Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 356
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
BOTH OF OUR BOYS ATTEND KING-CHAVEZ AND WE ARE VERY HAPPY AND SATISFIED WITH THE STAFF, THE ATMOSPHERE, THE DIVERSITY, AND THE EDUCATION IS SHAPED TO TEACH AND GUIDE OUR STUDENTS. THANK YOU KING-CHAVEZ!!

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 4

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
My son has always been advanced and after speaking to the principal to help me with maitaining my son's challenges above the average grade level, we have been extremely pleased with the help, attention, and support the staff has provided. The kids will do as good as the parents guide and support their children... The teachers will get them started and the parents need to help them succeed!


King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 1

Posted July 26, 2009
- a parent
My 3 children have attended King-Chavez academies for approximately 5 years, and each consecutive school season disappoints me more than the previous one. It was my understanding that that the focus of the charter was to promote critical thinking supported by strong academics with influnces from the arts. The 'foundation of love' is a lovely catch phrase that never quite manifested itself into an attitude of tolerance among the students. Being a lesbian mother, I'm most saddened that my children have been hurt by the ignorance of other children in their school for having 2 moms, they've been isolated from other kids because of their interests and their vocabulary, among myriad other reasons. I do not believe the school lived up to it's promise of excellence, and that my children have not learned to their potential while there.
1 person found this helpful

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 1

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
Their philosophy of teaching with love just doesn't cut it. Not much to offer the kids regarding creativity, activities, or GATE programs. They say they want the students to be all equal in the classroom, but that doesn't quite work when one or two students are intellectually ahead of the others. They loose out.

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
Some great teachers, but most of them really don't care about the students. School very small, there's not many types of activities that the children would like.


King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 3

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
This is a fairly new school and everyone is still trying to get it right. This school does not have afterschool programs, sports etc.

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 5

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 1

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


King-Chavez Preparatory Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a parent
Doing things different. Teaching with love, high expectations, and quality teachers. Administration cares about the students, community, and their teachers.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King-Chavez Preparatory Academy
500 30th Street, San Diego, CA  92102
(619) 744-3828
Last modified King-Chavez Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
King-Chavez Preparatory Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top