you. If you are looking for religious instruction, faith formation classes through St. Therese of Carmel would be more productive. Father Nick and his staff are the one bright spot at this school, but unfortunately they don't control the school. You would be better off saving your money and sending your child elsewhere! Check out St. Michael's if you want a quality Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

We recently transferred out !st Grade and Kinder child here from another Catholic school and are very happy. Socially the students and parents are welcoming and the teachers relay go a step beyond to work with students and see they to their individual needs. The Sisters run a good ship here and the office staff is equally as loving. Academically, we are very happy as our children are doing well in all subjects, given accelerated math when needed, studying and speaking Spanish, French etc. Compared to other children his age is private and public schools our son reads at a far superior level and our daughter is as well. The children are studying technology, computers, social studies, current events etc in 1st Grade! They have a parent mentoring program in K which tasks children to have a parent reading partner in school so they are reading aloud every day. The school is strong in faith values as well. Homerun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

The education system at this school is sorely lacking, my son who transferred In from a public school has not had to study for one year. The teachers are insane and they waste 4 hours a week on useless classes. The only good teacher here left after one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

I am very proud to say here why we value our school. We've seen meaningful changes occur over a period of 3+ years. Some changes benefit students & student life: consistently upgraded technology, enhanced campus facilities & most importantly an uplifting of school spirit (increased participation in intramural sports & after-school activities, for example). Some changes benefit staff & teachers to help them grow in their vocations & community. Most of these changes, at any given private school, are successful when there are enough resources: planning, financial support and time. We have seen these resources at work to grow our school. This growth is something that tuition alone does not cover! An important fact to consider when evaluating private schools. Whether or not a person is a Catholic, a student, parent, teacher or staff (or all of the above or none) our school represents an engaging campus, making consistent changes to benefit all of our children and also the broader community surrounding them with patience and talent.


Posted June 4, 2013

AMAZING SCHOOL my daughter loves it here and I highly recommend it. Send your kid here because its worth every penny
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

My son is currently attending his first year at NDA as a middle school student. Overall we are very happy with the school. The curriculum is strong, the teachers are willing to work with students to help them succeed, the administration has been approachable, and the students are friendly. Although it was a transition for my son coming from another school, we are happy with NDA and love the religious education that is being provided. There are also ways for students to get involved, either through sports, choir, academic competitions, and student government. The parents are welcoming and offer support to new families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

We were not happy here, and are happy to be at another nearby Catholic School.


Posted October 4, 2011

Notre Dame Academy provides children a caring, challenging environment that can transform them as students. The Sisters who lead the school (and they are in charge) have a nuanced, sophisticated understanding of how children learn and interact year by year. The result we have seen is that Instead of simply pounding children with homework as so many of the area schools do, this school builds them into individuals and motivated learners over time. I have read reviews and heard parents say the school isn't "hard enough" but for those with the patience to let their children develop, this school offers a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I wrote a review 3 years ago and wanted to check in to see what's happened since then. My son is finishing his 5th year at NDA and we are still extremely happy with the school. We have had one teacher who wasn't quite up to par, but I think in 5 years at any school you're bound to have one. The other teachers we've had were very good, if not excellent. The parents are nice, there are no cliques, no elitism. There has been much progress in every way... the sisters & the principal are doing a great job. They will listen to your concerns, which is huge in my opinion. This did not happen at another catholic school we attended previously. In fact, it felt like an "old boys" network there... you didn't really stand a chance. Interestingly, that same school has been having some big troubles lately, which makes us even more thrilled and grateful to be here! NDA has come together nicely - no need to worry about the "new school" issues any longer. They've pretty much arrived at the place they were trying to get to. Yes, it's pricey, but I think overall, it's worth it. It's a wonderful environment for my son & for us as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

My daughter is currently in the preschool at NDA. While the teachers are wonderful and caring, the preschool director can be rude and disrespectful. She discourages parental involvement and she does not display the Catholic values of compassion and gentleness. She also does not communicate important information, and this can cause rumors and misinformation to circulate. My daughter is receiving an excellent education and lots of love from her teachers so I will continue to send her, but I do caution that there can be frustration with the admin at the school, so be prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

My child is in 8th grade and has attended since NDA opened. Every year she has had wonderful, talented teachers (yes a few have been newer teachers--but they have been ALL energetic and gifted teachers). This is definitely better than public school program and environment. The school and parents discourage bullies and cliques. There are many after school activities and parental involvement is welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

Notre Dame strives to provide the classrooms w/ qualified teachers for the students. I was not fortunate to have two teachers during my elementary years. Having two can differentiate the lesson or topic through his/her training. It also gives a sense of comfort to the petites in event one of the teachers call out sick, the other is there with a substitute. Therefore, the children still see familiarity in the classroom. This dual planning of teaching in class helps the teachers when they need to move to another classroom to teach language course or specialty subject. The school addresses the academic and spiritual needs and interest of my children. The director has done a wonderful job for the petite section. The Sister for the pre-kinder class demonstrates genuine care and provides a Christian atmosphere not only during the day, but also during her after school care. The director of first impression (right when you walk in the office) is a keeper and our traffic controller at the parking lot continues to provide safety to our children. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

I feel they have new teachers coming in and out of the school. Just alone this school year they had three preschool teachers resign. They have the Director as a Pre-K teacher and she is in and out of the classroom and also two of the Sisters who are in and out of the other Pre-K classroom. The children need a sense of consistency and I feel that consistency is not being achieved at NDA. This school year I know must be tough on the faculty, but they need to think about what they might be doing wrong at their school because those three teachers had to have resigned for a reason. I also feel there was a lack of unity amongst the teachers. What is their motto? Oh yea..'One Family, Always United.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Our daughter graduated from NDA and is currently well prepared for the rigor of the Catholic High School curriculum. The balance between academics and moral teaching is important to us as parents. As mentioned in other comments, when deciding who to trust your children to, talk to current parents at the school. The presence of the Sisters and Father Nick has given our children a sense of enrichment to their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Notre Dame Academy is a GREAT school! The reviews posted on March 27th do not even remotely represent the NDA where my two children presently attend. The Administration at NDA is supportive and responsive - working side by side with the teachers and parents to help the students acheive their academic goals, develop their social skills and foster a deeper understaning of their Catholic faith. The Sisters set a beautiful example for the children -they are kind, loving and want the best for every student and family. The previous submissions cannot be from anyone who knows the Sisters! It seems like someone is just trying to make the school look bad - denoucning Catholic Education and doesn't really know what the school is about. Parents looking at the school for the the future should talk to currently enfolled families to really find out about NDA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Notre Dame Academy has been a very positive expereince for our two children. You can't place a price tag on a good solid education while backed by a strong moral foundation. Our children have done well academically, socially, spiritually and have become very confident teenagers. Middle school age children can be very challenging. NDA goes above and beyond fine tuning the middle school curriculum, social activites, and sports programs to help form well rounded, academically prepared students. Our son graduated from NDA and is now a sophmore at a Catholic High School. We have found him well prepared to tackle the heavy high school load, is ranked near the top of his class , is consistenly on the honor roll and equally as important, is able to make smart and moral decisions. We thank NDA for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Congratulations to Notre Dame for providing great education to the students! Their mission is to educate the whole person Spiritually, Morally, Academically and Physically. This they have accomplished in all areas with extras in foreign language skills , computer education and in creating a great spirit of peace on the campus. It is a pleasure to observe the wonderful job they do in creating the well-rounded child .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2010

We have been absolutely blessed to be part of the Notre Dame Academy family and parish of St. Therese of Carmel. We were welcomed here three years ago and the community continues to embrace old and new families with open arms. The dedication and enthusiasm the parents have to make NDA the best it can be is inspiring. Our children are filled spiritually, challenged academically, and are surrounded by friends and teachers that support and encourage them to be their best. (The middle-school teachers are especially terrific.) We are grateful to the Sisters, teachers and staff for creating an environment in which our children can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

As a parent of two children at Notre Dame Academy, I would give NDA 5 stars. We feel extremely fortunate to be part of a 356 year teaching tradition by the Sisters of l'Union Chretienne de St. Chaummond. The school provides a rich academic, moral, social and religious environment. The middle school teachers are particularly strong, and our children are thriving academically. Classes are leveled starting in 4th grade and the students are well prepared for secondary education. A bonus of the school is the emphasis on foreign language, with Spanish and French taught starting in pre-school. Perhaps the critics of the school should check with Cathedral Catholic, which just admitted all of the NDA applicants. Further, they should take a look at Cathedral's honor roll this past year which contains many NDA alumni. School uniforms, weekly Mass and daily prayer create a morally sound environment condusive for a solid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 18%
Two or more races 5%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Marie Pascale Clisson
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4345 Del Mar Trails Road
San Diego, CA 92130
Phone: (858) 509-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ocean Air School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT