Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Cambridge School

Private | PK-9 | 200 students

We are best known for academic rigor and spiritual vitality.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2008

As a grandparent, I have no words to express my deep appreciation for the functioning of the Cambridge school. My grandchildren receive personal attention from a well-qualified and competent staff. I see contentment and satisfaction on the face of every parent. For any parent who looks for a great school of academic excellence and spiritual values based on biblical standards, this is THE SCHOOL in the area. The staff, children and parents together make a family. My grandkids long to be in the school all the time which speaks for itself. May God bless this school that it will turn out to be a great blessing for the community around.


Posted November 10, 2008

I agree, this is indeed a great school. My children love it! I wouldn't send them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I was also disappointed with this school. They fell short in all aspects, including the way they treat the children and parents. The curriculum was boring and repetitive. I think the administrators and teachers are young and inexperienced. The parents are also young so they do not see how poor this school fares compared to other schools in San Diego. I do not agree that this school is a top-tier private school with high academic rigor. The level of teaching of foreign language is very basic as is all of their curriculum and activities. Please do not be deceived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

We are a new family to The Cambridge School and are very pleased with the overall quality of the school. The staff is very dedicated and has a passion for the students that shines in all they do. Our children LOVE going to school each day and have already learned quite a bit in Latin and Mandarin as well as the basic subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

The Cambridge School is by far one of the most beautiful examples of excellence in teaching and love of learning. Students at The Cambridge School are inspired, encouraged, and work toward excellence while at the same time are pushed in loving care to develop their character. Teachers at The Cambridge School are life-long learners themselves and therefore value instilling a true inquisitiveness in their students. TCS curriculum is academically challenging and well-rounded. The staff are dependable, resourceful, and loving. The parent community is extremely close and supportive. The administration holds in plain sight the goals and execution of a walk towards loving that which is true, good, and beautiful. And at the center of all this noble work is our Heavenly Father. All it takes is a few visits to The Cambridge School classrooms to realize that it is a rare gem in Southern California education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2008

While this school is young, we have found the teachers deliver well on the classical Christian model of education. The staff is effective. The teachers are exemplary and passionate about their work. The students demonstrate outstanding learning attitudes. All this done in a godly environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Our child loves the school! what more can I say? She is so excited about learning. Finally a school that we can believe in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

My daughter really loves this school. We could not be happier with our choice to send here to Cambridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

We tried out this school but found that the school is poorly run and disorganized. Parental input is highly discouraged and I worried about the safely of our child during recess. Academically, it was disappointing as well. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Korean
Russian
Spanish
Romanian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Highest Level of WASC Accreditation (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jean Kim
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Classical, Christian
Fax number
  • (858) 484-3458

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Classical Christian Liberal Arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Student Academic Services
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: Mandarin
  • Forensics club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Room Parents
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The Cambridge School seeks to provide a distinctly Christian education in the classical tradition which equips students to know, love, and practice that which is true, good, and beautiful and thus prepares them to live purposefully and intelligently in service of God and neighbor.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 02, 2015

 
134
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
51
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
62

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$7000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Need-based
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12855 Black Mountain Road
San Diego, CA 92129
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 484-3488

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Cambridge School
San Diego, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT