Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public charter
San Diego, CA

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Health Sciences High School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
HSHMC brought a middle school in this year which my son now attends 8th grade.The school and teachers are amazing. NO ONE slips through the cracks and the system instills every student to learn the material BEFORE they move on to the next subject. The support is always there and the peer environment captures each child in a community where they share and understand and learn how to be friends and how NOT to be. My son has an IEP and not only does it not single him out, but welcomes individuality as nothing less than normal. I'm looking forward to the next 4 years here.

Health Sciences High School 1

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
My kids felt valued here and enjoyed their time however, the academic standard is extremely low. The teachers pass the kids through classes even if the kids do not complete the work. Also, the classes were more around 28 - 30, not 14. The other issue is that because of the area where the school is located, there is a big drug problem - there is no monitoring whether the kids are on or off campus and drugs are really easy to get hold of. Although we really liked the staff and they were clearly committed to the children, this was not a good school if you want your child to do well academically. Our daughter graduated with a 3.9 from this school however, she struggled when she went to college. We had her 12th grade work independently assessed by an education specialist as we could not imagine she had suddenly gone backwards so much. The level of work she produced in her English class in 12th grade, for which she got a perfect score, was assessed as being around a B- / B at 10th grade level. Not recommended if you want your child to go on to college and be prepared.


Health Sciences High School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
My 2 older children go to this school, my oldest just graduated last week. It has been a much needed alternative to public school, with no real commentment to no bully policies my son had gone from school to school looking for a safe encorging place to learn. unfortunately it took til his last 2 years of school to find such a place. The teachers respond to the students on their level the kids can confide in the teachers and are helped with problems in all aspects of their lives. There is a huge commentment to building friendships and relationships between every single student the first weeks of school .

Health Sciences High School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a community member
The teachers are brilliant: they actually care about the student s grades and feelings. If any student is having a bad day, it is common to see a teacher of staff ember coming up to a student acting out of the ordinary and ask if they re okay, or if they want to talk about anything. Health Sciences High and Middle College has a welcoming family-like environment. Any parent is lucky to have their child go to such a wonderful high school.

Health Sciences High School 4

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
great teacher student interactions, but needs more homework and class work.


Health Sciences High School 5

Posted April 18, 2010
- a student
Great school, best internships to the hospital, and when you struggle anyones helps you. Amazing teachers and staff.

Health Sciences High School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a student
This School is amazing. The class sizes are small so there is more teacher-student contact, the teacher are incredible, caring, and know how to do their job, the students act as if they are a family, and the facility itself is very well organized. I was a student at a pubic school (this is a public 'charter') and even though the workloads are not as heavy here, I have learned much more in a small amount of time at this school, than I have in almost a full year at a traditional high school. As long as your retaining the information and putting it to use, does it really matter how it is taught? The teachers to a great job at making sure we do just that.

Health Sciences High School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
My second child is hopefully going to be accepted at HSHMC. The teachers are all exceptional here. They will write personal notes to the students, congratulating them on their test scores, Spanish or a number of accomplishments. We are very impressed by this school.


Health Sciences High School 5

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
its an awesome school, it gives the education needed to provide an excellent career. I recomend it to all kids wanting the medical field in there lives.

Health Sciences High School 5

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at HSHMC are extraordinary! They care very much about their students. I like the fact that students have the opportunity to interact with professors from SDSU...Many of the teachers at HSHMC are also current faculty of the University.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Health Sciences High School
3910 University Avenue, Suite 100, San Diego, CA  92105
(619) 528-9070
Last modified Health Sciences High School is a Charter school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Health Sciences High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top